We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

While the Thermal Hot Springs are absolutely amazing, the Tabacon resort hotel, dining and staff left us disappointed. Food was below par and overpriced. Pool is in need of repair. Staff was uninterested and not empowered to make things right. Won't return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,181
    766
    268
    101
    65
See reviews for
795
1,659
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Chose the Tabacon because the thermal resort was included in price and it seemed the best bang for the buck. We drove there, upon arrival, our car was valet and we were greeted with drinks.
We upgraded to the suite for $75 extra for the night but it was definitely worth it. The rooms were awesome and huge. It was like living in a mansion, the bathroom and the shower area was exotic looking. They had an excellent living room with big couches and a modern Samsung Tv with a camera and skype! The view was ok, nothing special
Tabacon had shuttles available all the time to take u to their thermal resort and it was much more convenient than i thought it would be, i was initially disappointed that the resort and the hotel were not together.
I did not eat at the restaurant in the hotel but did eat at the restaurant in the spa. I would avoid it, the buffet was too expensive and the food was just ok

Overall I would definitely return, the management and the staff were really accommodating and had excellent service!

Room Tip: try to upgrade to suite when checking in, might be cheaper than booking a suite online
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hali5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear hali5

We appreciate your time for sharing your comments with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed your suite. Tabacon main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guests and we are glad to know we met your expectations, the hot springs and the rainforest make our property a unique place to relax. In the resort as you experienced there are more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades all of them with different temperatures and a high mineral content. We really look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The resort and spa is adjacent to each other....... Clean rooms great hospitality...... Great wild life ..... The thermal resort was a hit great place to relax and get soaked ....they have individual temperature pool s

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diptikapileshwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Diptikapileshwar

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay with us. Tabacon is located in the middle of the rainforest and all our guest have the opportunity to experience our thermal spring resort with more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades all of them with different temperatures and a high mineral content. We really appreciate your comments and your preference and we would love to receive you at the hotel soon!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent Christmas night at Tabacon Hot Springs (bought the night pass: 6-10 pm + dinner) and it was totally magical. 6-10 pm is definitely enough time, even after spending about 1 hour enjoying their buffet. We read mixed reviews about the food before we arrived, but we both loved our meal - there were tons of options and everything felt fresh and healthy. The staff is extremely attentive and welcoming. They even allowed us to switch our dinner reservation from 8 to 6 pm on the very busy holiday night.

It's a popular spot with lots of guests, especially earlier in the night when there were still quite a few children running around, but it never felt crowded - the area is huge. We explored the property quite a bit and found plenty of pools and creeks we could enjoy all to ourselves all throughout the night. It's a gorgeous area that's designed and maintained to make it wonderfully comfortable, but they've done a fantastic job of preserving and highlighting the rugged natural terrain of the natural creeks and lush, jungle landscape. I'd recommend taking advantage of the quiet areas toward the back of the property by walking along the paths to get away from most of the crowds in the main areas.

By the end of the night it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The giant waterfalls that were once really busy spots were all ours! The water slide is super fun, even for "adults" like us.

Enjoy! Though it's a bit expensive and normally outside our budget, it was one of the best experiences we had in Costa Rica and 100% worth it. I'd absolutely go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyfreebirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear flyfreebirdie

We really appreciate your review, thank you for your preference. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed a pleasant experience at Tabacon. Our aim is to provide world-class service to our beloved guests, and our staff is always happy to serve you. We are glad to know you spent a relaxing holiday in the heart of the rainforest, having the opportunity to enjoy a delicious buffet dinner! Our natural hot spring waterfall and our water slide are highlights in the property and our guests love to enjoy a natural massage under our cascades or have fun at the slide. Thank you for choosing us to spend Christmas night, we wish you a prosperous new year full of love, adventure and relaxation. We look forward to your next visit.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We went to tabacon this january. This was one of the best spa n hot springs around that area. In all Nice place, great staff, good food..!! Lunch was included in our package. We were there for just a few hours but really enjoyed the place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinguTurty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Siddhi_Godhankar

We really appreciate your comments! We are glad to know that you took advantage of one of our Day Pass options including lunch at Ave del Paraiso Restaurant. Our hot springs flows naturally from Arenal Volcano forming cascades, pools and ponds with a high mineral content in the rainforest. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the food. Our staff is always there for you to provide the most memorable experience during your visit. We hope to receive you at the resort in the near future!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glencoe, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Beautiful setting. Good with adult children. Very attentive staff with great location and easy hot springs visits. Restful spot that's close to hikes and town (short cab rides and pick up for excursions). Calls are VOIP, very convenient.

Room Tip: Check where you prefer, pool or dining, first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rwa1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear rwa1939

We appreciate your comments! Our staff is always working to provide high quality service and pay attention to every detail in order to offer a memorable experience to our valuable guests, we are glad to know you enjoyed the resort facilities and the options offered by our concierge. Some of our Special Deals for 2014 includes tours and activities as well as spa bonus depending on guest preferences! We look forward for your next visit!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous time at Tabacon. We, and especially our 4 kids, loved the hot springs which are located on the property just a 5 minute walk away or by shuttle. The grounds are breathtakingly tropical; there are so many different spots to explore. The swim up bar is very popular and fun. As we were there during the Christmas break it was very crowded however. Food is expensive here and in La Fortuna where we also ate. The buffet breakfast is excellent--lots of choices including an omelet bar. Rooms are fine. Service was quite good but not excellent. There is lots to do in Arenal including awesome zip line excursion through Sky Trek.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Jo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Mary Jo K

We really appreciate your comments! Thank you for choosing Tabacon for your family vacation, we are glad to know you enjoyed your stay and that your 4 kids loved the hot springs. The wonders of nature in our beautiful country and relaxation at our natural hot springs resort is a unique experience during your Costa Rican vacation. Once again thank you for your preference and we look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing