We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$102
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$86
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$251
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
$201
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$183
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,813)
Filter reviews
3,813 results
Traveler rating
2,518
831
287
107
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,518
831
287
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos tucaneshot springsshangri la gardensorchid roomunlimited accesshotel guestshoneymoon suitecosta ricarainforest suiteopen to the publicday passprivate areaswim up barbuffet dinnercouples massagearenal volcanoheaven on earth
Filter
Updating list...
1,754 - 1,759 of 3,813 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel's grounds and the friendliness of the staff welcome you to this nice, but somewhat average hotel. The views of the volcano in your very room are a delight, the rooms are spacious and unlike some other reviews; Neither me or my girlfriend had any issues with the beds. The highlight of the place is really the springs, which isn't located on the hotel grounds. You will either walk 5-10 minutes or catch the shuttle. The springs are deceptively big, make sure you come with plenty of time to check all the different pools and gardens, even after stopping for 3 nights I felt like I missed out on things. Cocktails by the poolside were nice; if a little light on the booze. My only complaint is that some things in the hotel are overpriced. I understand they want to make it as a high end destination, but some food items were really average that didn't deserve the price tag. We ordered a burger and a beer.. For $40!! Even for a New Yorker; I felt it was too much. Driving down the road to the town provided us with much better selection and better prices. All in all, a nice romantic place mostly for the springs and volcano views.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Global-Speedster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear BabyJaan-and-me

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us. We firmly believe that every single detail is part of Tabacon experience, all our team works to offer an unforgettable experience and the cultural tradition about service and friendship is always present in our staff. Tabacon is a five-star carbon neutral resort, member of the Leading Hotels and the Leading Spas of the World. Our natural environment and our unique location at the base of Arenal Volcano turn your vacation into moments of perfect relaxation. Enjoying a thermal bath in a natural hot spring river or getting a natural massage under our main waterfall, enjoying a cocktail in our adults-only section Shangri-La gardens or having fun in our waterslide are just a few examples of all what you can do in our Resort. We totally agree with you that our guests must take plenty of time to explore the resort area with the different pools and the gardens. In regards to cuisine, we offer different options: fine dining cuisine to casual buffets or snacks menus with different price ranges, we appreciate your appraisal and we have shared your comments with our F&B manager. We would love to receive you as our guest in the near future!

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My room was spectacular, and the hot springs are heaven - beautifully landscaped and maintained and so relaxing. The breakfast buffet had a huge assortment of food, all fresh, and yummy. I would stay there again in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Kelly H

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us, we are glad you enjoyed a memorable vacation at the resort and also that you relaxed in your marvelous room and the magical ambience in thermal springs that are the only natural ones in the Region. We hope to receive you as our guest at Tabacon in the near future!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We arrived early night and went imminently to the pools .
It was fun but only at day time we saw how amazing is the place .
Being at the falls and the pools are like staying in paradise , amazing.
The rooms are big nice and clean .
We had cabin with the Arenal view .
The breakfast was very rich.
The buffet dinner was also very good
The service is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Izak P

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to know about the pleasant experience you had during your stay with us. We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy our thermal experience. Our hot springs are in a completely natural setting and you can enjoy it during the day and discover the different gardens and tropical flowers or relax in the evening or at night when the steam makes the property really unique. We are happy to know you enjoyed your room, our buffet breakfast, the different dining options as well as the customized service. It was an honor to receive you as our guest and we really appreciate your preference!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Before checking in, I wasn't aware that this hotel/resort was two distinct properties owned by Tabacon - the hotel with guest rooms/lobby bar/gift shop/restaurant, and the resort with pool/pool bar/hot springs/restaurant/guest and day pass access.

My husband and I stayed in their hotel 3 nights while in Costa Rica and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! We had their standard room, and had a great view of Mount Arenal (when it wasn't super foggy/cloudy). There is a shuttle that can run you to/from hotel and resort. Staff is high end, attentive, and all spoke great English. Food was very good as well - even at the buffet! Costa Rica taxes 23% to meals, so the price is higher than you think it will be. Tabacon shows you both the pre and post tax prices.

The springs are not to miss!!! They are fabulously beautiful, varying in temperature, and so relaxing! Also within the resort area are a few cool pools in case you are too warm. Good call, Tabacon! The main pool is warm and features a swim up bar as well as a water slide.

We stayed there Wed, Dec. 4 and checked out on Sat, Dec. 7. The springs were quiet and so peaceful that Wed and Thur, but come Friday....tons of visitors with day passes. It was somewhat chaotic near the springs that day, so I recommend visiting/staying there during the week when you can fully relax! Also, the Shangri-la gardens is supposed be only for 18 and up; however, there was a father with his younger kids in the area on that busy day. We didn't say anything, we just stayed as far away as possible. I have a feeling this rule is usually respected, as we saw the other days we stayed.

Another few items worth noting:
- Smoking is only technically allowed in an area near the hotel lobby in an open air room, although the staff was fine with allowing a cigarette outside the entrance to the resort.
- Fortuna is only a short cab drive away
- Even though it is technically the dry season, you may not see the volcano's cone fully exposed because of the fog/clouds.
- Room service is pretty quick and food arrived hot.
- I would certainly stay here again, and I'd probably indulge in spa services next time.
- This would be a great honeymoon destination!
- We booked a vacation package through one of the large travel websites, using two airports, two hotels, etc, and found it to be a great value! Bundle the hotel with flight whenever possible to save $$$

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callmej5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear callmej5

Thank you for your detailed review and for sharing your experience with us! We are glad to know you decided to stay at Tabacon during your Costa Rican vacation. Tabacon is a unique property where nature, adventure and relaxation combines to offer a memorable experience. Tabacon sits over 872 acres of lush tropical gardens, a hot springs river emerge from the Arenal Volcano and forms more than 20 different pools, ponds and waterfalls all of the with a high mineral content that goes through the property by gravity. We firmly believe that every single detail is part of Tabacon experience, we are happy to know that you enjoyed room, the volcano view, our dining options as well as the swim up bar and the water slide. Shangri-La Gardens is our adults-only area, we are sorry to hear that one of the visitors did not respect that policy. Tabacon is itself a magical property and we hope you have the opportunity to visit our award winning Grand Spa in a future visit, since all treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all with private Jacuzzis. We look forward for your next visit!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Everything about this place is wonderful. After a two hour drive and a bad Marriott experience we were greeted at the Tabacon with a welcome drink and warm towels to refresh. We were driven to our room which was amazing. Truly 5 star experience from all of the staff. When we were ready to go to the hot springs we called the front desk and every time we called a cart was there to pick us up within 5 minutes to drive us to the hot springs. The setting is like what you imagine is what paradise would be like. Sitting in hot springs below a volcano with 5 star service. We were so relaxed by the hot springs we asked one of the staff if we could have dinner at the hot springs. Every request was answered with "of course". We had a private, candle lit dinner next to the hot springs and the food was great too. I have stayed at many Four Seasons and Ritz Carltons around the world and the Tabacon is now my favorite destination.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, General Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Dean W

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we really appreciate it. It is an honor to be your favorite destination! At Tabacon we firmly believe that every single detail is important, all our team works to offer a memorable experience and we love the fact that you enjoyed our special details as the welcome drink, the warm towels at check in, the shuttle service to and from the springs and the candle-light dinner in the thermal resort. We highly recommend you to try our spa treatments in a future visit since the treatments are rendered in open air bungalows with private Jacuzzis surrounded by the rainforest. We really hope to receive you again at the resort in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews