We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hot springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

If you come driving from canas
You have a spectacular view of la Fortuna and the lake
The hotel is comfortable the beds not as good the restaurant is pricy for the quality
The good point is that you can go walking down the road and use the
Hot springs as long that you want
If you have a car it is better to drive
15 mns and have dinner at la Fortuna
Plenty of pretty good restaurant

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jcbga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,580 - 1,586 of 3,562 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

Everything about the hotel was amazing.....aside from the food. The hotel itself is great. Rooms are really nice and the people are great. The hot springs are as close to paradise as you can get. My only complaint was that the food was very expensive and BAD. If you do stay here (which I advise) be sure to go in to town to eat. You will save a lot of money and be much happier. But like I said, the hot springs alone are enough to make this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chucat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I visited Tabacon several weeks ago for a day. I just loved the experience I had at the spa, the surrounding nature, the thermal water, with their unique mix of hot and cold mix in certain part of the resort, the staff and the great food. It is a beutiful rainforest and a hot springs paradise. I highly recommended to anyone contemplating a vacation in Costa Rica. It was truly a unique and peaceful experience. I will definitely come back again with my family.

Claudia Muñoz
Florida

Room Tip: Did not stay the night but will return for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Claudia529

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed the thermal experience in Tabacon. We offer more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades with different temperatures and a high mineral content for total relaxation, this is a natural river that emerges from Arenal Volcano. Our aim is to offer unforgettable experiences, we are pleased you had a marvelous time during your visit and your meal time. For hotel guests the room rate includes unlimited entrance to our award winning hot springs resort, we would love to receive you in the near future for a perfect Costa Rica relaxing vacation!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I picked this place to sleep and relax after a long busy year at home. The hotel grounds, lobby, and thermal springs were amazing!!! However my #1 complaint are the beds. You would think that a resort at this scale would have invested in middle to top of the line mattresses.. NOT! We stayed here 4 nights and by the second morning here our backs are in such great pain that sleeping in is a torture. Keep in mind that we are in our early 30s and we can withstand a higher degree of discomfort. These beds are unacceptable!!! The worst beds we've slept in all of our travels.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Htown2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Everything is outstanding at this resort except the bed. So uncomfortable even the the hot springs couldn't relive the pain in my back. And those pillows.....I put three pillows under my head and it quickly sank right thru. But everything else was outstanding. The restaurants were excellent at accommodating food allergies. (unlike our next stop at the Four Seasons). The staff are very very nice.

Room Tip: The Rainforest Suite was very nice with a large view of the rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louis151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Louis151

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are glad you spend a marvelous time in the resort and also that you enjoyed our dining options. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay with your bed. We would really appreciate if you contact us back to customerservice@tabacon.com, and let us know your room number, in order to follow up your personal concern.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

For hotsprings... I highly recommend bringing water shoes. most of the springs are very rocky and wouldn't want to hurt yourself. Overall the experience was relaxing. Went early August and stayed two nights. We went to the hotsprings about three times all at different times of the day to experience the day and evening atmosphere. Going during the day allowed us to find our favorite pools and exploring the grounds; and in the evening we were able to relax in our fav pools.(best part was when it started to pour rain and the vibe was just so perfect in the evening) I really didn't care for the rooms at the tabacon. Wish the beds were updated it was abit uneven and the middle seemed to be caving in a bit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urchicagogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear urchicagogrl

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to know about the pleasant experience you had during your stay with us. We are glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the thermal experience. Our hot springs are in a completely natural setting that's why wearing water shoes is strongly recommended. You can enjoy the hot springs at day and discover the majestic rainforest or relax in the evening or night when the steam makes the property really unique. We would love to receive you as our guest in the near future!

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Easily the nicest resort my wife and I ever stayed at with the bonus of having the most beautiful grounds with hot springs!! It does not get better than this!! The hot springs are just down the road from the resort, but they have shuttles to take you back and forth as often as you want. Put on your robe waiting for you in your closet and be prepared for the most pampered experience of your life!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tedward76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,368 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,511 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $317 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing