We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the expense for the two days in the hot springs!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Worth the expense for the two days in the hot springs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I happen to love Trip Advisor, and always read the worst reviews first to see if there have been repetitive complaints. Normally, I would have chosen a better user-rated hotel for my stay, but the two day access to the hot springs made it worth it to us to stay here for our one night in La Fortuna. As far as the hotel itself, the grounds were lovely, the rooms were clean and comfortable and really that is what is most important to me. The staff was fine, nothing exciting, except our waiter in the restaurant who was exceptional, as was our food (we ordered less expensive items, I got a simple fish dish and my fiancé just got a salad- but as I said, the service was excellent and our waiter was very attentive and friendly, and the added touches of free sorbet and a small dessert made the prices seem more reasonable). Check in was smooth, they weren't full and asked if we would like to pay extra for an upgraded room (um, no thanks) and check out, as has been said by others, was essentially us waiting for the staff to check and see if we took anything from the minibar. Now for the real reason we stayed here... We used the hot springs at night on arrival, and first thing the next morning, and I am glad we got to enjoy both ambiances. If you can't do both, see it by day, it is stunning. We went right at opening, and I'm pretty sure we were the only ones there for the first hour, which was incredible. The hot springs are a can't miss, the hotel you can take or leave.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bostongirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,057
    746
    259
    100
    65
See reviews for
748
1,589
55
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

To begin, I would highly recommend Tabacon. My boyfriend and I splurged and stayed in the Rain forest suite since it was my birthday, which was very spacious and secluded yet close to the main building. The hot springs were gorgeous and we really wish we had more time to spend there but we were out being as adventurous as possible during the day. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to make sure we were having the best experience possible. The restaurant at the springs accommodated our group of 9 for my birthday dinner and were there for our every need not to mention the buffet was delicious and fresh. To our surprise, they compensated my birthday dinner including four sample sizes of amazing desserts. We were disappointed to find out when we arrived, that in October when we visited, the sun is down at 5 p.m. but on the brighter side, the rain was very minimal.

Room Tip: The standard rooms in the 300 building were nice and roomy and have views of the volcano. Especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyJo1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear CathyJo1021

Thank you for taking the time and share your review with us, we really appreciate it. We are extremely happy to know that you decided to visit Tabacon to enjoy your birthday with us, we love to celebrate with our guests. As you were traveling as a group there are a lot of things to enjoy during your stay, a full or midday adventure tours and also you can enjoy a relaxing time in our thermal mineral springs, our hotel guest receives complimentary access to the hot springs resort during their stay. Our main objective is to offer a world-class service and we know that attention to details makes the difference so we customized our guest´s experience as the beautiful example you share in regards to your birthday´s desserts. We look forward to serve you again!

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

This is a high end resort that is actually a good price when you factor in it includes access to hot springs which is about 60.00 pet person. Breatfast is outstanding. Service is wonderful, staff are friendly. Enjoyed and you gladly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear jkucher

Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay with us. Tabacon is meant to be an experience to be cherished and remembered, that is why we focus our efforts to exceed all customer expectations. As you mentioned all our hotel guests receive free access to our thermal mineral spring resort from 9 am to 10 pm so you can experience the relaxing hot springs all day long. Our guest are able to start the day off right with our Breakfast Buffet Special that includes a wide selection of fruit juices, fresh bakery, jams, selection of cheeses, cold meats, yogurt and fruit, egg station, selection of hot main and side dishes, eggs and our traditional Costa Rican tortillas and corn pancakes. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future and we really appreciate your preference.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

My friends, sometimes we are blessed on this earth to find a place where I can recharge and just unwind. Tabacon Grand Spa and Hot Spring is just the place. Our room come with a great view of the Arenal Volcano, good king size bed and space to feel comfort in the room. We choose not to eat at the resort because the reviewers said it would be pricey and beside we had a rental car and so had the freedom to roam and sample the local area for our fare.
The hot springs are a dream, we went both at night and in the day and the spring are a walking distance, no more that ten minutes wearing our gowns. Towels and lockers are offered at the springs. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Go with an open mind and you will be pleasantly surprised!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Jonathan O

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. At Tabacón we strive to always provide unforgettable service, that's why is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed a memorable experience during your stay with us, we are blessed with a marvelous natural setting and our facilities are in harmony with the rainforest offering the opportunity to our visitors to have direct contact with nature and explore the richness of Costa Rica's flora and fauna. We are sincerely thankful for your visit and we hope to receive you at the resort soon.

Best regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I just got done spending two nights here and had a great time. I'm typically not a fan of resorts or overly touristy destinations, but Tabacon was a lot of fun. The service was great, everyone you meet at the resort or pass by walking is willing to help. The rooms were very nice - pillow top mattresses, flat screen TVs, AC, and free wifi. The meals there are fairly expensive, $30-$35 for buffets, but they were all generally pretty good. The dinner buffet one night was Mediterranean, then Costa Rican, and the day we left it was Mexican themed.

The real draw to staying here is of course their world famous thermal hot springs, and they are everything they are hyped to be. I've been to the hot springs before years ago, but I was pleasantly surprised at how much more there was that I hadn't seen. Seemingly endless pools and spots to jump into the river. I'd recommend you go early in the day or late at night (after 7:30 PM) to avoid the huge buses of outside tourists.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 400 block are closest to the restaurant, and many of those have views of the volcan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Chris A

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we are glad you enjoyed our thermal resort which in fact has been recognized as one of the best worldwide, thanks to its exuberant gardens and the natural hot springs river that emerge directly from Arenal Volcano. The experience itself is memorable and all our hotel guest can experience the resort facilities during their stay as an add value. Our aim is always to improve and provide our guests a high quality service. In regards to cuisine we offer different options: buffet, a la carte, and special menus for snacks so you can choose between different price ranges depending on your personal desires or take advantage of our special packages if staying multiple nights. We really appreciate your preference and look forward to serve you again in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
309 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We booked a regular room and upgraded when we got there to the rain forest suite. So many people told us we wouldn't be in our room much which was true but...if you enjoy coffee in the am before going out or cocktails before dinner I'd recommend upgrading. The balcony was so nice overlooking the rain forest. Huge rooms and comfortable beds. Stop at a market prior to arriving and use their mini fridge. We ate at the restaurants quite a bit. They are fairly expensive but the food was outstanding so it was worth it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CherylGlendaleAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear CherylGlendaleAZ

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we really appreciate it. We are glad to know you enjoyed Tabacon´s experience, having the opportunity to relax in our natural thermal mineral springs, enjoy a Costa Rican coffee in the balcony of the Rainforest Suite or delight your senses with World Class Cuisine in our Restaurants. Our open-air facilities are surrounded by manicured gardens and tropical rainforest so nature is always present during your vacation. We would love to receive you at our resort soon!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had an awesome time here. I was really looking forward to hot springs and I loved that they had the area for adults to just relax. My husband and I napped in one of the day beds there. It was really pretty and I had wonderful time at the spa too

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hafsa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Hafsa A

We appreciate your comments! We are glad to know you enjoyed our thermal experience and took some time to rest in Shangri-La Gardens our secluded area only for adults in the upper part of the property where you can live the most relaxing experience, take a nap in our day bed, explore the thermal pools or enjoy cocktail or a snack. We appreciate your preference and we hope to serve you again in the near future!

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing