We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Springs, Average Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have been to Arenal many times and Tabacon definitely has the best thermal springs. The grounds are gorgeous and vast so you can usually find a private & serene location to relax. The resort is definitely dated and is not what I would consider 5 stars (more like 3 stars). We booked four rooms and one of the rooms had a very loud air conditioner that rattled all night long. The food and drinks at the springs and the resort are outrageously expensive. If you get a deal then it is worth staying here since the springs are included. If not, I would book elsewhere and buy a day pass directly from the springs. I gave it 4 stars because of the incredible thermal springs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano and a sliding glass door/patio. It was nice to open for f...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Puravida404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,501)
There are newer reviews for Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,583 - 1,589 of 3,502 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Tabacon really is worth the splurge! My first visit to Tabacon was with my husband pre-kids. We loved sitting in one of the thermal pools and drinking an adult beverage with a perfect view of Arenal. Now, we enjoy pool hoping with our kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Kristin G,

Thank for sharing with us your experience! We are glad you spend a family vacation at Tabacon, enjoying with your husband and your kids a marvelous time at the rainforest. We would love to have you at our resort soon!

Regards!
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visited Tabacon as part of our all-day combo tour with Canoa Aventura. With the option to visit a variety of hot springs, we decided to choose Tabacon based on reviews and photos. We totally feel that we made the right decision! We were encouraged by our guide to take a long walk around the property, shoot some photos, and get our bearings before we changed in the locker facilities (clean, slightly tight on space, but well managed with showers and restroom facilities) and got into the pools. As others have said, there are something like 21 separate hot spring pools and on the first trip around it seemed like we would never stop seeing new pools! There is an adults only area near the top with some beautiful pools, as well as many family friendly areas. You can wade underneath hot waterfalls. Some of the pools have smooth bottoms, but many have natural rock floors (still no ugly water socks necessary!). The water is quite warm and the whole experience is very relaxing. Although the pool with the swim-up bar is not the most natural or stunningly beautiful, we did spend a considerable amount of time here! ;) Take advantage of the water slide! No one was using it when we arrived, we tried it out, and then it was popular for the rest of the evening! (Great for even some 20 somethings like ourselves!)

Dinner was included with our passes, which was a nice mexican buffet. The food was good quality and the servers were attentive. The meal came with blackberry iced tea or another non alcoholic bev, or you could order alcoholic drinks. Plenty of food and good variety!

Overall, the experience is highly recommended and we left wanting nothing more or less!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristinbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear kristinbot

Thank you for taking the time and share your feedback, we really appreciate it. We are glad to know you enjoyed your visit. As you mentioned our guests are able to explore more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades all of them with natural thermal water with a high mineral content immerse in a natural setting. Our water slide is perfect to have fun. We do offer Day Pass options including entrance to the thermal area from 10 am to 10 pm and our guest are able to add meals or spa treatments to the Day Pass Packages, on the other hand our hotel guest receive complementary access to the hot springs in the room rate. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel itself is lovely with great service. Breakfast was not included so the food portion was costly but delicious. The best part of staying here is the hot springs that has a shuttle service or easy walking distance. Free admittance is included with your hotel stay and these tropical hot springs are wonderful. The spa also provides special service, massages etc. the price was higher than I pay at home, but the whole experience was worth every penny. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a spectacular view of Arenal.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bonnie3661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear bonnie3661

We appreciate your comments. Tabacon sits on over 872 acres of lush rainforest and all our thermal springs comes from the majestic Arenal Volcano forming cascades and natural pools through the property, all of them with different temperatures and a high mineral content. Since part of our philosophy is to keep nature as an integrated part of Tabacon experience we do offer the natural pools at the resort, free shuttle is available for hotel guest and there is also a trail that connect the hotel and the thermal springs area.
The Grand Spa is the perfect complement for a relaxing vacation, consider one of the top eco-spas all over the world the treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private Jacuzzis. We are glad you enjoyed the hot springs and took advantage of the unlimited access to the thermal spring resort that was include in your room rate, and we look forward to receive you again as our guest in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We didn't stay at the resort, but instead bought a day pass which included dinner. We spent about 6 hours there and had an amazing time migrating from pool to pool. The springs were so relaxing and the setting is spectacular. Tabacon takes care to limit the number number of visitors per day, so we appreciated the fact that it wasn't overly crowded. (Make a reservation in advance!! Easy to do via their website) Sometimes we would have a pool entirely to ourselves. Only minor disappointment was the food. The dinner was average - not terribly impressive, but there were a lot of options. We really didn't go there for the food. You definitely do not want to miss this if you are going to be in the LaFortuna area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Erika C

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we really appreciate it. Our aim is always to provide a high quality service and we are really glad to know that you enjoyed Tabacon. Our thermal springs are a great complement for a day full of adventure in Arenal Region, the hot spring river emerge from the majestic Arenal Volcano forming natural cascades and pools through the property. Every single night we have an international theme buffet at Ave del Paraiso Restaurant, with a variety of dishes to satisfy our guests cravings. For your next visit we invite you to ask about our Day Spa Package, so you will be able to experience a spa treatment in an open air bungalow in the middle of the rainforest. We would love to receive you as our guest soon!

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Perhaps you have heard of paradise?? Well this is it.
The Hotel is a wonderful destination in itself. The staff here go above and beyond to make sure you feel at home. Their Restaurant Tucan serves some of the best food and delicate dishes. The hot springs are out of this world. Big, amazing and fantastic. I would come back in a heart bit. Ad the views of Volcano Arenal. WOW

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nednedned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Edmundo Z

We appreciate your comments, we are pleased that you have decided to stay with us! Tabacon is a unique place on Earth due to our thermal mineral springs that emerges naturally from Arenal Volcano. Los Tucanes Restaurant is our option for fine dining in the rainforest where our guests have the opportunity to select and combine both international and local fresh products prepared with the highest culinary techniques. Our open-air facilities are surrounded by manicured gardens and the rainforest offering a great place to relax. We would love to receive you at our resort soon!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room over looking. The dense forest.birds singing in the morning .
The hot springs art and beauty..
Coffe at the lobby so gooooddd.
Service and parking easy.
Green everywhere easy accesses to la fortunate activities.
Don't miss sky tram.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LosAngelesSnagov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear LosAngelesSnagov

Thank you for your review. We are glad to know you lived Tabacon´s experience, having the opportunity to relax in natural thermal mineral springs and them get some rest in a comfortable room is the perfect mix for total relaxation. For adventurous people La Fortuna de San Carlos is a beautiful town with lots of attractions, our concierge is always at your service to arrange outdoors tours as zip lining, white water rafting, waterfall rappel, etc. We look forward for your next visit.

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,315 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#5 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $280 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing