We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Honeymoon Fun”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Well, they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite (3x the cost per night of the room we had originally booked) for free when we arrived, so that started our stay off quite nicely. All in all, this is an excellent place to stay, and staying there grants you free and unlimited access to the resort (where the hot springs are), which is otherwise extremely expensive. The room was huge, the staff (especially the concierge desk) extremely friendly and helpful, and the location is great as a hub for doing all the cool touristy activities: hanging bridges, ziplining, hiking near the volcano, river float tours, waterfall rappelling, etc. Doing these activities and then heading to the hot springs is a great way to spend several days and nights.

The food was also delicious at every meal--and we would recommend paying for the breakfast buffet, which has just about everything one could imagine. And, of course, the spa was top notch.

Room Tip: Make sure to tell them if it's your honeymoon or anniversary! Also, pay the extra money for a vo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sean G

We appreciate your comments! We loved the fact that you enjoyed our facilities during your Costa Rica vacation, our staff is always working to offer high quality service in order to provide memorable experiences to our valuable guests, it is really nice to know you experienced our restaurants and also that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beauty of nature in our natural hot spring resort. The Spa is as you well mentioned a unique place. We hope to receive you again at Tabacon in the near future!

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,105
    752
    260
    100
    65
See reviews for
769
1,611
57
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here the last two nights of our honeymoon in costa rica. They treated us very well.

Staying at the hotel was nice, with the entry into the spa included. for two, hotel was $195/night with free hotsprings. Hotsprings are $60 each so really the hotel was about $75/night. If you dont plan on spending alot of time in springs then maybe not the best place. But it was fun to splurge at the end.

The hotel is about a 10 min walk from the hot springs but there is a complementary shuttle that will take you there and back.

The hot springs are incredible, magical and fun to explore. We spent an afternoon there then drove into town for dinner. The next day we spent the evening there after dinner to close. Very cool. They have a natural hot river flowing through that they have worked on to create paths walkways and pools that are all fed by the river. Unlike the other springs I have been to where they pipe in their hot water to pools, this was much more natural and beutiful. They have incredible landscaping and lots of little trails and secluded pools to soak in.

At night, if its not busy, you can find a spot to skinny dip if you want a bit of excitment. :)

DONT eat at the hotel. Its very overpriced for what you get and if you drive into town you can find much more afortable and delicious options. There are a ton of delicous resturants around and a great open air steak house just 5 minutes down the road towards La Fortuna.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Life_is_a_Gamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Life_is_a_Gamble

We appreciate your time for sharing with us your comments. Our aim is to always be the best, guaranteeing the highest quality of service to all our guests, we are glad to know you enjoyed your visit. As you mentioned our guest are able to explore more than 20 different pools, ponds and waterfalls all of them of thermal water with a high mineral content immerse in a natural location, providing a relaxing experience. In regards to cuisine we offer different options: theme buffets, a la carte menu and snacks so you can choose between different price ranges depending on your personal desires or take advantage of our packages if staying multiple nights. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful hotel and hot springs located in a breathtaking part of Costa Rica. The hot springs were very relaxing and visually stunning. We hiked to the volcano which was a must see for outdoor enthusiasts. Food at the restaurant is very pricey but good. I would definetely return here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoDorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear LeoDorado

We really appreciate your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed a relaxing experience during your stay at Tabacon. Our natural hot springs resort is the perfect complement for a day full of activities in Arenal Region, we really look forward to receive you again at the resort.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Seven ladies from Georgia spent the day enjoying the hot springs and the food and the scenery. As they say there...PURA VIDA! Can't wait to return, Costa Rica is a beautiful vacation spot and the people are wonderful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNLewis001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear LNLewis001

Your comments are very much appreciated. We are glad to know you decide to spend the day with your friends at Tabacon exploring the wonders of nature and relaxing in our hot springs. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tabacon is a great place to soak in very hot water. It is the only thermal water in the area that is a river, and not a pond. I did not go to the other hot springs, but I talked to people who did. They said the water was hot, but the "ponds" are artificial. The water is pumped into the pond area. Tabacon is actually a huge area with multiple points to enter into the water stream. THere are areas that go upto your chest if sitting, and multiple waterfalls to sit under if wanted. The area is great for the entire family. THere are lockers and showers on site. You must pay a $50.00 deposit for a towel and locker. Upon return of the towel and locker key, you get your money back. They have buffet style dinner that is pricey. It seems they have theme nights. Our night there it was Mediterrainian. I love Mediteranian food, but this was just ok. It was not bad, but it was not spectacular by any means. It did look great, and there were many many food item choices. I would eat there again as there is no where else to go, unless you drive back into town, but then you would leave the resort. There is also a pool [several] and a swim up bar. We got into the pool a couple times to cool down, but the water in the pool is warm. Wish it had been cooler. The pool also has a great slide that is the fastest I have ever been on. Adults and kids enjoy it. We were there at night and it was great. THere are tons of people, but the hot springs river is so huge you feel like you are all to yourself. I highly recommend the splurge on this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KELLY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Kelly B

We are glad you have visited Tabacon and we really appreciate your comments! Our thermal mineral spring resort is completely natural and the hot springs emerge from the majestic Arenal Volcano forming cascades, waterfalls, pools and ponds with a high mineral content and different temperatures for total relaxation. Our hotel guest have access to the hot springs included in their room rate but we also offer Day Pass options where our guest can add one or two meals and some of the packages include spa treatments as well. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the resort and we really look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked rooms in Tabacon after hearing good things about it from friends and it exceeded expectations. We were a group of 16 and stayed at Tabacon for 3 nights. It was a great experience...form arrangement of the transportation from the airport to our departure, everything was extremely well taken care of. The food is good, the peope are efficient and courteus and the rooms and property were gorgeous. The high point is the thermal resort which was absolutely spectacular. Our group of 8 adults and 8 kids thoroughly enjoyed the experience. In my opinion, if anyone is visiting the arenal area and is interested in relaxing in the hot springs, tabacon is the only choice

Room Tip: ask for a arenal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quantummottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Quantummottle

We really appreciate your comments! Thank you for choosing Tabacon for your vacation in Costa Rica, we are glad you had the opportunity to explore our completely natural resort and experience relaxation at its maximum level. As you mentioned our thermal resort is very unique and it emerges naturally from the Arenal Volcano and goes through the property forming waterfalls, pools and ponds with different temperatures and high mineral content. We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Cordially,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is truly one of my favorite experiences ever. It is close to the La Fortuna area and is situated in a central location to explore the Arenal area. It is a truly beautiful resort. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. My only wish is that they could have checked us in sooner than 3:30 p.m. The thermal hot springs are the best I have ever seen and the view of the volcano is magnificent. The breakfast buffet is delicious and is actually quite reasonable at $25.00 per person. The spa is a very unusual one with one area bungalows in which you can hear the waterfalls running from the hot springs - so peaceful- don't miss it! It's worth every penny! The food in the restaurant is typical of a la carte restaurants at about $20-$25 for an entre. It is very good and beautifully presented. We kept out bill reasonable by not drinking alcoholic beverages, which we didn't miss. The concierge is great for booking excursions. Arenal is the place to do all your high adventure activities. The zip lining and waterfall rapelling through Sky Trek and Pure Trek are fabulous and not to be missed. The adventure of a lifetime. Hanging Brindges was fun too. Sky Trek is professional and you feel safe at all times, and I am scared of heights! Hats off to Sky Trek! You are the best!Beware, the rainforest is damp, so things don't seem to dry, and take on a mildew smell. Our shoes from waterfell rapelling never seemed to dry out - a small price to pay! Also, the bartender in the lobby will make great cappuccinos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Pam O

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your preference! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and experience the different services we offer, from delicious buffet breakfast up to the relaxing spa experience in a private bungalow in the middle of the rainforest. As you mention the thermal springs are breathtaking and the beauty of nature is always present at Tabacon. Arenal is also ideal for guest seeking for adventure, our concierge is always there to serve you and recommend activities depending on your preferences. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,175 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,174 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,298 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,302 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing