We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refreshing, relaxing and remarkable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Refreshing, relaxing and remarkable!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Seven ladies from Georgia spent the day enjoying the hot springs and the food and the scenery. As they say there...PURA VIDA! Can't wait to return, Costa Rica is a beautiful vacation spot and the people are wonderful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNLewis001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear LNLewis001

Your comments are very much appreciated. We are glad to know you decide to spend the day with your friends at Tabacon exploring the wonders of nature and relaxing in our hot springs. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    779
    269
    101
    66
See reviews for
831
1,689
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tabacon is a great place to soak in very hot water. It is the only thermal water in the area that is a river, and not a pond. I did not go to the other hot springs, but I talked to people who did. They said the water was hot, but the "ponds" are artificial. The water is pumped into the pond area. Tabacon is actually a huge area with multiple points to enter into the water stream. THere are areas that go upto your chest if sitting, and multiple waterfalls to sit under if wanted. The area is great for the entire family. THere are lockers and showers on site. You must pay a $50.00 deposit for a towel and locker. Upon return of the towel and locker key, you get your money back. They have buffet style dinner that is pricey. It seems they have theme nights. Our night there it was Mediterrainian. I love Mediteranian food, but this was just ok. It was not bad, but it was not spectacular by any means. It did look great, and there were many many food item choices. I would eat there again as there is no where else to go, unless you drive back into town, but then you would leave the resort. There is also a pool [several] and a swim up bar. We got into the pool a couple times to cool down, but the water in the pool is warm. Wish it had been cooler. The pool also has a great slide that is the fastest I have ever been on. Adults and kids enjoy it. We were there at night and it was great. THere are tons of people, but the hot springs river is so huge you feel like you are all to yourself. I highly recommend the splurge on this.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KELLY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Kelly B

We are glad you have visited Tabacon and we really appreciate your comments! Our thermal mineral spring resort is completely natural and the hot springs emerge from the majestic Arenal Volcano forming cascades, waterfalls, pools and ponds with a high mineral content and different temperatures for total relaxation. Our hotel guest have access to the hot springs included in their room rate but we also offer Day Pass options where our guest can add one or two meals and some of the packages include spa treatments as well. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the resort and we really look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We booked rooms in Tabacon after hearing good things about it from friends and it exceeded expectations. We were a group of 16 and stayed at Tabacon for 3 nights. It was a great experience...form arrangement of the transportation from the airport to our departure, everything was extremely well taken care of. The food is good, the peope are efficient and courteus and the rooms and property were gorgeous. The high point is the thermal resort which was absolutely spectacular. Our group of 8 adults and 8 kids thoroughly enjoyed the experience. In my opinion, if anyone is visiting the arenal area and is interested in relaxing in the hot springs, tabacon is the only choice

Room Tip: ask for a arenal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quantummottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Quantummottle

We really appreciate your comments! Thank you for choosing Tabacon for your vacation in Costa Rica, we are glad you had the opportunity to explore our completely natural resort and experience relaxation at its maximum level. As you mentioned our thermal resort is very unique and it emerges naturally from the Arenal Volcano and goes through the property forming waterfalls, pools and ponds with different temperatures and high mineral content. We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Cordially,
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is truly one of my favorite experiences ever. It is close to the La Fortuna area and is situated in a central location to explore the Arenal area. It is a truly beautiful resort. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. My only wish is that they could have checked us in sooner than 3:30 p.m. The thermal hot springs are the best I have ever seen and the view of the volcano is magnificent. The breakfast buffet is delicious and is actually quite reasonable at $25.00 per person. The spa is a very unusual one with one area bungalows in which you can hear the waterfalls running from the hot springs - so peaceful- don't miss it! It's worth every penny! The food in the restaurant is typical of a la carte restaurants at about $20-$25 for an entre. It is very good and beautifully presented. We kept out bill reasonable by not drinking alcoholic beverages, which we didn't miss. The concierge is great for booking excursions. Arenal is the place to do all your high adventure activities. The zip lining and waterfall rapelling through Sky Trek and Pure Trek are fabulous and not to be missed. The adventure of a lifetime. Hanging Brindges was fun too. Sky Trek is professional and you feel safe at all times, and I am scared of heights! Hats off to Sky Trek! You are the best!Beware, the rainforest is damp, so things don't seem to dry, and take on a mildew smell. Our shoes from waterfell rapelling never seemed to dry out - a small price to pay! Also, the bartender in the lobby will make great cappuccinos.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Pam O

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your preference! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and experience the different services we offer, from delicious buffet breakfast up to the relaxing spa experience in a private bungalow in the middle of the rainforest. As you mention the thermal springs are breathtaking and the beauty of nature is always present at Tabacon. Arenal is also ideal for guest seeking for adventure, our concierge is always there to serve you and recommend activities depending on your preferences. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This place is absolutely wonderful. Some rooms have a view of the Arenal volcano and the thermal springs are incredible. This place is something truly unique that you can't get at a traditional spa. The geothermal springs are beautifully manicured amidst tropical plants and cascading waterfalls in the middle of a jungle.

The fresh fruit available at all meals is incredible. I gave the resort 4/5 because of the lunch/dinner buffet and the price. We had lunch at the buffet at the hot springs one day and dinner there the next. The selection was exactly the same at both meals. At $130 for a family of four (including 8 and 11 year olds), I expected a little more diversity. The sit down restaurant is very good but pricey as well.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a volcano view. You should ask for this room category when making reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veazey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Veazey

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. At Tabacon we strive to always provide unforgettable service, that's why it is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed a memorable experience during your visit, we are blessed with a marvelous natural setting and our facilities are in harmony with the rainforest offering the opportunity to our visitors to have direct contact with nature and explore the richness of Costa Rica's flora and fauna, our hot springs emerge naturally from the volcano and this makes our resort really unique. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and we hope to receive you at the resort soon.

Best regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pretty and very clean. The hot springs were very nice but this place is very expensive and I think if you come here expect to pay extremely inflated American prices for everything.

We didn't eat at the restaurant so although the food at the hotel might have been very good it's was $30-$50 a plate and going into town was about a 15 minutes drive and $15 each way. Given the distance, $15 was understandable for the US but in Costa Rica things are much cheaper than the US and for the price of the hotel and it's extreme isolation from anything else, I felt the shuttle should have been free.
Food is much cheaper in town but town is by no means walking distance and there are very few street lights so it would be a little creepy.
Overall it's a nice and pretty hotel but even though you are coming to Costa Rica, expect to spend a lot of money if you are staying at this hotel and if that's not a problem then this hotel is not bad at all.
Our room was a standard room which was OK I guess. Very clean, nice bed, clean bathroom and decent size room but nothing exciting.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady_V808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Lady_V808

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we are glad you decided to visit Arenal´s Region. Our thermal springs emerges from the majestic Arenal Volcano forming cascades and natural pools and ponds that goes by gravity through the property as a natural river, since part of our philosophy is to keep nature as an integrated part of Tabacon experience we offer free shuttle from the hotel to the thermal resort for all our guests, we are glad you experience relaxation in our hot springs. In regards to cuisine we do offer different options: buffet, a la carte and special snack menus so you can choose between different price ranges depending on your personal desires. We really look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Tabacon resort is only a fifteen minute ride from El Fortuna and is in a great location for exploring the Arenal area. We stayed in a room with 2 king beds, and the rooms are clean, but not that large. The highlight of staying there is certainly the springs, which are beautiful and worth the trip of staying there but just let it be known you either take a short shuttle to get there from the hotel, or you can drive yourself - its not where the hotel is. We were there in early August, and the one thing I will caution you is that the springs can get very crowded since it is also open to the public. Even when we went again late on a Monday night it was still crowded up until 9:00, and the springs close at 10PM. There is a section (Shangri La) for 18 and over, which is quieter and has a bar and some quiet tents to relax in around more pools. The pool bar is fun with decent food, and there is a water slide that can add some fun for the kids (and us adults a couple of times). The pool at the hotel side was closed and was being fixed when we were there, so we never got a chance to use it. The gym is small, but has all you need to stay on top of your workouts if you want to be a bit creative too. The staff was very nice!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianDuxbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear BrianDuxbury

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your preference! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resortl. As you mentioned the thermal springs are breathtaking and the beauty of nature is always present at our carbon neutral resort. Arenal area is also ideal for guest seeking adventure and our concierge is always there to serve you to recommend tours and activities depending on your preferences. We are sincerely grateful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,282 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,295 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,440 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,888 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing