We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms-----the Thermal pools are unbelievable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Brookline, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great rooms-----the Thermal pools are unbelievable!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The pictures of the thermal pools just can't quite capture the Beaty of this "jungle within a resort"!! The price of admission ($60) justifies staying here at this hotel, since your admission to the pools is included in your stay, as well as shuttles back & forth that run every few minutes. The restaurants are a bit pricey----even at breakfast, all that is available is the $30 buffet.

We were pleased to see that even though there was a massive storm and all the other hotels along the road were without electricity, upon return to Tabacon, we had lights! They must have an emergency generator----even though ALL our lights weren't operational, we had some and the TV was working! Great planning on their part, since storms happen frequently during the rainy season!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Jeanann J

We very much appreciate your review! Tabacon main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guest in the middle of the rainforest, the natural beauty of our hot springs and the sounds of nature become part of your vacation experience. We are glad to know we met your expectations. We would love to receive you again in the near future at the resort.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,155
    760
    265
    101
    65
See reviews for
785
1,642
58
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just got back from a wonderful vacation in Costa Rica at The Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort and I now see why it has such high accolades. The hot springs are AMAZING!! The wonder and beauty of the natural springs is truly something that is worthy of anyone's bucket list. I was a little hesitant about going in June (we were there June 2nd through June 6th) which is considered their off and rainy season but we didn't encounter any rain that would have put a damper on our vacation and this is the most reasonable time of year to go. Room rates are considerably lower and the weather was just beautiful. I especially liked this time of year because the hot springs were not crowded at all and we got to enjoy them almost by ourselves. I also highly recommend the Adults only section of the hot springs, not that there were many if any children around this time of year because school wasn't quite out, but because in that section they has several cabanas that you could lounge in "Free" of charge and you had bar service constantly bringing you a refreshment of your choice! "Heaven" I would definitely return to this resort it was one of the most relaxing vacations I ever had!

Room Tip: Stop at the supermarket before you go. Things are a little pricey here. Breakfast & Dinner is $3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinaR373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Nina R

Thank you for sharing your comments with us, we are glad you enjoyed our resort which in fact has been recognized as one of the best worldwide, thanks to its exuberant gardens and the natural hot spring river that our guests can enjoy in the middle of the rainforest. Being at the thermal springs while it is raining is the most enjoyable and relaxing experience you can have in Costa Rica, the steam offers a magical experience. On a daily basis we improve and renew our services to offer new experiences to our valued guests, that's why we feel extremely happy that you enjoyed Shangri-La Gardens, our new adults-only hideaway for total relaxation.
We are sincerely grateful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had an amazing vacation at Tabacon. Everyone was so accommodating and kind. Food was delicious, the grounds are spectacular, the hot springs are out of this world. Could not ask for a better vacation!

Room Tip: They are all good - honestly this is not a place where you will spend a lot of time in your room. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAGirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear VAGirl85

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. At Tabacón we strive to always provide customized service, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are blessed with a marvelous natural setting and our facilities are in harmony with the rainforest offering the opportunity to our visitors to have direct contact with nature and explore the richness of Costa Rica's flora and fauna. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and we hope to receive you at the resort soon.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

First off, sorry for the lengthy review, but thought it was warranted. We read tons of reviews on Tabacon and really weren't too surprised at our experience, but at the same time though it was important to share. Over a week before we arrived, my wife email the hotel manager, Yendry Espinoza Arias, communicating when we would be arriving and that we would be celebrating our 10 year anniversary. At that time we asked if we could possibly upgrade our room and also if there were any additional suggestions that would make our stay more special. We received no response whatsoever. Not too big a deal, until it compacted with the rest of our experience.

We stayed a total of 3 nights. On night one, our in room smoke detector (directly above our bed) chirped a couple times starting around 5am. However it stopped after a little while, and never made another peep. Until the next morning, when the chirping started again, this time starting around 3:30am and continued beeping about once every 5-10 min. Not wanting to call someone up to our room to stand on our bed to change a smoke detector battery at 3:30am we decided to just wait. Once we were up for the day, we stopped at the front desk and told them. The lady at the front desk said she would tell housekeeping. (Seemed more like a maintenance issue to me, but whatever).

After reading previous reviews, I just had a feeling nothing would be done….and I was right. Our third and last night, we went to bed early, only to be awaked at 11:30 by the chirping smoke detector; which proceeded to chirp again every 5-10 min for the rest of the night. Thank goodness we packed ear plugs. But we really shouldn’t have had to do this at a “5-star, world renowned resort.”

We once again told the front desk staff of the smoke detector issue when we checked out. We asked to speak with the manager, however were told he wouldn’t be in until later and that we could fill out a comment card instead. We filled out our complaint, only to receive an email the next day from our good buddy Yendry; the same hotel manager that couldn’t be bothered to respond to our initial email before arrival.

It’s funny, now that a potential “bad review” is pending we get a response and apology from management. In addition, Mr. Espinoza asked if we were still in the area, because (and I quote) “I would like to offer you a gift certificate for you to come back and stay one more night in our property in order to treat you as you deserve.” Um are you KIDDING ME!! Why couldn't we be treated as we “deserve” by just being a normal paying guest? Why did we have to come back and stay another night in order to receive this? And WHY did we not receive an apology from the staff or any offer a discount for the nights we paid for, but got little to no sleep?

Do yourself a favor, DO NOT STAY HERE! If you have to see the hot springs, visit for the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank MWein33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Tabacon for 4 nights as part of our stay in Costa Rica during our honeymoon. The hot springs were wonderful and the grounds of the hot springs are beautiful as well- definitely go at night for a really cool experience. The food at the restaurant was really delicious- we only had lunch there, but the typical plate was really outstanding- much better than most hotel dining. The spa got such great ratings, but we couldn't stomach the $400 price tag for a couples massage, and breakfast was $30/pp, which seemed a bit steep as we ended up getting essentially the same spread at other hotels as part of the price of the stay. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves although I think you could probably do a day pass for the springs once and get the overall jist of it almost as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Kelly D

We appreciate your comments. First of all, congratulations you for your wedding and for taking the decision of enjoying your honeymoon in Costa Rica and Tabacon, we are glad to be part of this memorable occasion in your life. We are happy that you enjoyed our completely natural setting with all the magic and relaxation of the rainforest and the hot springs. The Grand Spa is a unique experience where you receive your treatment in an open air bungalow in the middle of the rainforest with a private Jacuzzi, surrounded by nature, our spa menu offers different price ranges for individual or couple treatments, you can select your own package or take advantage of our promotions. We also offer a day spa package where you can mix our relaxing hot springs, a spa treatment and lunch or dinner depending on your preferences. We hope to receive you again as our guest in the near future and we wish you a wonderful life together full of peace, happiness and relaxation!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The place is excellent. The service is one of the top 3 I've ever seen, the springs are just great and so relaxing, you just don't wanna leave the hotel.
It's a little bit pricey, especially the food and beverages you order, but you can go to restaurant or stop at the closest supermarket for some stuff.
Anyway, the breakfast was very abundant and fresh. Not a single complain.
The hotel rooms are spacious, the beds are extrimely comfortable and soft. Just perfect.
You can enjoy a real relaxing and refreshing stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosquito9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mosquito9

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, we are pleased to know that you had a great visit. Every day we work to provide a high quality service to our guests. Enjoying the scenic beauty of the area is part of the Tabacon experience, our natural thermal springs becomes a mystical place where steam, the sounds of nature and water temperature are mixed uniquely to awake your senses. We appreciate your preference and we look forward to receive you in the near future at the resort.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but it was worth it. I would have stayed a whole week! Hotel grounds are beautiful, right in the middle of rainforest. Rooms were so comfortable and beautiful. Service was good, the only con was the food is so expensive there. And the best for last the thermal pools are heavenly. Loved our stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoRu03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear NoRu03

Your comments are very much appreciated. Thank you for choosing Tabacon during your visit to Arenal Region, our aimed is to offer the highest quality service to all our guest who are our reason to be. We are glad to know you enjoyed our thermal spring area. We hope to receive you again in the near future as our guest.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,204 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,331 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing