We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had an amazing vacation at Tabacon. Everyone was so accommodating and kind. Food was delicious, the grounds are spectacular, the hot springs are out of this world. Could not ask for a better vacation!

Room Tip: They are all good - honestly this is not a place where you will spend a lot of time in your room. B...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VAGirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear VAGirl85

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. At Tabacón we strive to always provide customized service, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are blessed with a marvelous natural setting and our facilities are in harmony with the rainforest offering the opportunity to our visitors to have direct contact with nature and explore the richness of Costa Rica's flora and fauna. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and we hope to receive you at the resort soon.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,502)
There are newer reviews for Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,669 - 1,675 of 3,502 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

First off, sorry for the lengthy review, but thought it was warranted. We read tons of reviews on Tabacon and really weren't too surprised at our experience, but at the same time though it was important to share. Over a week before we arrived, my wife email the hotel manager, Yendry Espinoza Arias, communicating when we would be arriving and that we would be celebrating our 10 year anniversary. At that time we asked if we could possibly upgrade our room and also if there were any additional suggestions that would make our stay more special. We received no response whatsoever. Not too big a deal, until it compacted with the rest of our experience.

We stayed a total of 3 nights. On night one, our in room smoke detector (directly above our bed) chirped a couple times starting around 5am. However it stopped after a little while, and never made another peep. Until the next morning, when the chirping started again, this time starting around 3:30am and continued beeping about once every 5-10 min. Not wanting to call someone up to our room to stand on our bed to change a smoke detector battery at 3:30am we decided to just wait. Once we were up for the day, we stopped at the front desk and told them. The lady at the front desk said she would tell housekeeping. (Seemed more like a maintenance issue to me, but whatever).

After reading previous reviews, I just had a feeling nothing would be done….and I was right. Our third and last night, we went to bed early, only to be awaked at 11:30 by the chirping smoke detector; which proceeded to chirp again every 5-10 min for the rest of the night. Thank goodness we packed ear plugs. But we really shouldn’t have had to do this at a “5-star, world renowned resort.”

We once again told the front desk staff of the smoke detector issue when we checked out. We asked to speak with the manager, however were told he wouldn’t be in until later and that we could fill out a comment card instead. We filled out our complaint, only to receive an email the next day from our good buddy Yendry; the same hotel manager that couldn’t be bothered to respond to our initial email before arrival.

It’s funny, now that a potential “bad review” is pending we get a response and apology from management. In addition, Mr. Espinoza asked if we were still in the area, because (and I quote) “I would like to offer you a gift certificate for you to come back and stay one more night in our property in order to treat you as you deserve.” Um are you KIDDING ME!! Why couldn't we be treated as we “deserve” by just being a normal paying guest? Why did we have to come back and stay another night in order to receive this? And WHY did we not receive an apology from the staff or any offer a discount for the nights we paid for, but got little to no sleep?

Do yourself a favor, DO NOT STAY HERE! If you have to see the hot springs, visit for the day.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank MWein33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at Tabacon for 4 nights as part of our stay in Costa Rica during our honeymoon. The hot springs were wonderful and the grounds of the hot springs are beautiful as well- definitely go at night for a really cool experience. The food at the restaurant was really delicious- we only had lunch there, but the typical plate was really outstanding- much better than most hotel dining. The spa got such great ratings, but we couldn't stomach the $400 price tag for a couples massage, and breakfast was $30/pp, which seemed a bit steep as we ended up getting essentially the same spread at other hotels as part of the price of the stay. Overall, we enjoyed ourselves although I think you could probably do a day pass for the springs once and get the overall jist of it almost as well.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Kelly D

We appreciate your comments. First of all, congratulations you for your wedding and for taking the decision of enjoying your honeymoon in Costa Rica and Tabacon, we are glad to be part of this memorable occasion in your life. We are happy that you enjoyed our completely natural setting with all the magic and relaxation of the rainforest and the hot springs. The Grand Spa is a unique experience where you receive your treatment in an open air bungalow in the middle of the rainforest with a private Jacuzzi, surrounded by nature, our spa menu offers different price ranges for individual or couple treatments, you can select your own package or take advantage of our promotions. We also offer a day spa package where you can mix our relaxing hot springs, a spa treatment and lunch or dinner depending on your preferences. We hope to receive you again as our guest in the near future and we wish you a wonderful life together full of peace, happiness and relaxation!

Warm Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The place is excellent. The service is one of the top 3 I've ever seen, the springs are just great and so relaxing, you just don't wanna leave the hotel.
It's a little bit pricey, especially the food and beverages you order, but you can go to restaurant or stop at the closest supermarket for some stuff.
Anyway, the breakfast was very abundant and fresh. Not a single complain.
The hotel rooms are spacious, the beds are extrimely comfortable and soft. Just perfect.
You can enjoy a real relaxing and refreshing stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mosquito9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Mosquito9

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback, we are pleased to know that you had a great visit. Every day we work to provide a high quality service to our guests. Enjoying the scenic beauty of the area is part of the Tabacon experience, our natural thermal springs becomes a mystical place where steam, the sounds of nature and water temperature are mixed uniquely to awake your senses. We appreciate your preference and we look forward to receive you in the near future at the resort.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night but it was worth it. I would have stayed a whole week! Hotel grounds are beautiful, right in the middle of rainforest. Rooms were so comfortable and beautiful. Service was good, the only con was the food is so expensive there. And the best for last the thermal pools are heavenly. Loved our stay here!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoRu03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear NoRu03

Your comments are very much appreciated. Thank you for choosing Tabacon during your visit to Arenal Region, our aimed is to offer the highest quality service to all our guest who are our reason to be. We are glad to know you enjoyed our thermal spring area. We hope to receive you again in the near future as our guest.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This resort is beautiful! After a sweaty trip in Tortugero I was SO excited to have AC :) The other reviews say it all about the amazing hot springs so I won’t say anything further.

I was a little nervous about bringing my toddler to such a romantic place but I was surprised at how family friendly they are!!! They had cribs, bathtubs, highchairs in the dining areas and fridges in the room. The staff was all welcoming and excited to see my son and would always ask his name.

The only issue I had was the pricing of food. Breakfast was included in our package and was AMAZING, freshly made corn tortillas and pancakes with dulche de leche...yum! I recommend stopping in the town on the way in to pick up items such as milk, drinks and snacks (it was 6 bucks for a bottle of water in the resort that cost us 1.50 at the supermarket). In addition, the dinner options were all pricey and you don’t really have an option elsewhere so you are stuck there. We ended up eating in the bar the first night (yes with a toddler) because all we really wanted was a salad or burger and the restaurants all had much more substantial options. The buffet at the hot springs was included one night and was themed Mediterranean. Although I enjoyed it, the rest of our group was left unimpressed and were glad we did not pay the $30. In addition, the pool at the hotel was under renovation so that was another bummer.

It was all in all a great experience and I would recommend it to families or couples!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chandrea13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear chandrea13

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, we appreciate it. We are glad you were able to spend some relaxing time with your family at Tabacon. Our natural hot springs are really unique, due to the magical and relaxing ambiance colored up with the tropical rainforest, indeed people can decide either to swim in the pools or at the natural river. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the maintenance of the hotel pool. Your comments about meal options were transferred to our Food & Beverage Director. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

As the others state, the hot springs are just beautiful. Even more beautiful than the pictures. But, also, I was not too impressed with the hotel. Part of the problem, I thought the hotel was on the same grounds as the hot springs, not a couple hundred yards and across the street. I had thought we would be able to just wander out of our room for a quick dip. My fault for not researching more. I, too, agree that the staff was not that friendly. Certainly not what I would have expected from a 5 star hotel. We did not eat there as we had teenagers with us and the food was quite expensive. And the room steward did not replenish the complimentary amenities as we used them up (lotion, vanity kit). All in all, it is a beautiful place, but if I were to go back, I would stay somewhere else for maybe a little cheaper.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Jackie B

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. Our aim is always to improve and provide our guests a high quality service, we apologize if you had any inconvenience during your visit. Our thermal springs emerges from the majestic Arenal Volcano forming cascades and natural pools that goes by gravity through the property as a natural river, since part of our philosophy is to keep nature as an integrated part of Tabacon experience we offer free shuttle from the hotel to the resort for all our guests.
In regards to cuisine we do offer different options: buffet, a la carte and special snack menus so you can choose between different price ranges depending on your personal desires. As we take very seriously all your feedback your comment about the staff was already mention to our management, if you would like to share any additional information about this issue please feel free to contact me directly at customerservice@tabacon.com, we appreciate your comments.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,315 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#5 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,311 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 63 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,470 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $280 - $500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing