We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Once in a lifetime experience! 5 stars all around! Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
denver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience! 5 stars all around! Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have fortunately had the chance to stay here two times so far, and I WILL go back. What an amazing place. Where to start... the service is outstanding, the food and the drinks are great, the thermal spa and pools are the best I have ever been to and I have traveled around the world. The price is very very high for the drinks and hotel, but if you can get just one night, do that! The location is perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPGplatinumTenYears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,751
    711
    250
    99
    64
See reviews for
644
1,416
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a magical place! The room was great, and the hot springs were amazing! If you want to visit the springs, it's definitely worth staying there since it's $60 per person to visit the hot springs. Close enough to the springs to walk from the hotel.

Very romantic to stroll around finding little nooks and cranny's to hang out in. Highly recommend! We also got a couples massage and it was wonderful. It was all outside and near the river. It was great to be amongst the nature for that.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Go here. Stop researching and please just go here. This place is unreal - beautiful, fun, romantic, and relaxing. There are so many different hot springs and waterfalls to explore and you can also have lunch/dinner. We had lunch and it was very yummy. Earlier in the day we went horse back riding near the arenal volcano and it felt SO GOOD to dip in the warm natural pools after all that activity. There is also an adult only 'garden' with lounge furniture where you can continue exploring the hot springs and also grab a drink or a nap ;)

Tip: go during the day but stay after sunset. The place is so fun to explore at night as well!

This was the absolute highlight of our costa rican vacay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Masha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Masha05,
We are thankful for your comments.Tabacon main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guests and we are glad to know we met your expectations, the hot springs and the rainforest make our resort a unique place to relax. In the resort as you experienced there are more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades all of them with different temperatures and a high mineral content. We do have several options, our hotel guest have in their room rate the access to the hot springs included but we also offer Day Passes where our guest can add one or two meals. We also have the Day Spa Package Deals, so you can add an spa treatment in an open air bungalow during your visit to complement the thermal experience of an unforgettable vacation. We really look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Reading reviews we must be in the wrong place, hotel is a series of car parks with motel like blocks. Room 403 is tired and shabby with huge empty space by window looking onto dense planted border, no view whatsoever. You have to squeeze between large 4X4s to even get to your room.
The spa and springs are a shuttle ride away or a 15 minute walk down a main road, thermal waters are ok but all a bit contrived, not natural in the least, lushly planted with no view of Arenal until back on the main road. Very disappointing would not advise staying here, Baldi hot springs far superior in every way.

Room Tip: Stay away from Tenorio block
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buzz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is the closest to heaven I have ever been. Wonderful, beautiful grounds and thermal pools. JUST like the pictures show. No kidding. Our pictures came out like they were pictures from the web site pictures of TABACON. Everyone is pleasant. Food is, like others have stated, a bit on the expensive side. But staying there is worth every penny of it. Spa is also a great place to go. It is SO great to be in your hotel room and see a rainforest right out of your bed AND from your shower. THANK YOU for such a grand piece of heaven. We also went with my sister-in-law and 18 years old nephew. So it is NOT just for honeymooners. It is a family event.

Room Tip: We got rooms 705 and 706 called the Rainforest. Next to each other. WONDERFUL rooms. Only probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lsober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I picked Tabacon based mostly on tripadvisor reports so I know how important these reviews are to fellow travelers. My family (husband and children 9 & 10) and I visited March 26 - 28, 2013. We booked a Tabacon Suite (two full beds) - although I believe they were queen beds. The room was the best room we had in all of Costa Rica. The mattresses were so comfortable and the room itself was fabulous! While I would prefer a '2 room' suite with the family, this room was very roomy with the 2 beds, dining room table and chairs, living area (with a pull out sofa), and the best part - a massive bathroom that included a rain shower, jet tub, 2 sinks, a toilet and bidet behind an additional door, closets, sit down make-up counter, and (drum roll please) a TV! Seriously, I spent the majority of my time in here :)

I don't know if it was the 'suite' that we booked or their normal course of business but we were treated so well! Upon arrival, we were offered fruity drinks (my son even asked for one on the second day and he was given another one for free). We were also treated so kindly upon check in by all the staff. Imagine my delight when our room was STEPS from the front desk. Oh, and EVERYTHING is outdoors (no walls). This is typical of Costa Rica - everywhere!

This hotel and destination felt like the 'obligatory' place for me BEFORE we arrived and yet, it ended up being my favorite spot in Costa Rica. The room, the hotel, the spot - it was all fabulous. Of course, it wouldn't have been this great without the access to the hot springs at Tabacon. The kids and my husband and I LOVED the hot springs! They were relaxing, fun, explorative, and enjoyable. I only wish I had tried out the spa!

The "bad" part of this hotel (I hate to say "bad" but this is the downside so here it goes)...the restaurants/cost of food. Luckily, we had a car. With our nice amenities in the room (like the fridge), we had breakfast in the room each day - croissants, fruit, and juice. We ate in La Fortuna for lunch and around Arenal/La Fortuna for dinner (Soda Vaquez - fabulous!, Rain Forest - Really good!, Benedictus - YUMMMY! but a slow dinner for children).

A few more tidbits - free coffee service begins at sunrise (~5:30am) and ends by 7:30 or when it is gone. So if you want the free coffee and milk in the lobby, get there early! As for the regular rooms, we did see them and they were similar to American hotel rooms. They seemed just fine but truly, my 5 star rating is due to the room. Even if I didn't have to get a large room (for the 4 of us), I would book a suite based on my experience and the massive bathroom (I still miss it!!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were upgraded to the Rainforest Suite which was very good as it was in the main building. It was beautiful. Very peaceful and we could open the sliding doors of the windiows and hear all the sounds of the different birds. The service was first class. Though it is a big place we did not seem lost. The main restaurant is far above fine dining. The food, service and ambiance is so relaxing and delicious. The waiters cannot do enough for you. Very attentive and very courteous. Everyone at the resort speaks fluent English.
The thermal spa is to die for. The water is very clean and warm. You can stay in there all day. They even have a separate section for adults only. We did a one hour massage treatment which is done outside in a private section which was very relaxing.
This was a girls trip and my girl friend and I had a great stay there. I would highly highly recommend this resort it is absolutely amazing.
They have a shuttle that takes about 5 minutes to the hot springs.

Room Tip: The suites are located in the main building the rest of the rooms are spread around the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rashuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.0 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 67 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 2,081 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,907 reviews
2.9 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,860 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort

Property: Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort
Address: 13 Km Northwest la Fortuna de San Carlos | Arenal, Alajuela, Costa Rica, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing