We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Rainforest Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Rainforest Suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We were upgraded to the Rainforest Suite which was very good as it was in the main building. It was beautiful. Very peaceful and we could open the sliding doors of the windiows and hear all the sounds of the different birds. The service was first class. Though it is a big place we did not seem lost. The main restaurant is far above fine dining. The food, service and ambiance is so relaxing and delicious. The waiters cannot do enough for you. Very attentive and very courteous. Everyone at the resort speaks fluent English.
The thermal spa is to die for. The water is very clean and warm. You can stay in there all day. They even have a separate section for adults only. We did a one hour massage treatment which is done outside in a private section which was very relaxing.
This was a girls trip and my girl friend and I had a great stay there. I would highly highly recommend this resort it is absolutely amazing.
They have a shuttle that takes about 5 minutes to the hot springs.

Room Tip: The suites are located in the main building the rest of the rooms are spread around the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashuben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,117
    753
    260
    101
    65
See reviews for
775
1,619
57
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a fantastic place but we made the mistake of planning our CR vacation during spring break week of 2013....so....families, children (many ill-behaved sorry to say), packed. I have discovered that it does not matter what country the family comes from -- the parents seem to think it is okay to bring the children into the NICE restaurant and then let them run wild. We were shocked at the behavior in the good restaurant at Tabacon. The adults put the children at one table and they sat at another. The kids then clanged their silverware on the glasses, yelled, ran around. We asked to be moved away from that, and were, and the Maitre d' even apologized for spring break week!!! Needed to get that off my chest!! Beautiful property, delicious dinners, but please, Tabacon, put some wattage into your lightbulbs -- truly, you will not be able to read in your room! And can barely see your face in the bathroom, oh well, you don't need makeup in CR anyway.... Check this place out, but be careful of when you plan your visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Pmow

We really appreciate all your feedback in regards to your visit, we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenient you experienced in our restaurant, our fine dining restaurant is a special place to enjoy a magical dinner in an open air area overlooking the gardens and the rainforest. It will be really useful for us if you contact us at customerservice@tabacon.com and provide your room number so our maintenance department will revise the situation with the wattage since your comments are very important for us. We are glad you spend a relaxing time at Tabacon and we look forward to your next visit!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed in the Rainforest Suite. It was beautiful- very peaceful. It is away from the main part of the hotel and within the rainforest. We were able to leave the sliding glass door open with complete privacy to listen to the animals. I loved it. The food at Tuscanes (main restaurant on the property) was delicious. Great buffet, great typical breakfast, and an even better dinner. I had the Mahi Mahi with Jalepano sauce and organic green beans with mexican chorizo and cheese. Delicious. I am certain I will dream of this dish for years to come. The food at the Tabacon spa poolside bar was HORRIBLE. I did not try the reservation only restuarant at the thermal spa, so I unfortunately cannot comment on it. The thermal spa was very lovely and a must do. 5 star hotel with nothing but class. They provide a taxi service to go downtown and back for $15 each way. This was nice as we did not rent a car as all our tours provided transportation. We ate at La Nenes one night as they are known for their ceviche. It was pretty good. I also order their fish dish with seafood sauce. It too was pretty good. If I could do it again, I would have eatten at Tabacon's Tuscanes restaurant each night.

Room Tip: Rainforest suite is the way to go. Very private. Great for watching nature.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mindydumpling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mindydumpling,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, we really appreciate it. We are glad to know you enjoyed your Rainforest Suite that in fact is a beautiful room with impressive forest views. Combining the peaceful suite and the natural thermal mineral springs provides total relaxation. Los Tucanes Restaurant is our fine dining option located at the hotel facilities, we are happy to know you loved the Mahi-Mahi and that you customized your dish adding jalapeño sauce and organic beans. In regards to the food at the pool bar we understand that we did not met your expectations and we already informed it to the food and beverage director, I will appreciate if you contact me directly at customerservice@tabacon.com to share your recommendations to improve the food at this specific bar. We would love to receive you at our resort soon!

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a really sweet, popular hotel...They greet you with a cool towel and a delicious caribe fruit drink....Beware...You really cannot check in before 4pm...We had to sit and wait about an hour before the room was ready..Seems to be this way for all to want to stay here...Staff is very helpful and speak good engish..Of course the main reason in staying here were the thermal springs...That's another story...The food was really nice and well prepared....I would return, but not in high season...It's a very crowded place..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a weeks stay here. It was great! not much wild life or resturant options unless you wanted to drive into town. the hotel was clean and very nive the staff was amazing and the food was perfect but it was very expensive. The hot dpring were a little crowded but we went during easter week so thats to be expected.
Ronald was our waiter at the hortels resturant and was beyond helpful! he truly made each visit perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
118 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We (2 adults and one 5 year old) stayed at the Tabacon for 3 nights during Spring Break.

This hotel is great. The front desk staff is friendly and the bell desk is efficient and professional at taking care of the bags/car/little things one may need. The nice service was seen throughout the property, even when the restaurant was overwhelmed during a morning breakfast.

The hotel room is huge, the veranda door opens out to a common green area. Bathroom was large with plenty of nice towels and toiletries. The other great perk is that wifi is complementary. Bed is super comfortable.

The restaurant is nice, and if you don't have a car, you'll have to eat here. Quality of the food is fine, service is fine, and the prices are what you would expect to find in a luxury resort without any nearby competition. The morning buffets were fine (fruit, omelette station, pancakes) and the juices were tasty.

The pool is awesome. It is super warm and the kids loved playing in the waterfall. The other huge perk is the complementary admission to the Hot Springs (8 minute walk or 2 minute drive) down the road. The admission is included in the room rate and at $60/person per day, it turns out to be a nice cost savings.

We didnt do any activities through the concierge and drove around a bit on our own, but the location of the hotel is great and its about 5 minutes from the town of La Fortuna and 5 minutes from the entrance of Arenal NP.

This is truly a great hotel. Everyone enjoyed it and we actually felt that, given the inclusions, the price was right.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Tabacon was a wonderful place to start off our vacation in Costa Rica. The staff was friendly and took good care, the food was delicious (LOVED the breakfasts!) and the hot springs were amazing! The only issue I had with our stay was how expensive the "taxis" are to get anywhere. To go into town was $15 each way. I'm not sure if that's just what it is or if the Tabacon sets that. Regardless, we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4acadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,179 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 65 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,303 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing