We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,087)
Filter reviews
4,087 results
Traveler rating
2,739
870
301
107
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,739
870
301
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews los tucanes hot springs shangri la gardens hotel guests orchid room honeymoon suite costa rica rainforest suite open to the public day pass private area swim up bar buffet dinner couples massage arenal volcano star resort heaven on earth
Filter
Updating list...
2,233 - 2,238 of 4,087 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I booked Tabacon b/c Fodors gave it high remarks, and because of the hot springs, of course. I read the Trip Advisor reviews and became skeptical b/c of all the negative reviews. Boyfriend and I absolutely loved our stay. They let us check in early, greeted us with a welcome drink, lots of smiles, etc. Basically opposite from what everyone else is complaining about. Shuttle was prompt, hot springs were incredible. We didn't want to leave. I loved the room too, we had a great view and I would describe the room as "luxuriously rustic". We had dinner at Tucanes the last night and it was probably the best food we had the whole trip, albeit $$$. If you stay here, please book a massage at the spa, you will be happy you did! Best massage I've ever had. We rented a car so can't comment on the excursions offered. "extra fees on the bill" folks are complaining about... there's a $3/day charge they add that goes towards local schools. They remove it if you request, but really, I think we can all spare $3 a day to improve their school systems.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Sarah B

Your comments are very much appreciated. Our service is aimed to always be the best, guaranteeing the highest quality to all customers, who are our reason to be. We are glad you decided to stay with us during your visit to Costa Rica. Our natural thermal springs, the open air spa surrounded by the rainforest, our culinary options and customized service are part of Tabacon experience.
As you already mentioned, guests staying at Tabacon are asked to donate voluntarily US $3 per room per night, that voluntary donation supports Tabacon's Community Fund. The fund has paid for products donated to local schools as uniforms, shoes, books, notebooks, computers and its accessories, air conditioning, paint and bicycles for children`s transportation to school. We also have supported people with special needs for example wheel chair, prosthesis, clothes, food and support to organizations and events of social development; we really appreciate your support.

We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We started off our honeymoon here, and what a start it was! The grounds are gorgeous, staff so helpful, food great, spa services amazing, and we had howler monkeys hanging out right outside our suite.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8675309DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear 8675309DC

We appreciate your comments! We loved the fact that you enjoyed our facilities during your honeymoon, our staff is always working to offer high quality service in order to provide memorable experiences to our valuable guests, it is really nice to know you experienced the spa, our restaurants and also that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beauty of nature.
We wish you a wonderful life together and hope you can visit Tabacon in the near future maybe to celebrate your first anniversary!

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Only went for the hot springs (stayed in a cheaper hotel down the road) and it was well worth it! Simply gorgeous property! We especially loved the adult only area with a nice hip outdoor seating area and funky music. Even the main pool is heated! Lots of different temps, and the only hot springs that is all natural in the area. Next time we will splurge and stay at the hotel!

Room tip: Go after 6pm to the hot springs for the evening discount...it's only $45 as opposed to the daytime rate of $60 pp. It's worth it!
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyRTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Jennifer T,
We appreciate your review. Tabacon main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guests and we are glad to know we met your expectations, the hot springs and the rainforest make our resort a unique place to relax. In the resort as you experienced there are more than 20 different pools, ponds and cascades all of them with different temperatures and a high mineral content. We do have several options, our hotel guest have in their room rate the access to the hot springs included but we also offer Day Passes where our guest can add one or two meals. We also have the Day Spa Package Deals, so you can add an spa treatment in an open air bungalow during your visit to complement the thermal experience of an unforgettable vacation. We really look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

With kindest regards
Maricela Durán Customer Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Tabacon for 2 nights last week during a 9 day trip to Costa Rica. We are normally a budget conscious pair, so Tabacon was our 'splurge' for this trip. Overally, it was a very nice resort - I will say that the grounds of the hot springs, and wandering through the maze of little pools and streams, were amazing, and incredibly relaxing. The pool bar (plus waterslide) was fun...but we couldn't help but feeling like we were bothering the staff every time we ordered a drink (this feeling would be justified later w/ by the incredibly outgoing staff at Flamingo Beach Resort).

When we made the reservation, we noted that we were celebrating an anniversary - and were surprised to find a 'welcome dessert' in our room upon check in. Also - I want to acknowledge one of the porters, who zipped us around on a golf cart, determined to show us monkeys before taking us to our room!

The room was nice but nothing special. The food was fine, but overpriced. We did thoroughly enjoy the Mexican Buffet during our first night at the restaurant down by the hot springs (we never ate at the other hotel restaurant).

The main attraction here is access to the hot springs. At $45/person, this basically covered half the cost of our room. If you truly plan to take advantage and spend time relaxing in the springs (as we did both evenings from about 5pm to close), than this hotel is definitely worth your time and money. If not, I'm sure you can find better value elsewhere.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear BretJ
Congratulations on your anniversary and thank you for choosing us in this special celebration. Tabacón has key moments in which your experience becomes more enjoyable from a warm welcome, the direct contact with nature, relaxation in our natural hot springs and so on. It is important to mention that all our hotel guests have unlimited access to the hot springs so this is an added value, we also offer the day pass options for guest that are not able to stay overnight. Actually we also have special deals available where spa coupons and some meals are included. Since we take very seriously your comments we already inform your complain about the bartenders to our food and beverage director and we will follow up this issue internally, to provide the staff any support required to improve our service at the pool bar for your next visit!

Warm Regards
Maricela Durán
Customer Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

There are at least 30 pools carved out of the woods filled with naturally hot water. The pools are fairly secluded. When you are there you just lie in the hot springs or lounge on chairs next to the pool...that's it. At first I was dubious ("hon, what are we going to do for 3 hours?" I think I said). But the time flew by. The pools are very romantic, ideal for couples.

The service was below average for Costa Rica. The people we encountered had blunted affects, like they were just punching a clock and going to work. Because the place is so beautiful their attitudes really stuck out.

Food: we had lunch and dinner included in our trip. The food is delicious, but it is served buffet style. Don't bother getting too dressed up. We brought a nice change of clothes for dinner, but it was not necessary. In fact, we were seeated close to the pool. Every 5-10 minutes we heard loud screams from inebriated adults riding the pool slide (which was about 30 feet away).

Kids: we wouldn't bring our kids here. They have an area where they can play, but it is equivalent to any resort pool.

BOTTOM LINE: we'd return for the hot springs, but with a expectation of mediocre service.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Central_Jersey_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Central_Jersey_NJ,
Thank you for taking the time and share your feedback, we really appreciate it.
Our aim is to always be the best, guaranteeing the highest quality of service to all our guests, we totally agree with you about the importance of customer service and staff attitude. We already informed your comments to our managers since a training program is taking place right now, and your feedback will be very usefull. We are glad to know you enjoyed your visit. As you mentioned our guest are able to explore more than 20 different cascades, pools and waterfalls all of them of natural thermal water with a high mineral content immerse in a natural location, providing a romantic and relaxing moment. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and hope you will come back soon.
Warm regards Maricela Durán Customer Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews