We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,018)
Filter reviews
4,018 results
Traveler rating
2,692
855
294
107
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,692
855
294
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews los tucanes hot springs shangri la gardens hotel guests orchid room unlimited access rainforest suite honeymoon suite costa rica open to the public day pass private area swim up bar buffet dinner couples massage arenal volcano star resort
Filter
Updating list...
2,187 - 2,192 of 4,018 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013

In November I spent with my wife a great vacation at this fantastic resport hotel.
Great thermal pools, good food ( although we missed this time the Duck with risotto prepared by previous chef) and great accomodations,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank viajero961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Viajero961,
We are thankful for your comments. We are glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your vacation in Costa Rica, we appreciate your preference and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Maricela Durán
Customer Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Tabacon for 3 nights at a Honeymoon Suite and there's not enough words to describe the magic of this place. Our visit here was so unforgettable. Our room has a stunning views of the Arenal Volcano and lush rain-forest. It was luxurious, incredible, relaxing and we didn't have to leave our room to see wildlife- we saw exotic birds and anteaters from our balcony .

We truly enjoyed everything Tabacon has to offer from the buffet breakfast, to unlimited access to the natural thermal mineral springs, to room service and the restaurant. The Shangri-La Gardens is a must to visit. This is a very unique place. Located at a secluded area in the upper area of the mineral springs complex with beautiful plants, delicate flowers, towering trees. You can enjoy cocktails and snacks here. Try the Guacamole it was tasty.

Off-property, we hired a guide to hike Arenal Volcano National Park we saw Toucans, lizards, more anteaters, bats, spiders etc. This place is so rich in nature. A paradise!!

I will definitely comeback for relaxation and rejuvenation.... Pura Vida!

Room Tip: Tabacon Suite or Honeymoon Suite.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhezy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Rhezy D,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. At Tabacón we strive to always provide unforgettable service, that's why is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed a memorable experience during your stay with us, we are blessed with a marvelous natural setting and our facilities are in harmony with the rainforest offering the opportunity to our visitors to have direct contact with nature and explore the richness of Costa Rica's flora and fauna. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your visit and we hope to receive you at the resort soon.
Best regards
Maricela Durán Customer Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Look no further than Tabacon when booking your stay in the Arenal area. It is truly an exquisite property from the rooms, to the service, to the on-site amenities. The lovely host at reception greeted us warmly at check-in, and saw that we received welcome beverages and hot towels to soothe or faces after a day of travel. From there we were whisked away to our room by the bell staff in a golf cart, giving us a chance to take in the gorgeous grounds. My breath stopped when the doors to our sure opened -- lofty ceilings, beautiful bed and sitting area, well-designed tasteful design/accessories, jacuzzi tub (with TV in the bathroom!), computer and DVD player in the room, and so much more. But the best part was the views, the way the resort is built into the natural surroundings with beautiful foliage right outside the floor-to-ceiling windows.

Access to the hot springs is included in the stay, and we loved the experience of visiting at night (the springs are open until 10 pm). We started off up the hill in the hotter pools, then ended up in the lowest, coolest pool with the swim-up bar.

We did not dine in the a la carte restaurant, but found the dinner buffet to be delicious with a wide range of choices.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa11201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Melissa11201
Thank you for sharing your thoughts, we firmly believe that every single detail is part of Tabacon experience. Check in process, your suite, our food and beverage options and the hot springs are key moments in which your experience becomes more enjoyable. Our natural environment helps turn vacations into moments of perfect relaxation, we hope to see you soon!
Warm Regards
Maricela Durán
Customer Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Classy 5*, the hot springs which are included in the room price are almost worth a trip to Costa Rica in themselves, buffet restaurant is maybe only 4* but still very nice. Breakfast was excellent (we had by far the best "typical Costa Rican" breakfast there). Everything is "embedded" in a neat rain forest environment.

(we gave 5 for the amazing hot springs, but we can't really compare with other 5* hotels)

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Christoph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Christoph,
Thank you for your time writting this review, Costa Rica is a country full of surprises we are glad you get to see Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort as part of your Costa Rica Trip. Our natural thermal springs coming from Arenal Volcano offers a relaxing experience to our valued guest and we are glad you enjoy it. In regards to cuisine we do offer 2 restaurants at the resort facilities, Ave del Paraiso Restaurant that is our casual and Los Tucanes Restaurant our fine dining option. During the breakfast we provide International cuisine but also a selection of dishes that always offer you a piece of Costa Rican culture. I will be more than glad to receive any additional feedback from your visit so I invite you to contact us directly at customerservice@tabacon.com.
Cordially
Maricela Durán
Customer Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were a bit nervous about our stay at the Tabacon because of the ranking on TA. So, we decided to only stay one night to take advantage of the hot springs and then moved to the Nayara. We were very surprised by how much we enjoyed the Tabacon. Our room (418) was spacious and comfortable. The springs themself exceeded expectations and it was nice to take the two minute shuttle there at night when a lot of other people were back at their hotels. We had heard bad things about the food, but thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Los Tucanes restaurant. If you want to go the the hot springs its a no brainer to stay based on the entrance fee for the springs vs the hotel cost. We very much enjoyed the Nayara but would have been fine if we stayed here the whole time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rogi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Rogi8
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you have decided to stay with us and lived Tabacon experience, having the opportunity to relax in natural thermal mineral springs and them get some rest in a comfortable room is the perfect mix for total relaxation. We do offer various dining options and Los Tucanes Restaurant is our fine dining option located at the hotel facilities. Our open-air facilities are surrounded by manicured gardens and primary forest so nature is always present during your vacation. We would love to receive you at our resort soon!
Warm regards
Maricela Durán
Customer Service Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews