We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is an amazing property! I can't say enough good things about this site. The rooms were beautiful and clean, the staff was extremely attentive. The food on the grounds was good. Everything at the hotel was expensive however, this is a tourist area. I would highly recommend this property, especially for a honeymoon destination. I would not recommend this for children though.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel12US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Travel12US We very much appreciate your review. Tabacon main philosophy is to offer a memorable experience to all our guest and we are glad to know we met your expectations, the hot springs and the rainforest make our resort a great place for honeymooners as you mention and we love to share with the couples this important ocassion. We also have special packages for families as well some children love the hot springs. We really look forward to receive you as our guest again in the near future.
With kindest regards
Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,211
    772
    269
    101
    65
See reviews for
807
1,672
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plantation
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our stay here made our Costa Rica trip a trip to remember. We were upgraded to the Tabacon Suite for our 8 night stay and LOVED it. Our last night we were then upgraded to the Master Suite which made our stay even more memorable. This place aims to please and serve. The customer service is genuine, warm and very attentive. The resort itself is luxurious and breathtaking. The hot springs are surreal and so clean and beautiful. The spa experience is worth the trip alone. Unique bungalows in the rainforest, equipped with a jacuzzi tub make the experience romantic and so relaxing. The food is fantastic, a little pricey, but well worth it. We'll be back here for sure.

Room Tip: I was able to see all the rooms they had to offer and I think my favorite one (other than the Master...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Ashley F
On behalf of Tabacon team we would like to thank you for taking the time and share with us your valued review. We are really glad to learn that the visit to Tabacon was a success, we are looking forward to welcome you soon in our Resort in the near future. In the meantime, please let us know if there is anything you would love that we provide to make Tabacon experience even better, feel free to contact us directly at guestservice@tabacon.com if you would like to share with us any additional feedback.
With Kindest Regards
Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

At $400 a night, maybe my expectations were too high. But I don't think so. It is true that the night manager did switch us to a brilliantly large suite after I complained about the quality of privacy in the standard rooms (there is no sound proofing protection). The extra space helped as we are a family of four, however, we encountered the same privacy challenge in the newer, larger suite. So, no matter what you pay, you will probably include the conversations of your neighbors in your holidays,

A couple other disappointments were that the hot springs are actually completely man made (hot water is pumped in to flowing cold water streams) and that there were no activities at all for children. No trails to walk on their 700-acre property. No game room. Just bars in/out of artificially heated water water and overly expensive restaurants where the service is hit or miss (I actually had to request a manager to not include the service charge on one occasion after the waiter failed to refill our waters or even acknowledge our calls).

In summary, shop around for other hot springs close by to see if you can get a better deal. You might have to deal with the same challenges that we did at Tabacon, but at least you will pay less for them.

Room Tip: State that you require a sound proofed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Ajtraicoff Family Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and tell us why our service failed to meet your expectations. We have addressed your concerns to management immediately. I understand your frustration in regards to sound proofing protection, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused to you. We would really appreciate if you contact us back to guestservice@tabacon.com, and let us know your room number, in order to address the sound proof problem and also follow up your personal concern. On the other hand, after reading you comment I feel you were not able to visit all our property, as the area you are mentioning, seems to be the kids pool area, where cold water from a second river is added to the hot springs river, into man made pools seeking to lower temperature, as most kids enjoy. The 100% natural hot springs river, is located on the upper side of the property, following paths into the rain forest where natural pools and cascades from Tabacon River are surrounded by majestic gardens. In other words, we do not heat water artificially, there are two different rivers that are born in our property and we mix the water of these two rivers in order to get the different temperatures of the pools. Tabacon hot springs are really unique and natural, due to the magical and relaxing ambiance colored up with the tropical rainforest, indeed people can decide either to swim in the pools or at the natural river, which unfortunately I think you missed, but we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future; so that we can restore your confidence in Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort. Cordially, Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at the Tabacon for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel is beautiful and the Spa and thermal pools are out of this world. The hotel is very well equipped, nice, clean and modern rooms. The staff were great. The only negative was that some ignorant guest was smoking on the site and the smoke was coming into our room. Smoking is prohibited in all public places in Costa Rica, and even on the grounds of the Tabacon hotel. The hotel staff tried to find where it was coming from but it was hard. I don't blame the hotel for this. The pool is really nice and the restaurant by the pool is great but expensive. The spa is about a 5 min walk from the hotel and use of the thermal pools included in the hotel price, this is a big plus because the pools are not cheap. We spent hours at the pools on all three of our days there and it was so relaxing! We booked the skytrek zip line through the hotel, it costs an extra 10 dollars but you get a private tour for the hotel guests and in our case this meant no waiting to hit the zipline!
I will return here in a heartbeat! Its worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoaGoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear MoaGoGo Thank you so much for your appraisal, it is very rewarding to be informed about the pleasant experience you enjoyed during your stay with us. Please be advise that according to the Law 9028 Smoke Free Environment of Costa Rica effective March 2012; smoking in all public places be it indoors or outdoors is strictly prohibited, Tabacon has an specific non-smoking policy at the hotel, resort and spa facilities and we inform all our guest about it, we apologize for the inconvenient. Tabacon is meant to be an experience to be cherished and remembered, that is why we focus our efforts to exceed all customers expectations. As you mentioned all our hotel guest have free access to our natural hot springs resort from 9 am to 10 pm so you can experience the relaxing hot springs all day long. Additionally, for adventurous people La Fortuna de San Carlos is a beautiful town with lots of attractions, our concierge is always at your service to arrange outdoors tours offering private transportation and prefer service during the tours. We look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future. Cordially Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Beautiful, romantic, luxury and relaxing place! I never ever want to go back to a hotel but this is somewhere I will go back for sure to use the springs. I would suggest going to the hotel for at least 2 nights!

We visited another Hot Springs hotel Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa but it is nothing like Tabacon. Tabacon is with worth the money that we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mila Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Mila,
Your comments are very much appreciated. Furthermore, our service is aimed to always be the best, guaranteeing the highest quality of service to all customers, who are our reason to be and to always enhance their experience. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.
Warm regards Maricela Durán Customer Service Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Spa and location central to Arenal fun activities is fantastic. Truthfully the spa experience and setting here is world class. Get ready however for a kick to the kidneys when it comes to pricing of food and activities to be had or booked through the hotel. There are good restaurants in the local town of La Fortuna, and plenty of activities in the area you can do on your own. Be selective about what you allow them to book you into a tour for. Hanging Bridges, Waterfall Hike and others can be done with a map. Enjoy the waterslide into thermal springs while you are at the Spa and do not miss zip lining in this area.. WOW.. Fantastic half mile line 800 feet above the ground cruising at 50mph.. Not as scarry as it sounds, do it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The property is exquisite, the service is great (you are greeted with drinks!), the thermal pools are the best... there are over 10 pools, all offering different things (hotter/cooler temperatures, some with slide, etc...). Staff is very professional, food is also good but quite expensive. I suggest leaving the resort for food, and you get a taste of the local environment. Wish breakfast was included...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronitspiwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,245 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,263 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,852 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,395 reviews
3.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing