We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tabacon = hot springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fairfield, CT
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Tabacon = hot springs”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

If you really like hot springs then Tabacon is your place. Higher price includes free admission to hot springs which makes it a real bargain if you visit them once a day.

We stayed on a second floor in room 432 with garden view. Well, it's not your normal garden view. Lots of flowering trees and pretty birds in the evening. Room is quite spacious. Facilities kind of dated but it's ok, some cracks in grout around bath tub and little things. Beds in combination with night hot springs ensured great sleep.

Restaurants: the hotel restaurant is a little better then the one at hot springs but both were ok for me, but not my wife. They were really expensive for the quality of food. Coming from US one would expect a little more from a dish for $24. Avoid cocktails - at shangri la we got charged $26 for double margaritas and they haven't had alcohol in them - just a ton of ice!!! Couple more beers and we ran up the bill to $90 - ripoff.

Had it not been for that barman at Shangri La our stay would be perfect.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alandtat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Alandtat thanks for writing your comments. All customers’ feedback is always followed up and taken into account. We look forward to your next visit at Tabacón Grand Spa Thermal Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,181
    766
    268
    101
    65
See reviews for
795
1,659
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We spent the last week of our Honeymoon at Tabacon. We arrive from Quepos, having previously booked the Honeymoon Suite, but was given another room, inadvertently. We contacted the front desk, and the Hotel Manager, Daniel Pape, arrived and escorted us to the correct suite.
Wow-was this room nice!. A separate room with his\her closets, a large bathroom with jacuzzi, huge, comfortable 4-poster bed, new mega-flatscreen TV, and a beautiful view of the forest, the colorful animals, with easy access via hotel shuttle to the hot springs.
To make up for the error in rooms, Herr Pape provided us with a bottle of champagne and desert treats nightly! The staff was helpful and courteous. The food at both the hotel and spa was pricey, but good. The service provided at the hotel rate American 4-Star, and the service provided for both breakfast and dinner was excellent-typically, the have an amuse-bouche or sorbet between dinner courses ...The site, in general, was clean and relaxing.
The spa was first class. We both shared a deep tissue massage (side-by-side) that was a wonderful outdoor experience, leaving us to crawl back to our room for a siesta.
Try to rent a car and see the area, the volcano, and the lake district with it's international influence-The Swiss restaurant & hotel up the road was a great reminder how

Room Tip: Try the 2nd floor in the 500 range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerDishwasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. FormerDishwasher thanks for letting Tabacón be part of your Honeymoon experience. We are very glad that you had enjoyed your room and all provided services. Hope to welcome you back soon, maybe on one of your next anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel property is a five star for Costa Rica and the staff Definitely do what they can to make everything just perfect. Tonight at dinner, my husband forgot his reading glasses and they brought over a case from which he could make his selection! The best thing is the complimentary access to the hot springs. We've been there every day of our four day stay, sometimes just for an hour, other times for three or four hours and it's great for the kids. Definitely recommend it over th other properties where other friends of ours stayed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Mrs. Ellen V thanks for advising us about your experience. We are glad you had enjoyed the hot springs very much, everyone, any age can enjoy our facilities. At Tabacón we always try to do as much as possible to make out of our guest’s visit a very memorable time. Look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a week in Costa Rica and while the Tabacon Hot Springs and Spa were incredible I can't say the same about the hotel experience. After being shown to our room I sat down on the bed (room #403) and it made very loud squeaking sounds. I roll around a lot when I sleep and I knew I would never get a good night sleep in a bed that loud so later that night I went to the front desk to see if they could look into it. We stayed there a total of 3 nights and not only did it never look like they ever checked it out, but no one even got back to us on the problem during our stay. For over $500/night with tax we were really expecting a better experience, but it really felt more like I was staying at a Super 8. On the last day of our stay there I noticed we were running low on the little shampoo bottle they provide and that they never supplied a new one so I actually turned it upside down so the cleaning staff would know to replace it, but they just left the empty bottle in the shower left upside down (good my wife packs our own shampoo also, just didn't think we would need to rely on it at a hotel of this supposed caliber). Luckily the last 4 nights of our stay were at Hotel Punta Islita and I can honestly say the service there was unparalleled. Thank god we ended the trip on a much better note.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Kevin M thanks for reporting this situation. We have follow up with your comments, so we can avoid this type of inconvenience to ever happen again. I really beg your pardon for the situation with the shampoo. This is not at all our standard - of course we do provide as much amenities as needed by our clients. Our Executive Housekeeper already spoke to all room maids to be very sure that all the time an amenity is going to be empty a new one is provided without that our clients have to request it – like it is our normal procedure. We really do apologize for this and hope next time you come we would be able to surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights at this hotel last February. Initially we were reluctant to stay here as we thought it would be very busy with day guests at the hot springs however the spa is completely removed from the hotel. The hotel provides a shuttle service for guests to the hot springs.
We had a "superior" garden view room which was well appointed but had no patio or access to the exterior other than the typical motel type entrance. The pool was adequate but had no bar service. Lounge chairs and towels were provided at the pool. The hot tub was in need of an update. The open air restaurant was excellent. We enjoyed two amazing buffet breakfasts with an endless array of food, a lovely lunch and two wonderful dinners. The service was impeccable and very attentive. We went to the hot springs twice and enjoyed it best in the evening. Staff at the front desk were efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MegCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2012
Dear MegCanada thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Currently there is food and beverage service at both, our hotel pool and the main pool by the resort, as well as the Shangri Lá Gardens. We appreciate the recognition of our staff’s qualified service and are very glad to be advised about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you are looking for an exotic, memorable and once in a lifetime vacation - look no further than Tabacon. The staff are more than friendly - they understand why you are there - to relax and enjoy. The rooms are lovely - spring for a volcano or forest view suite - AMAZINGLY roomy and well appointed. The resort is so green friendly it seems to grow trees literally in the lobby and rooms - making it difficult at times to recall where the room ends and the rainforest begins. As for the hot springs - breathtakingly beautiful! I will NEVER forget lying on a comfy outdoor bed at Shangri La (adults only section of the hot spring - another must do) looking at the volcano lit up by the moonlight as steam rose from the hot springs around us. As for the spa? A DEFINITE must do! The massages were good but the experience of being massaged as the river runs around your spa bungalow? Breathtaking! So relaxing, so amazing and yes - absolutely worth it. Only downside? The food. It is average at best. The drinks however? Excellent! Don't miss the passion fruit margarita or the Amaretto colada served AT the swim up bar IN the thermal pools. Don't hesitate - just go! Another tip? Definitely zip line! Won't every forget soaring above Costa Rica looking over lake Arenal. The spa, resort and even the zip lining are child friendly. Pura Vida LIVES at Tabacon!

Room Tip: Spring for a forest view or volcano view suite - the rooms are incredible and all feature mosquito s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TTDiveDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
First at all, thanks a lot for taking the time to write us your valuable feedback. Thank you for the nice words about our staff, I will let them know and it will be a great motivation for them. The new Shangri La area is definitely a place to relax and just enjoy the surrounding nature. It is good to know that you had a good experience with us. We are looking forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I never even knew these places existed! We stayed for a couple of nights and enjoyed every moment of it. Wonderful staff, discreet and very helpful.

The hotel is great, spacious layout, airy and plenty of privacy. Our bed was generous and equipped with a luxurious mattress topper and excellent for a good night's sleep. The hotel pool is fed from the same spring as the spa. It's nice for a quick plunge but you do really want to be spending your time at the spa which is a slightly different experience.

The half-open Tucan restaurant is generously laid out with the tables apart, excellent service and tasty menu. Watch out for the steep prices! There are plenty of decent places in La Fortuna for breakfast and dinner and really a very affordable alternative to eating at the hotel.

The Tabacon Spa itself is just down the road from the hotel. It's easy to walk there in five minutes or if you are feeling particularly lazy you can take the hotel's shuttle service. We took advantage of booking the spa together with the hotel as just the spa on its own is quiet expensive.

The spa is utterly fantastic. The natural pools are spaced out over a large area so you can always find a pool to yourself. There is a restaurant and bar near the entrance. They seemed to get quite busy. Instead, try and the find Shangri La! It's tucked away at the back up the hill. After a couple of hours in the hot water it is an ideal place for a little afternoon nap and also has a bar. The area is restricted to adults and was very quiet and tranquil when we visited.

We drove up by car from San Jose. It was initially a bit tricky to find. — Just head to La Fortuna and drive all the way through the village and out the other side, past the volcano and you will find it on the right hand side.

Tabacon is in the middle of the rain forest. It does frequently rain although often only for short bursts. The hotel has plenty of umbrellas. We were there in December. Seeing the luscious green, the lovely climate and the hot spring in December is simply mesmerising.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank briefescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpape, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2012
Dear Briefescape we have enjoyed reading your reviews. Tabacón definitely has the perfect tropical rain forest setting combined with great service and facilities moreover we are glad you had fully enjoyed your visit to Tabacón Grand Spa Thermal Resort. Hope you can visit us during your next visit to La Fortuna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,235 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing