We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is the bomb!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This place is the bomb!”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My son and I spent 4 nights here, lounging in the numerous natural hot springs, hiking and getting massages in the out door spa. The nature is exceptional flora, fauna, and an active volcano. We also enjoyed the raft ride down the river and saw howler momkeys and all types of rare birds and reptiles as well as some native children swimming in the river who came on the raft with us..

Room Tip: We got the cheapest room and it was just fine and included free access to the hot springs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Dear Mr. Bill G, thanks for sharing your assessments. Tabacon’s natural hot springs and the Grand Spa are a great complement to make out of our visitors experience one of a kind. Our grounds are surrounded by incomparable tropical rain forest and gorgeous views to the Arenal Volcano. All of our hotel guests get unlimited access to the hot springs during their stay with no additional charge, and the day you check out you can use the hot springs until late in the evening. We look forward to welcome you on your n ext trip to La Fortuna, greetings to your son!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,180
    766
    268
    101
    65
See reviews for
795
1,658
58
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (528)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at Tabacon for 2 nights (it was their minimum that time of year) and, though it was more than we had wanted to pay for a hotel, thought it would be worth it. It definitely was. The springs are beautiful and seemingly endless, surrounded by foliage and trees that make it feel very secluded. The springs were only a short walk (they had a shuttle too but we never used it) from the room, and it was nice to be able to come and go as we wished rather than be stuck in a time slot had we gone with a group. The room itself was very nice and pretty with a view of the volcano. A definite plus was the fast internet service and the fact that all water was filtered and drinkable - not that common elsewhere in Costa Rica. The staff was great and we were greeted with a drink and smiling faces - and even surprised with a delicious chocolate cake to celebrate the night of the anniversary. Although it is a bit pricey, I'd certainly say it was worth the money for us. The price per night was much lower than what we would spend on something similar in the US!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachLovr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear BeachLovr0, thanks for sharing your experience. Congratulations for your recent anniversary and lots more happiness to share in the life ahead of you. May the love you share continue to grow through a long and happy life together. We hope you can visit us on your next anniversaries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We spent 4 nights here in mid-August & had an amazing time. We had come from the JW Marriott Guanacaste so it was wonderful to experience such a different climate zone only four hours drive away. The hotel grounds fit perfectly into the natural, lush landscape and are full of so many different flowers, plants, trees, etc. There were so many flowers I had never seen before, even the kids were impressed with the variety of plant life. Our room was in a building a short distance from the main lobby yet felt very secluded nestled in the rain forest. There are always staff available to take you to your room if needed but there was a lighted path for walking also. Our first night we were kinda freaked out to walk back to the room cuz we didn't know what kind of "wildlife" might be hanging out along the path! Mosquitos were about all we encountered thankfully!
The room itself was very big with a king bed, sofabed, table w/2 chairs, separate desk w/lots of supplies (tape, scissors, post-its, etc.), flatscreen tv, nice-sized fridge, coffee-maker w/nice selection of yummy coffee. HUGE bathroom with lovely amenities. Tons of space for storage. We had a deck that ran the length of the room w/sliding doors from the bedroom area & bathroom. Outside were 2 chairs & a small table. It was a great place to sit & just enjoy the sounds of nature. By the way, the birds do not sleep in there nor do they let anyone else! Thankfully, after they get their morning wake-up calls out of their systems, it quiets back down just in time for the sun to come up.....
We really enjoyed the room but did have some complaints. First off, the sofabed was horrible. We ended up putting the mattress from it onto the floor & getting extra blankets from housekeeping. The kids were much happier & more comfortable down there than on the squeaky, miserable sofabed. Second disappointment was the shower. While its really huge space, the pressure is so weak that it totally ruins the fun of the it. Maybe it was just our room though but had to include it in the review.
We had breakfast & dinner at Los Tucanes restaurant in the hotel. Both were delicious and included extremely friendly & professional service. The same can be said for the yummy lunch we had at the hot springs restaurant, Ave de Paraiso. We rest of our meals we drove the 10 minutes into Fortuna.
Hot springs themselves make this the perfect place to stay & relax. While the hotel is really something amazing, the hot springs were unlike anything I'd ever seen. What a great way to relax & just let everything go! I would recommend this hotel to anyone - it is really an experience!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hopper25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Hopper Family, we really appreciate your reviews. Hot springs and nature surrounding us are quite the best ingredients for reaching pure relaxation, that is why we are always concerned about protecting nature, and helping our mother earth with environmental projects in which we can involve our staff and customers. This treasure has to be protected to be shared with all of our visitors, so they can listen to the best music which is played by the birds and the howler monkeys running from one branch to the other. Sincere apologies for the inconvenient with the sofa bed, and shower pressure; thanks for notifying us about this issue so we can work on improvements in order to provide the best to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

A little on the expensive side, but you are paying for quality. It seems that all the hotels in Arenal are a bit isolated, so if you want to go anywhere it would help tom have a car - or just resign yourself to relying on the tours offered. The springs are great, the buffet there is excellent, and the burgers at the bar are wonderful as well. There were some nice touches by the hotel staff, including a welcome fruit plate our first nifty and some truffles the second night. In all, we were pleased.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lcarlson2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Lcarlson2001, thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is very rewarding when our guest really appreciate and take into account all our daily efforts, I informed the pastry team about your message. To be in the middle of the rain forest guarantees an exclusive and unique experience. There is nothing more gratifying than being advised about our customers satisfaction. Hope you can visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had an excellent stay. Our "standard" room had a comfortable king bed, large flat screen TV, separate lounge/desk area, view of the volcano and a nicely appointed bathroom. It was immaculate.

The hot springs are heavenly. I mean that literally -- some guide book referred to the springs as a suitable set for the Garden of Eden. They are. Too hard to describe with words; suffice to say that it was the most tropically beautiful resort that I've seen or seen pictures of. Magnificent.

We didn't eat at the resort as we heard it wasn't nearly as good as the prices would suggest. Frankly, Costa Rica is not a country known for great food, so one shouldn't go there expecting particularly impressive culinary experiences. Don't get me wrong; the country is stunning and well-worth a visit, just not for the food. Anyhow, we ate in town for 1/4 to 1/2 the hotel prices and were pleased with our decision to do so.

99% of the staff were fantastic. The only reason I leave off 1% is that a few times staff didn't smile when assisting us. I fully acknowledge that this is a small, nit-picky thing, but I think that in an expensive luxury resort, service should always come with a smile. I don't want to feel like anyone is doing me a favor by helping me out -- we paid a lot of money for the service. This one thing hardly put a damper on our vacation, but for the few moments that we had these interactions, we were made to feel slightly uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank blumo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Mr.Blumo thank you for sharing your comments. This is absolutely heaven moved to the earth and I can tell we are very lucky to be part of Tabacón, but this paradise is not just ours this is to share with you our loved customers. The incredible natural setting makes a unique spot with no comparison and hard to describe, our topnotch hot springs really have the magic and the perfect setting to escape from reality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

My boyfriend and I started our 10 day trip to Costa Rica with a 3 day stay at Trabacon. This hotel is AMAZING! And for the value too! I think we paid around $250 or $300ish per night and it was nicer than other places we've stayed for double that price! We took FULL advantage of the included admission to the Hot Springs. If you stay here, be sure to visit the springs both at night and during the day. It's 2 completely different experiences - both very neat!
The Welcome Drinks we were broght at check in was a nice touch, the food was good (but expensive), and same with the drinks at the SWIM UP POOL BAR (good but expensive). The rooms don't have internet in them, but if you go to the lobby, they let you use of of the three computers there as a complimentary service. We liked this as we emailed home everyday (noting that we had NO cell service in CR). Also - if you ask for movies, they have these to borrow at the front desk too.
The only thing I didn't try and wish I did was the Spa - we just didn't have time but some of the outside spa rooms in the rainforest of the hot springs looked amazing.
Cons - I hesitate to say anything bad about this resort as we truely loved it, but I do think we should mention that it's not the best place to go if you don't have a car. Any excursions that you book will pick you up at the resort - if that's all you want to do, you're fine without a car (we did 4-wheeling - had them pick us up - and it was only about $2 additional to do this - so worth it!). But the resort itself is not near too many attractions that you can walk to. We did have a car here and I'm glad we did. Even the trip to the Pharmacy made it worth it, as bug spray in the gift shop was $15 (vs the $7 it was in town).
Overall, an A++ resort and definately the most relazing place we stayed at in CR!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beantown1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are a bit surprised about the comment that we do not have wifi, just to clarify we do have Wireless Internet in all rooms, in the Lobby and the Restaurants. We appreciate you have taken some time to share your feedback with us, we really enjoy reading your reviews. We are looking forward to your next visit to Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

This place was absolutely wonderful. To start, it is extremely luxurious, especially for the price. Will Smith had stayed there just a few weeks before us. Upon arrival, they gave us fruit cocktails and let us check in several hours early. Our room was enormous with a separate sitting area and a large bathroom. When we booked our room, the form had an area for special requests, and I had included top floor with a scenic view. Prior to arrival, I received several e-mails from the guest services rep confirming these requests. When we walked into our room, we saw that we had a direct view of the volcano, which was fantastic. It had the usual fancy hotel amenities - free slippers, robes for your use, full array of glassware, free coffee and tea, etc. The staff were extremely helpful. They called us one morning informing us of a flat tire. They provided us with a jack since the one in our rental car was useless, and they directed us to a reliable place in town to get the tire patched. The hotel is only a short distance from the hot springs, and most people just threw on their robes and walked down a short nature trail to get there. You can also take a free shuttle at any time. The hotel pool is nice, and there is a surprisingly well-equipped gym, which is rare for Costa Rica. The grounds are beautiful, and you will see plenty of flowers, and we also saw monkeys along the paths. Despite all the wildlife, we slept soundly with no noise problems. For people with families, there are several free activities - they have free bike rentals, and they also have a free tree-planting activity to help keep them carbon-neutral. They took us out one morning where we both planted a tree. They take your photo and e-mail you a certificate. Each year, they send you a new photo of the tree so you can see how it is growing. Since the price of admission to the hot springs is included, this is really a steal. We booked a canyoning tour through the concierge, which was very easy to do. In all, this place was perfect and provided great value.

Room Tip: When you book your room online, pay careful attention to the options you can check off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coachvu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmiguelmolina, Manager at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear coachvu, thank you very much for choosing Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, because of you reviews I can tell you really enjoyed the full Tabacon`s experience! We are very proud that since the beginning of the property operation Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort had incorporated Social and Environment Responsibility as a philosophy of business. Tabacón management and staff members are fully dedicated to the protection of the environment and sustainable tourism. We have designed and developed plans, programs and actions to improve the quality of all services preserving the natural Treasures and Resources that is why we offer the “Plant a Tree” which is a free activity for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.5 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
2.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
2.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa

Property: Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Address: 13 Km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#2 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Luxury Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#6 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#13 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star carbon neutral resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. A member of The Leading Hotels of the World, Tabacon provides luxurious accommodations, services and amenities in a picture-perfect natural setting. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerge from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds. Explore Shangri-La Gardens an hotel guests and adults-only hideaway, delight your senses with world- class cuisine inspired by local fares or surprise that special person with a gala dinner in the middle of the rainforest. Inside the gardens is the resort's Grand Spa, member of The Leading Spas of the World which combines a beautiful location with a singular spa experience, where treatments are rendered in open air bungalows all of them with private jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, BookIt.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Tabacon Grand Hotel Thermal
Tabacon Grand Resort Thermal
Tabacon Resort
Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing