We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A work in progress”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Las Cabanitas Resort
Reviewed January 9, 2007

This is one of four hotels we stayed in as part of our Caravan tour - and the only one I would not willingly return to. We were in one of the older cabins which was close to the highway (and gas station) and noisy from bus fumes and the restaurant. I think the newer units would give a better experience - but with all the construction going on - they would be noisy too. Grin and bear it is my advice.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoWolfpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 96 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2006

Stayed for four nights in april. The hotel is the worst i stayed in during my holiday in costa rica. Half the hotel is being developed and i had to put up with hammering, sawing and shouting work men starting at 6:30 am! I told the management i wasnt happy about this and no one seemed to care. The pool was also dirty and the pool side chairs rusty. It is also right by a busy main road and peterol station. I am not the sort of person who would write a hotel report but i felt quite strongly about my negative experience here. Could not recommend it. Avoid.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Kaituna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

We returned from a 10 day Caravan tour where we stayed 2 nights at Las Cabanitas. The trip was great, but this is the only place we would not return to stay. The cabins are quaint and comfortable. Few of the desk staff spoke Englsih, which was a problem at times. Internet service did not work at all while we were there. There really isn't a social gathering place, particularly if there are large groups as they have to serve meals in two sittings to accomodate everyone. The only "lounge" is a small stand up bar in the restaurant area - no where to sit or gather. This sounds picky, but the tablecloths were not changed from one group to the next and there were times when the group before us was rather messy and I'm sure we were also. (We are used to camping and are not picky people, but this was actually a little gross at times.) The resort did not want us to run a tab or pay with a credit card, so we had to pay with cash, which was not expected. The food was good (buffet) although the waitress we had during our stay was very rude to nearly everyone in our group and we were rushed. It is within walking distance of town, which was nice. They have an older pool which is in need of updating, but was a nice escape from the heat. They are constructing new cabins and several in our group were stuck in cabins at the end and the only view they had was of construction sites. Laundry service did a very nice job and was very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Oceanfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2006

These cabins are so charming, the staff here is very pleasent and its a short walk to town.

I would definatively recommend this place and would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank missvaliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2005

Las Cabinitas is a wonderful little find in the Fortuna area. We stayed for 2 nights, and were pleased with the comfort of our room. We went with another couple who actually had 3 beds in their cabin just for the 2 of them! There is air conditioning, a pool, spa and massage, gift shop and very good food. An definite plus was all the beautiful plants and shrubs on the grounds. They were major attractions for all types of humming birds and tanagers. The colors were extraordinary! The chef puts out fresh fruit for the birds as well, so it's an extra treat to watch them while dining. The staff spoke English very well, and took care of our every need. The hotel is also walking distance to town. The only drawback was the proximity of a gas station right accross the street. It was noisy at times with some trucks, but as I always travel with ear plugs, I had no problem.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
39  Thank CarolS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank travelotaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: excelente vista del Volcán desde el Jardín
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.9 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
#39 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
194 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#34 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
836 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
160 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanitas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanitas Resort

Address: North Zone, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $82 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cabanitas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Las Cabanitas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanitas Hotel
Las Cabanitas Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing