We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Simple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Cabanitas Resort
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Simple”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Background: I stayed here with my group of 15 high school students(along with 17 students from other schools, plus chaperons) traveling with EF Tours. I also always travel with the mentality: things are not going to be like they are back home. With this in mind:

The “resort” is a nicer option if you are on a stricter budget. The cabins were quaint, but spacious, with AC. Our cabin (#3, I think) was always clean and did have one rocking chair on the porch. We always had hot water. There were probably more bugs in our room here than other places we stayed in Costa Rica, but still not bad considering the climate and environment. We kept the windows as closed as possible (especially in the bathroom, which had glass panes and no screens), but still managed to have a lizard in our bathroom one afternoon. Normally I am really squeamish when it comes to these things, but I was able to get it out the window.

I did not use the pool (it looked clouded the day we were there), but the grounds were nice to walk around. There was wifi in the common eating area that worked well. The food was good, though as we were in a group, our food preparation may be different than usual. What others have said about noise is true—those chickens get up very early, so maybe bring some earplugs.

Room Tip: Higher numbered rooms might be better to take you away from outside/street noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiasmaFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    26
    18
    11
See reviews for
12
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham Il
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

If all you want from a hotel room is a great view, this is the place. Very nice view of the Volcano. However if you enjoy no hot water for a shower, comforters without disgusting stains, sheets you cannot literally read the paper thru, an in room coffee maker with no coffee or cups (requested, never received) and an A/C unit that left standing water on the vanity table this is n the place to stay.
When we arrived we were of course impressed with the view, and the fact that an employee of the hotel was standing by the whole time to assist. Of course after a short time he was long gone. A member of our group had to immediately be moved as their roof was leaking in 6 different places. It was the rainy season and they did not know that roof leaked when they placed them there? Later another member of the group complained they had the usual no hot water, but now no electricity.
Nice front porch to enjoy the view, but less than half the rooms have a chair on the porch and the few that do only have one.
I will give it 2 stars only because they had a decent pool and view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

CANADA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Not very well located in La Fortuna, a good hike or short cab ride from town.

There was a large variance in the rooms offered here, so I would suggest that you request to see the room prior to check in. Our room was great, however some rooms had far less amenities, such as windows, mini fridge and Tv.

I would stay in town next time I am in La Fortuna to better make use of my time there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here as part of our EF Tour and found charming spacious Cabins with wooden floors air conditioning, comfortable beds and plenty of hot water. The room was spotlessly clean and the staff pleasant. The food was nothing fancy bit was fresh and satisfying. The grounds are very pretty. With a great view of Arenal Volcano. It is a little noisy in the morning from the roosters in the farm next door, but we had to be up early anyway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triptek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This "resort" consisting of nice cabins surrounded by pretty landscaping was OK. The room was attractive and comfortable...once we obtained a remote to operate the A/C (yes, wierd). The wifi didn't reach the room and our patio didn't have a chair let alone two. A bit of a walk to town but we didn't mind the exercise and it is a nice time of year. A limited breakfast menu but still very tasty. Staff was friendly and helpful. And yes the pool was less than attractive with exposed wiring nearby on the deck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregonbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
99 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I stayed at Las Cabanitas during a tour with gAdventures. The "resort" consists of cabins and a small, slightly dirty pool. Nobody in my tour group took a dip in there. The cabins are nice and spacious with A/C and fans. There is Wifi in the reception area which was pretty far from my cabin. I didn't like the fact that it was about a 15 minute walk from town and I didn't feel comfortable walking by myself after dark. I also had a lot of bugs in the room, potentially even bed bugs on the throw of my bed. It was fine for the three nights we stayed there, but I wouldn't have chosen the place myself and i wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasteras, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it was gig enough for us. Cute cabins/bungalows with nice bathrooms. Nothing more than we expected for a three stars hotel. It raked about 15 min to walk to La Fortuna Centrum. Five min walk to the nearest supermarket and a gas station on the other side of the road. The hotel had a great and cheap laundry service and regular breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.4 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Fuego Arenal
Hotel Fuego Arenal
#45 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
Hotel Lavas Tacotal
#38 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Vista Lodge
Arenal Vista Lodge
#8 of 8 in El Castillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arenal Tropical Garden
Arenal Tropical Garden
#21 of 50 in Arenal Volcano National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanitas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanitas Resort

Property: Las Cabanitas Resort
Address: North Zone, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cabanitas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Las Cabanitas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanitas Hotel
Las Cabanitas Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing