We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabinitas Buenas!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Las Cabanitas Resort
Hayden, Idaho
Level Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cabinitas Buenas!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here in June 2012 with a high school EF Tour. My cabinita was clean, comfortable & had good a/c once it was figured out. Poor water pressure and no hot water for the shower. No screens on the windows, so use care at night. I found huge insects in the bathroom when turning on the light. Pool was in poor shape and on site public telephone did not work. Food was good. Staff was pretty patient with our high schoolers. Not much to do at night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerreG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    26
    18
    11
See reviews for
12
15
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My first moments at this resort were spent on the pavement as we unloaded luggage in the driving rain at night. There is very poor lighting (true all over Costa Rica) and there was a rise in the pavement that I couldn't see so I ended up sprawled out and bleeding from a huge scrape on the knee. Scars are almost gone, two weeks later. Also, be prepared for the fact that the cabins make no numerical sense. We were in 206 - which is not anywhere near 205, which is at the end of a row. 206 is next to 170-something. Confused? Yeah, we were too. Especially in the dark and pouring rain.
Basically what I expected - damp, average cabin. There was a mounted AC, but it did nothing to dry any damp clothing so be prepared for that. The bathroom was alright. TV would not turn on though even though it was plugged in - not sure what was up with that. Disappointing, since we ended up missing the opening ceremonies of the Olympics. Oh well. Food was good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Completely deceptive place. This place was supposed to have a pool, and AC for starters. In reality, the AC did not work, the pool was broken and there were bugs everywhere. For the price charged, this was completely unacceptable. From all accounts, this is standard business practice for the place. Don't ever stay here. If you find that your tour group plans to stay here, it would be wise to cancel your trip with them, since it doesn't speak too highly of them book you in a known "bad apple."

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bktx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels

Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2012

This hotel is very misleading in price! They claim to only cost $105 per night however, they decide what exchange rate they will use (which is much higher than the national and local rate.) Plus there is no spa services so it is misleading to be called a spa resort! The service was excellent during our stay but upon check out we tried to argue the price b/c we were charged more than were quoted. They claimed they would reimburse us.... That never happened!!!! Should have known something was up when our driver from the airport tried to argue the management when we were checking in about the exchange rate!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

Not sure why Lonely Planet chose this as an "our pick" for their most recent edition of the Costa Rica book. This place sucked! First, we were put in a cabin with faulty AC and tons of bugs...then we were grudgingly moved to a second cabin. The AC didn't work too great in the second place, either, but we discovered this too late and there was no chance of moving again. The location isn't super convenient to the town, the pool hadn't been cleaned in a while, the bar wasn't open when we were there. In sum, the whole place felt deserted and sketch. Way overpriced, as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katekristiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I would never choose to stay here. We were part of a large EF travel group. The rooms are about as basic as you can get, with the exception of air conditioning, which does not come standard in all Costa Rican hotels. There are no screens on the front windows, just shutters that do little to keep out mosquitoes or outside noise. In fact, I had a bird in my room the first night that entered through some hole in the ceiling! My cabin was near the pool and I could hear everything that was said, almost as if I were sitting out by the pool myself! There is no hot water and the tubs are gross looking. I had stains on my sheets (a pen mark and some other small spots). I expected that my second night there they would be changed, but in fact they had not changed the sheets: The same gross spots were there welcoming me! Food was average, and little meat was served with the dinners. Great view of Arenal, but I would not stay there for that reason only. Avoid.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grantwz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2008

We were booked into this hotel as part of a travel package. I thought it was fine, but nothing special. The hotel consists of lots of small (one room) cottages right off the main road in the not very interesting town of La Fortuna near Arenal. For some reason, there was hardly anyone else staying there, so the property felt somewhat abandoned.

The rooms were adequate, but the furniture and beddings were cheap. There was a pool, which was great for the kids, but it wasn't very clean, and the bar area around it was closed, so you couldn't get food or drinks.

You can see the volcano from the property, but there are many, many vantage points from which to view it, so that really should not be a determining factor in choosing this accommodation.

  • Liked — It was inexpensive
  • Disliked — the motel feel
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.4 mi away
Linda Vista Hotel
Linda Vista Hotel
#1 of 2 in El Castillo
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
Hotel Castillo del Arenal
#2 of 2 in El Castillo
207 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Fuego Arenal
Hotel Fuego Arenal
#44 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
13 reviews
8.3 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Vista Lodge
Arenal Vista Lodge
#8 of 8 in El Castillo
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Cabanitas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Cabanitas Resort

Property: Las Cabanitas Resort
Address: North Zone, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Cabanitas Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Las Cabanitas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Cabanitas Hotel
Las Cabanitas Resort Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing