We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Observatory Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$230
$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$251
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
$201
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$183
$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,175)
Filter reviews
2,175 results
Traveler rating
1,238
699
177
43
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,238
699
177
43
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmithsonian roomfree morninghiking trailsobservation deckwhite hawksmall museumfree guided hikegreat trailsmorning hikehowler monkeyssuspension bridgecosta ricalava flowbumpy roadfrog pondstandard roomshared bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
962 - 967 of 2,175 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Arsenal is a must see in Costa Rica. This lodge sits at the base of the volcano. When the clouds part and the sun comes out the view is truely breathtaking. Definitely do the SkyTram and Zipline. It was an experience of a life time. I will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but bought a day pass ($8 for adults). It was a very nice property with several hikes of varying difficulty. It was a good sort of "intro" to hiking in Costa Rica since there were so many amenities on the property. We saw howler monkeys, some amazing birds, played in a crystal clear river, and saw a great waterfall. We also took a dip in the pool (which may or may not have really been included in our pass). Lunch in the restaurant was fine with a great view. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The view of Arenal Volcano was amazing and the closest view compared to any of the other hotels. It is a little bit of a drive off the main road to get to the hotel, but not too bad. There are quite a few hiking trails, and all trails are accessible from the hotel. Two trails we enjoyed were to a waterfall and another trail which is a little difficult hike to a crater lake (Cerro Chato). The hotel is nice and clean but has no air conditioning. Our room smelled musty when we first went in so we had to leave the doors open to air it out. It was also pretty humid and hot when we were there and the fan just didn't cut it at night. The food at the restaurant isn't anything amazing, but it wasn't too bad since we were only there for a night. The breakfast buffet had fruits, eggs, rice, beans, pancakes, and toast. The staff were friendly and helpful. While I wasn't crazy about the hotel or the restaurant I would recommend staying here at least one night just for the scenery surrounding the hotel and the hiking trails.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked this based on other Tripadvisor reviews only - and we could not be more pleased. It's the most gorgeous place - truly top notch rooms, staff, facilities, and more. Don't miss the fantastic nature tours! Our 3 hour tour included howler monkeys, a Tarzan-like swing, and a waterfall! The guide was fantastic - kept our 9 and 11 year olds engaged, while answering thousands of their questions.

We contacted the Lodge online and staff were responsive and helpful. Yes, it's quite a drive on a dirt road, but that adds to the adventure! Grounds and rooms were immaculate. If you're interested, reserve in advance - the Lodge is popular and for good reason!!! Without question, the most amazing place we've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have to rate this place as a 4 out of 5 because of the view of Arenal volcano. When weather conditions are good, the view of the volcano is fantastic.

Some things that might be important to many travelers; first of all, the drive to the hotel from the main highway is pretty long and rough. It does kind of put a damper on going back to Fortuna for meals, which you might want to do. This is because the restaurant isn't (in our opinion) really all that good. Food was only fair, service very slow and less than polite. Breakfast is OK, so we decided the way to go was to have breakfast at the lodge, then bite the bullet and drive that bumpy road back to fortuna for a late lunch or an early dinner.

The rooms are pretty good. We recommend requesting a room with volcano view patio.

One thing that many people don't seem to realize is that you can only see the Volcano part of the time, and it's definitely possible to stay for several days without seeing anything but fog. Just something to be kept in mind, certainly not the fault of the hotel. Actually, when we were last there, the volcano was quiet, no activity. But it's spectacular nevertheless.

We would suggest looking at other possibilities for lodging around the volcano, but if you're interested in the best view, this place may well have it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HRG903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews