We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$299
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$234
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$86
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$251
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$102
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
$201
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$183
$134
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$750
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (901)
Filter reviews
901 results
Traveler rating
350
293
138
67
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
350
293
138
67
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschalet roombutterfly gardenjunior suitecosta ricahorseback ridinginfinity poolwinding roadkids roomhowler monkeysjacamar toursan adventureamazing viewstour guideevery morningtour deskhiking trailshanging bridges
Filter
Updating list...
588 - 593 of 901 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2011

This hotel is perched on the side of a mountain. The views are amazing. We stayed in a Chalet for two nights, and was well worth the extra money. The drive to Arenal is beautiful, but very winedy. The drive up to the hotel, will have you wondering if you've made the right choice. But, from the moment you arrive, you will be amazed. The nature trail at the back of the property is a must, at least once. I do recommend going with the guide if you want to see monkeys. This was definately one of our favorite hotels on the trip. The only downside was the breakfast. It just didn't compare to the other places we stayed. It was a small buffet, but often times they were out of things and had a long wait for anything to be prepared. It didn't even seem busy, and they weren't very friendly about it. I will say that we ate dinner in the restaurant one night and it was one of the best meals of the trip.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RNSunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Arenal Lodge during our recent visit to Costa Rica. First of all the view is amazing. When you first get there you have to drive up a long curvy drive way. But its worth it when you get there. The hotel staff was fantastic. When we first arrived they put us in a room with 1 king bed when we asked for 2 queens. So they put us in a room that had 2 queen beds and a futon. It was great considering there was three of us staying there.

The only issues with the room was that the water kept dripping from the shower. It kept us awake at night. The beds were decently comfortable. It was definitely worth the price.

As far as the grounds go, there were other aspects of the hotel we enjoyed. There was a tour desk that set up water fall repelling for us. Also there was free internet. The restaurant also was very good. Breakfast had many different options. There is also an amazing pool which has the full view of the Volcano. My mom went on a hike in the morning with Miguel( I think that was his name) where they saw howler monkeys. She mentioned how knowledgeable about the grounds that animals in the area. Overall it was a great place to stay. It was comfortable without being to resorty. The one thing you should be aware of is there are animals. We had a Cuati jump on our porch and steal some of our things. We got them back, but be aware. If you decide to go to the Arenal Lodge, you will not regret it.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sprincurls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

We stayed here with some friends for two nights in the end of December of 2010.

Getting to the lodge was quite a journey up a narrow road with hairpin turns but once we made the trek to the top, the hotel staff greeted us all with 4 cool strawberry smoothie drinks upon check in.

We had been traveling over 24 hours to get here and let me tell you the little extra effort the hotel put in to greet us with these was very greatly appreciated.

Pros.

Stunning Views (Takes a bit to get up to the road but well worth it)
Free Horseback Riding and Hiking Tours around the property to see abudant wildlife.
Wonderfull Complimentary Breakfast
Staff was friendly and very helpfull.
Gorgeous Infinity Pool and Jacuzzis which overlook the Volcano

Cons

-Wifi was somewhat spotty in our chalet but not a big deal after all you are on vacation and should be away from your computer in the first place.
- A little far away from La Fortuna but not too far away.

All in all I would definetly recomend the Arenal Lodge to friends and would stay here again the next time I visit Arenal.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank equipe9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Loved our stay at this hotel. Pros: The friendliness of the staff (special shout-out to Jonathan, Marco and Miguel), the lake and volcano views and the beautiful grounds. We were in one of the chalet rooms for three nights and the view was breathtaking-- Arenal at sunrise is a sight to behold. We also took a horse-riding tour of the grounds and our guide Miguel was very informative.
As one of the reviews mentioned, the drive up to the hotel is a bit unnerving but you get used to it after the first couple of times. Once you get up there, it's totally worth it. All in all, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DipikaRang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Arenal Lodge. The staff was amazing and the Miguel, our guide on the nature hike was the best we had the entire week. The Junior Suites are spacious and offer an amazing volcano view. Their location was also convenient to the restaurant/bar area.
The complimentary morning breakfast was hot, fresh, and delicious.
Anyone who likes bird watching will be enthralled by the birds that join you for breakfast.
I haven't stayed at other hotels in the area but I can certainly recommend this one for all types of travelers.
The front desk, restaurant staff and housekeeping did an excellent job.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janojochal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews