We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arenal Lodge, a safe place to bond with nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Lodge
Montebello, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Arenal Lodge, a safe place to bond with nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This lodge's location is great, you're able to see the top of the volcan arenal without getting neck pain. The landscaping is well kept and their beautiful bird "Estefania" is free to fly around the area but manages to fly back to the reception area to greet visitors. The room we had a good size kitchen just big enough to prepare snack and your favorite drink. The staff are more then willing to help you with whatever you might need. This Lodge is a good 10-15 minutes drive up the mountain but it's worth it just to get the great views and for those concern about an active volcano, this puts you at a very safe distance and still enjoy the views.

Room Tip: If you want to be away from the rush, need a place to bond with nature and a nice lodge, this would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moradi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    231
    114
    58
    42
See reviews for
218
288
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Hotel is located away from la fortuna ( 20-30min) on a hill overlooking the Arenal. That is if you are lucky the there is no fog. The rooms were nice although the hotel is not well organized. We reserved a family room for 5 and got a family room with two beds ?! Luckily one of the beds was big enough for the kids to. Sleep together. Also 2 towels were supplied and at 22:00 when we arrived no one could get us more towels or extra bed. One the good side, breakfast was excellent and after talking in the morning to the reception we we got plenty of towels. All in all nice place but require car.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria F, Owner at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Ilan! Thank you for leaving a review. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. I apologize that we were unable to get you more towels that evening. I will see to it that the front desk staff has more towels on hand for such situations. Thanks again for your feedback, and do come back soon! I recommend Sept and Oct as the best bet to see the volcano without clouds or fog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at a JR suite with our 2 kids. We had a great time--the staff was very friendly and helpful, the restaurant was very reasonably priced. There is a macaw named Stefanie that stays at the lodge and is social.
The view of the volcano is amazing in the dry season but the volcano was never out of the clouds during the summer(the wet season). The drive up to the lode is very steep--you won't need a 4x4 but you will need to use first gear to scale the road. On the plus side we saw many animals along the side of the road since you are in jungle.
One note--if you have a car you can easily get to a number of activities that the tour desk offers and for far cheaper. We overpaid for a tour of the Arenal trail and the hanging bridges--whereas we could have just driven right up to both of these places for half the price.

Room Tip: The chalets are a little walk up the hills and they look very cute. But in the summer during the ra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria F, Owner at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi there Jasper, thanks for your review! We're thrilled you had a great time at the Lodge. As you pointed out one of the attributes that sets our Lodge apart from other area hotels is that we are located in the middle of pristine rainforest and the long driveway is a necessary component to this. Indeed, we recommend folks rent a car so they're able to better enjoy all that the region has to offer. I believe the tour desk asks whether you'd like to be picked up or drive yourself to most of the tours they sell, and that's where you can save some money by driving there yourself. Thanks again for your comments and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed at the JR suite, room 22, very rustic feel to the whole hotel. strong smell of wood, since the structure is built with wood. Toiletries were provided though we didn't use it, we've brought our own. Towels were clean and fresh. everything in the room was pretty old though. we didn't stay long at the hotel, mostly to eat breakfast/lunch and we'd head out and come back for dinner and then bed. The beds were pretty comfy, wouldn't say that it is luxurious, but it's good enough, the air-conditioning was good on humid days. It rained a lot and we had our own car, but to be honest, if you had no transportation of your own, it would be a challenge to get anywhere since there aren't many places nearby the lodge and the hotel rooms are 2miles away from the main gate (steep climb). The pool area and jacuzzi area gave a very nice view.

Room Tip: remember to close the windows and the doors at night to prevent the bugs from coming in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alayna91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria F, Owner at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Hi Alayna! Thanks for your review and for visiting us at Arenal Lodge. We're glad your stay was satisfactory and that the weather allowed you to enjoy the views from our pool and garden area. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the arenal lodge for 3 nights in August 2014
We reserved a chalet, for 5 people 2 adults and 3 kids,
The room was spacious, 2 double beds and one sofa bed, very comfortable. The wall facing the volcano is glass and you can see a clear view of the volcano. Beautiful!!!!!!! Also the hotel is located on a hill in the jungle, driving to and from the hotel is an experience itself.
The room includes a kitchen w fridge.
The staff was super nice and and the price is a bargain for what you are getting.
The hotel restaurant is wonderful. prices very reasonable considering Costa Rica isn't a cheap country to travel. Breakfast is good, fresh.
Generally, we loved it, will defiantly recommend to friends and come back again in future


Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elonabilet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Hills, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was great! The room was clean and large enough for a family of four and the room had a superb view (when the clouds lifted). Balcony was lovely when it wasn't raining. Don't miss the tour with Miguel, it was very wet but so lovely and informative. They have a rainforest preserve on property, they should advertise the trails more, we didn't know it was there until we took the guided tour. The trails were really much nicer than the trails at the Observatory Lodge. Jessie at the tour desk is a wealth of information, take her advice if you need any suggestions! Stephanie the macaw is gorgeous and visited us on our balcony before we left today. Can't wait to go back.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Costa Rica is a great place to visit, especially if you like "eco tourism." I recommend first time visitors consider staying at several places in order to get a good feel for this diverse country. The Arenal volcano area is definitely one of my favorite locations in the country.

Over the years, the area around the volcano and nearby La Fortuna have been significantly developed. Arenal Lodge, tucked away on a mountaintop away from the hustle-bustle, is a true gem among the many fine accommodations in the area. I've been there twice over the past 10 years, and continually look back with fondness of those times.

I have made it a point to investigate other hotels/resorts in the greater La Fortuna area while I have visited. And while you may find a few with more modern amenities, you will be hard pressed to find one that is more integrated with nature than Arenal Lodge.

I can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a chalet each time. Highly recommended if your budget permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
8.3 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,387 reviews
8.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,107 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Property: Arenal Lodge
Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing