We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better places for money”
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for one night after beeing in tortuguero and la fortuna.
To be honest, there are better lodges / hotels you can get which are cheaper. The staff was ok, the guys from the restaurant were nice, the food delicious!
But the room was very dark and we expected something else beeing a junior suite. The safe was not really working and the shower was disappointing at all.
But at least you get a great view to the arenal volcano.
If you wanna stay there, keep in mind that the way up to the lodge is pretty adventurous :)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Fabsyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Good morning friends,

We are sorry that you didnt like the hotels fine woods and its junior suites, our most liked and sold rooms. Arenal Lodge was built rustic, and made out of very fine woods that can be a little dark in rooms, but we could have fixed that by giving you an extra lamp or two, but we were not told at all, so how could we fix the problem? It may help that the weather wasnt nice and was overcast most of the time, making it darker that it really is.
Thank you for your comments, we respect your opinion and thank you for letting us know.
Your friends,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 834 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Arenal Lodge is well placed opposite the Volcano in Arenal, and gives you a wonderful view. Besides that the lodge hads not much to offer, the food is not good, the staff is not helpful and seems board when you need assistans (except fot the guide Mike he is a star). All in all not worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Good morning dear friends

Thank you for letting us know your comments, we really make a strong effort for everyone to leave the hotel happy and satisfied. Knowing that you didnt like your stay its concerning to us and make us worry, but we would have a like a second chance, IF you had just ask, we would have been very happy to assist you and change whatever needed to be changed, so that you be happy, but were not given that chance.
If you have more you would like to share with me, please do not hesitate contacting me at: mgutierrez@arenallodge.com, I wlil be very happy to hear your comments.
thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel from dec 25 to 26. The hotel is at the top of the ridge and the mountain road driving needs to be very attentive. Once "you made it", you will enjoy excellent volcano view, especially during sunrise time. The hotel even has built a nice trail and butterfly garden. Zipline under volcano Arenal is also an amazing experience

The room is outdated. Whenever it rains, you will hear it pours on the roof. The service speed is slow. Please be prepared to wait for 45 mins at the restaurant. Very pricy. There are many hotels in this area who has the volcano view as well and their price much more affordable.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rockyviewmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Hola amigos, thanks for your review, it really helps us improve our services when people leave their thoughts.
Arenal Lodge was built years ago as a fishing lodge, and it has been a lodge ever since it was first built. The looks is rustic and we dont have 2 or 3 levels like many hotels do, in part because we have over 2000 acres of land, we dont have to build on top. Luckily, you can hear the rain falling in your roof, this is a very rainy area and its called the rain forest, thats why they built the lake Arenal nearby, to produce electricity.
About the food, it was a little slow, of course, we apologize for that, but when the restaurant is full, everone has to wait a little longer, in this or any other restaurant. Pricey? I dont know, its about average in the area or less, but we do have rooms with microwaves and mini bars in case you want to bring your own food.
Thanks again for your comments , your friends in Arenal!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

As long as you don't mind being 20 km outside La Fortuna, this lodge is in a quiet and peaceful setting up on a steep hill (roads are cobbled/partially paved, so you can make it up there with your rental car). The central lodge area is quite pretty with a beautiful garden surrounding the back, and a view towards the volcano (should you be lucky enough to see it without fog or clouds). The rooms are dated with lumpy mattresses and basic, at least 40 year old furniture. The roof is some metal sheet, so when it pours, the sound is loud enough to keep you up at night.
All of that can be considered charming, depending on your mindset. What was truly disappointing is the food quality. Given that you are fairly isolated in that location and it is a steep drive up the hill, you will be hesitant to leave and drive all the way into town for dinner. So the local dining room is kind of it. My suggestion: go basic, like very basic. The cook really can't cook, and the food is canned and low quality. Stick with a rice dish or a sandwich. Breakfast is somewhat better, as you have some choices (no cereal, but pancakes or scrambled eggs or an omelet). But don't expect something great there, either.
Would I recommend this place? Not if you can afford something better. We stayed last time at the Tabacon, which was fabulous (but you pay for it).

Room Tip: The chalets have the best view, but are on a steep hill up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelandLearn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear friends, thank you for letting us know your thoughts, they mean a lot to us.

Arenal Lodge started many years ago and it was, if not the first, one of the first lodges in the area. One of the things people like the most is that is far away rom the crowd and noise of town. When travelling, one must research and get informed of the place you are travelling to, otherwise you are travelling blindfolded and anything you encounter not according to your needs or choice, will be a bad surprise, like your case. We are always very open regarding the food choices of our clients, and if someone has a special request, we are more than happy to make it happen. Luckily, Costa Rica has many different microclimates and we produce our own fruits and vegetables in the area and even in our own gardens, we dont have to can them , we get them 3 times a week, fresh from the fields. If you didnt like what you order, or had a special request, all you had to do was say it, and we would have been very happy to do it for you!!
Your friends always,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

There's a 10 minute winding road that you must go up, but the views of the treetops and volcano make it well worth it! On our first morning we went on a 2-hour tour of the forest on the grounds which was included in the price and was beautiful. The beds are springy, but still comfortable. The included breakfast was pretty average but the lunch and dinners are amazing, the food tastes very fresh. The place has an authentic Costa Rican feel with lots of wood paneling and surrounding nature; you can see colorful parrots and birds flying by. The infinity pool was extremely small, but the grounds are beautiful with lots of flowers and fauna. It's in a nice location and we had a good time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear friends, Happy New Year 2014!! Thank you very much for your kind comments.
We are glad that you had a good stay with us. We thank you for stopping and leaving your kind comments, this is the motivation we need to keep doing our best knowing that people like you had a good time while staying at Arenal Lodge.
All the best from Arenal Lodge staff !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We booked a Chalet (in the photo) for our family of four and discovered they have two floors (we thought we were getting the full Chalet) - and we received the bottom floor (so no vaulted ceilings). The location overall is spectacular and we preferred it to the glitzy and touristy crowded hotels closer to La Fortuna and the hot springs. The Lodge is dated but has amazing woodwork and was creatively built with an open air feel. We appreciate the Lodge offered guided nature walks and horseback riding daily through the vast grounds, though we didn't have the time in our limited visit to do either of them. The biggest challenge was the room; the beds were acceptable, but the 80's vintage recliner chair had body oil stains and the pullout couch was filthy and torn. We didn't use the kitchenette, though the freezer in the fridge was near completly frosted over. The bathroom had a vertical window running the length of the wall that allowed people to see into the sink and toilet area, creating some awkward room management wtih teens. The wind 'howls' through this region and all the windows are louvered which doesnt allow them to fully close. Opening them caused doors to rattle. The result was two near sleepless nights. The restaurant staff were great and the included breakfast meal was a positive. The dinner menu and prices need to be reviewed - offering meals at 4 star prices seemed high and we elected not to eat there. The tour manager was pleasant and helpful, however, tours booked from this location can be overpriced compared to our other Costa Rica experiences. In particular the Hanging Bridges which is the driveway "next door" costs $28 to enter on your own and $58 for a tour. If you have a vehicle, drive yourself.

Room Tip: Chalets are very dated - ask for a top floor (must be better than downstairs). "Family Rooms&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdventureFamilyBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Friends, happy new year 2014!

Thank you very much for leaving your comments, its really important for us to know what our customers think. We are glad that you liked the proprerty and views. Its always good to know when something is not ok and for that we thank you, we will look into it and improve it.
Arenal Lodge was one of the first lodges in the La Fortuna area, we have set the standards for all the rest of hotels and we are in a renovation process that will bring back the hotel to its golden years. Regarding the tours, this is a service that we offer to our clients and of course, if you dont have a car, you will have to pay to get there, service that is also included in all tours. Its up to you to decide wether to get to the tour on your own and pay less, or get on a scheduled tour and be picked up by a private van and with a private guide. Arenal Lodge is your home base for al these outdoor activities that can be done in the surroundings of La Fortuna.
Your friends at Arenal Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I can not say anything more then Julzie Dee and iseektoknow about this place. It was everything that was on there site. I do not know where Zeldabarnaby was but it was not at the Arenal Lodge. Our experience was fantastic and all we could have hoped for. The staff was very nice and always had a smile on their faces. They could not do enough for you. In fact all the people from Costa Rica was very pleasant. I do believe they are the Happiest People on Earth. The three months I was in the country were three months of heaven.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwknott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Hola amigos

We thank you for stopping and letting us and everyone know about your experience in Arenal Lodge. We are happy that you had a good time, we work for that purpose and are very concerned about customer satisfaction. We hope you will want to come back someday in the near future.
Your friends from Arenal Lodge!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,573 reviews
8.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,367 reviews
5.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
579 reviews
5.5 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,466 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $79 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing