We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Adventures with Kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arenal Lodge
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Adventures with Kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family loved this place. It has such a rustic charm and you really feel like you are getting "our there." It is quite the remote drive but worth it. The staff is super friendly and attentive. The free guided rain forest tour with Miguel was AWESOME! It was probably the best tour we did the whole week and it was included in our hotel stay (of course we tipped him well, as he deserved it!). We could see arenal volcano from our balcony. We saw vipers, monkeys, frogs, butterflies, gorgeous birds...it was everything you expect from a trip to the Costa Rican rain forest. LOVED IT! If you aren't afraid of the drive, it will be the destination of a lifetime!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suites for a view...don't go all the way to this remote location and get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Buenas tardes amigos!!

We are very happy to learn that you had a great time at Arenal Lodge, especially with your kids, as this is a very familiar place.
Thank you for letting us know as this is the "fuel" that we need to keep doing our best so that people like you leave this place happy and wanting to come back.
All the best, your friends in Arenal!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    226
    112
    58
    42
See reviews for
214
283
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place has beautiful landscaping, acres of rain forest to roam, horses to ride, an expert guide to lead you on a journey of discovery, spotless and lovely rooms, a gorgeous lobby, restaurant and bar with miles of windows looking over the amazing gardens complete with a pool and jacuzzi, helpful and friendly staff, an absolutely incredible view of the Arenal volcano...with a nice breakfast included. This place is out of the way ( which I found perfect) and at the end of a long,bumpy curvy road (well worth it). The food is decent but not spectacular by any means. If you aren't planning on being out running around, I would suggest bringing some snacks and drinks along. And be sure to meet the resident Macaw, Stephanie.

Room Tip: While more costly (but still reasonable),the chalets are beautiful and offer stunning views of both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mysterybookcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Buenosdias

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at Arenal Lodge. Its of great motivation for a big team of people working here to learn that you had a good time while staying with us.
Hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This was our favorite hotel during our trip to Costa Rica. The view from our room(number 7) was fantastic. The food at the restaurant was good and well priced. Miguel is an excellent and knowledgable tour guide, who obviously loves his job. The best part of the stay was the staff, who went above and beyond, and spoke good English. My friend broke her ankle on our trip, and it was well past midnight when we ruptured from the hospital, with no wheelchair or crutches. The nighttime security guys offered to help us carry her to our room. After asking several times if there was anything else they could do, they went into the kitchen ( which had been closed for a few hours) and made us dinner. My only complaint would be that the hot tubs aren't hot ( I found this at every hotel we stayed at) the staff tells you upon check in to give them 20 minutes to turn the tubs on before you go in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 12LiveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hola amigos,

Gracias for your nice comments, we really appreciate you letting us know details of your stay hjere. We were very tolearn about the broken ankle hoipe you are doing good now. The least we could do for you was to have a nice warm meal when you arrived from the doctor. If you are back to Costa Rica please como visit us again so you can see and do the other things you couldnt because of your ankle.
Warm regards hoping all is good now, your friends in Arenal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I am up for adventure, and the ride up the mountain to get to the Lodge, is a bumpy adventure. We didn't mind but some folks may. Our room had a fantastic view of the volcano and we were lucky enough to get great views the whole time. The rooms had a nice deck from where to enjoy it. However the walls were very thin and we could hear every conversation and door slam from our neighbors. The waiters were very nice and food was ok. The horseback ride could have been more riding and less talking. We did the nature walk and it was easy to find and enjoy on our own. The lady who booked tours was very friendly and helpful. Overall, I loved the area and the views but they need to find solution to thin walls.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patizone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Good afternoon dear friends,

Thank you for stopping by and leaving your comments, we take guests comments very seriously and use them for learning what we do right and what can be done better in order to have happy returning guests.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the lodge and would love to see you come back in the near future!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Arenal lodge conjures images of Jurassic Park. The restaurant is expansive, with excellent open air views of the grounds and Arenal. Rooms are large, clean, with good water pressure and views. The grounds are very pleasant, with hot springs to enjoy

Room Tip: Must have a view of Arenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_J1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Good morning,

Thank you much for stopping and leaving your comments, we are glad that you had a great time while staying at Arenal Lodge, it means we are doing our homework!
This motivates us even more to keep doing things better so more people can have a good time and enjoy our fantastic lodge.
A big hug from your friends in Arenal,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the lodge for our first 3 nights in Costa Rica. The lodge is located on a 2000 acre property, that is part farm and part nature preserve. All of the staff were extremely friendly and made you feel right at home. We stayed in the junior suites. The room was very large, with 2 double beds. The walls are covered in dark wood paneling and there are only 2 lamps which made the room very dark. The upside is that one wall was all windows and a door that lead to a big porch with andarandak chairs which looked over the beautiful gardens and pastures with a spectacular view of Arenal Volcano! We visited in August and there was a downpour every night. It was great sitting on the deck enjoying the jungle sounds and the rain pounding on the roof.

Included in the room fee is a great nature hike with the Miguel, the resident naturalist, through the rainforest. He is quite knowledgeable about all of the flora and fauna, and has great personal stories. He also was our guide on the horseback ride that was also included.

They have a nice bar and restaurant. The wait staff are really friendly and eager to please. The included breakfast was very good, it is not a buffet.

There is a desk in the lobby with a representative that can book you for all manors of excursions where they pick you up at the door. We did the whitewater rafting, and it was a blast. The day included a great lunch at a local farm.

If you are looking for a luxury room, the junior suites are not for you. If you are looking for an authentic Costa Rican experience, then you should stay there. One note, the driveway to the place is all uphill on a mile long on a bumpy driveway. The nearest grocery is a 20 minute drive, so stock up before you get there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaBen_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Buenos dias amigos!!

Thank you for leaving your kind comments, we are glad that you had a good time.
Definitely, Arenal Lodge is out of the way and far from the crowd of being in downtown La Fortuna, making our lodge a special place to comune with nature as close as you can.
Thanks to our chef de cuisine, our restaurant serves delicious homemade meals prepared with the best organic and natural ingredients found on the market today.
Again, thank you for staying with us and hope to see you back soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very peaceful and quite place with outstanding views. Food and drinks are fresh. Services are perfect. Personal is very friendly and helpful. We were in Juniors rooms and rooms were very big and nice with big balcony. We stayed for 3 days and I already dream to come back and stay there for a week at least. We rented a car and were driving around. Coming back at evening and having a good rest was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Junior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GutiMau, General Manager at Arenal Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed yourself while staying with us. We feel motivated as we like to know when we do our job right.
Please come back soon so you can experience the Arenal Lodge and its surroundings again!!
Your friends,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,160 reviews
8.3 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
5.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#31 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 224 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Property: Arenal Lodge
Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing