We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Arenal Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$177
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$168
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$204
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$407
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $204/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$385
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (908)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveler rating
352
298
138
67
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
298
138
67
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschalet roombutterfly gardenjunior suitecosta ricahorseback ridinginfinity poolwinding roadkids roomhowler monkeysjacamar toursan adventureamazing viewstour guideevery morningtour deskhiking trailshanging bridges
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 908 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a great time at Arenal Lodge, after we got there. Getting there is not an easy climb but the views and wild life are amazing. The staff will not let you down. They even road us back and forth from the Chalet when our friends needed the rental car for the day. This is a far cry from a fancy resort but if it is wildlife and adventure you seek you'll find it here. The breakfast that was included was fine but I suggest get off the mountain and go to a Soda or to NeNe's for dinner and lunch. You get much better food for a good price outside the resort. The hot tubs were relaxing one morning. As soon as we mentioned we wanted to use them they turn them on right away. If I had a choice I would pick a different hotel with volcano views and a better entrance. This hotel came in a package with Jet Set Travels or Travel by Jen I still think old Jessica made a pretty nice commission off our trip. One more little tip they do let you bring your own liquor and they have an ice machine. If you want to lounge by the pool and have drinks, stop at the Christian grocery before you head up the hill and get your booze and mixers. Drinks are pricey and there is no pool services so you’re better bringing your own and mixing them yourself.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teenie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Yes, as others have written, the views from the lodge are fabulous, and the grounds are lovely, but, overall, our stay was less than satisfactory. Our first experience after arriving at the lodge's gate was driving down a long, winding road at night. We were terrified, as we often could not see what was ahead. NEVER arrive at night! My husband and I spent three nights in a junior suite. Our toilet did not flush properly, and our safe was broken. The room was supposed to have a hair dryer but did not, and it took a day to finally get one. The staff was friendly and helpful, but it took time to get everything as it should have been; the toilet never was fixed properly. As one reviewer said, the room was quite dated, and the supplies were not the best--a few threadbare towels.The food was mediocre, at best, and pricy. I will not return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anzia48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a chalet room with a great view of the volcano. Being away from the hub bub of activity suited us just fine. Visiting with a blue and gold Macaw right outside out hotel room was great. The road to the hotel was fun during the day but a little dicey at night. The pool and hot tubs overlooking the volcano were tough to beat. I highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys unique lodging experiences.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moosely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Best view of Arenal volcano, friendly staff..adequate breakfast. We were traveling with our 2 kids, ages 7 and 9 and stayed at the chalet for 3 nights, for better view and more space. But the room was very dated, dark, and not at all convenient for a longer stay. I wish the management could spruce these rooms up some...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went to Arenal for only one night (not sufficient). The Lodge was a great place to stay. Staff are super friendly; the restaurant is very good, with excellent wines. For hotels guests, breakfast is included. Trekkers and day hikers were "loading up." The dining room opens up onto wonderful gardens that were filled with gorgeous species of birds and plants. Fabulous way to start the day.

The Arenal Lodge is about one minute by car (after you've descended the infamous, rocky road between the Lodge and the main road towards La Fortuna) to the "hanging bridges" tourist walk. It's worth doing the 90 min or so walk for the wildlife.

My husband had a massage at the small spa -- he deemed it "good" but US$80/one hour is pretty high-priced for that part of Costa Rica.

Also: the front desk staff were very helpful. A young man (sorry I don't have his name!) suggested that we stop at a soda for home-made Costa Rican food on our way back to Guanacaste/Playa Hermosa. We found this place, by a footbridge, and indeed, the "lady of the house" prepared a massive spread -- on the spot -- for the 5 of us. By the way: she asked for US $40 and nearly exploded with joy when we handed her a $50 bill. We had enough food for dinner, too - she went up the road and found plastic dishes and packed up the massive amount of leftovers. Outstanding -- thanks to the man at the reception at Arenal Lodge.

Room Tip: Get chalet rooms if you want terrific view of the volcano. These are the premium priced rooms. The furnishings look like they are 30+ years old, the towels are small and scruffy, but everything is very very clean and "fine" for 1-2 night stay.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cedar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews