We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and relaxing!”
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arenal Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We arrived after dark and after driving from San Jose, the road once you passed the guard gate was something out of "Dark Shadows"! A long circuitous stone road, winding and winding it's way up and up, finally we reached a sign that said "You Made It"! Once there we were greeted with a much deserved welcome drink and shown to our charming junior suite! In the morning when we could see, our view of the Arenal Volcano was wonderful, we enjoyed the jacuzzi, pool and complimentary horse ride with a terrific guide. Everything was quiet, calm and super relaxing!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiritcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for Arenal Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 828 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Second stay at Arenal Lodge.
Best place in Arenal because instead of being a compound and resort, it is a true rainforest lodge. The grounds are a couple of thousand acres and stunning. Miguel works for the lodge and gives free walking tours through the primary forest each morning. Tours last 30 min to 2 hours pending on your desire. We went on a 2 hour tour with our 7 and 9 year olds. Fantastic place and wonderful man. We took two free horseback riding tours on the property with Miguel. They were the first times my kids rode horses and Miguel and the horses were great.
We stayed in the family room 2 nights- nice with 2 separate bedrooms. We also stayed in the junior suite for two days adjoining the lodge- loved the view- amazing.
Breakfast is complimentary and very good!!
Love this place
Kerry- USA

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrybarefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Once you drive over the lake, it's immediately on the right. You will be greeted by a polite gatekeeper, once your in, there's no turning around, literally you can't! The drive way up is about a mile of narrow, unpaved, curvy, dangerous, steep hills and this driveway supplied the only way in and out. After the 6-7 minute trek up this hill you will enter and outdoor lobby that reminds you of a ski lodge, rustic, woodsy and quaint. I would only recommend staying in junior suites or better to get some of the most magnificent views of the arenal volcano, grounds, monkeys, birds and horses... It truly was a majestic view. The rooms could use some updating but with a private balcony and rocking chairs, you'll spend most of your time outside. From entry to exit, an authentic experience of Costa Rica!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelCaribeGurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

You must get a chalet room for the best views of the volcano! It is definitely a lodge, with sparse amenities, but the beds were comfy. The staff was very polite and professional and all of our meals were lovely, although a bit bland for my taste. The road to get here is an adventure all on its own.

Room Tip: Spring for the chalet!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The views and landscaping was what I remember most. The rooms are simple, nothing fancy (we didn't stay in the big rooms w/ the big windows - we were probably in the cheapest rooms.). But I didn't go to Costa Rica to stay in my room. We took a personal horseback ride w/ one of the staff and the scenery was amazing. The lodge is rustic - dark wood, fireplace, etc. The driveway up is an adventure, steep w/ lots of curves. Someone videotaped it and its on youtube. We had a rental car and drove into town for all of our meals. Not because of this hotel, but simply because we could. I will return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elayneNashville_Tn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

This is my favorite place to stay in Costa Rica. The grounds are massive so you really get a sense of getting away from it all. I have stayed in the chalet rooms, family and the junior suites and have found them all to be clean and have good views of the volcano. The staff are excellent. It is a little more rustic which I prefer so you do not have all the whiny tourists who complain about their toilet paper not being soft enough. I absolutely love it. I got a treat this last time because I was able to bring my 7 and 9 year old boys. We had a great time. When it was raining, which it will do a few times a day because it is a rain forest, my boys and I played pool or foosball. When sunny we were in the pool or jacuzzi's.
Breakfasts are brilliant. You get lots of variety but true to the culture. Also, if you are up early enough you can see them feed the birds which is a really fun way to spend your breakfast time.

My favorite things to do there are the activities with Miguel. He does the horse and hiking tours. I am very protective of my sons and I absolutely trusted myself and them with Miguel. I paid a lot of money to go on a hanging bridges tour at a place that does zip lines and sky tram,..... It was not very good. Those things are so dependent on the tour guide. We went with Miguel the next day and it was great,..... And it was all on the lodge. You didn't have to pay for someone to come get you,.... In fact, it did not cost anything! That afternoon we did the horse ride with Miguel. That was the first time my two sons had ever rides horses, Miguel was great with the children and the horses knew the trail so well you barely had to guide them. My youngest son Jack was riding with me but it was starting to hurt him. Miguel half way through the ride noticed this, hoped off his horse and let Jack ride his while he held the reign.

If I ever go back to this region of the country I will definitely stay at Arenal Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abarefoot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed for couple of days at the Arenal Lodge. The lodge is located on top of the mountain and it was scenic and beautiful. The rooms (I think we were in the Junior suite) were nice, with microwave, coffee machine. They had a good breakfast. The lunch and dinner menu could have been better, especially for vegetarians. Water pressure in the shower was not great, but I guess thats true for most places in CR>Best of all, the room came along with complimentary hike with a guide and a horse riding trip which the kids enjoyed very much. Will deftly stay in this place again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madhu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,530 reviews
8.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
5.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#19 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,447 reviews
6.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,849 reviews
5.0 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#30 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $79 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing