We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel, lovely gardens, and great view of Mt Arenal Volcano” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Lodge
Playas del Coco, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, lovely gardens, and great view of Mt Arenal Volcano”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We spent one night at the Arenal Lodge. The driveway up from the main road is narrow and steep. The moss on the cobblestones probably is wet and slippery when it rains. The staff at the reception desk were very friendly and greeted us with a glass of fresh juice. We had clear weather and a grand view of the volcano. The swimming pool looked inviting although the water wasn't very warm. There are two Jacuzi tubs, with cold water and the jets didn't seem to work. It was a long drive from our home in Playa Ocotal and we opted to eat at the hotel rather than driving to a restraunt in town. Our dinner was a pleasant surprise, with everyone enjoying their selections from steak to fish and chicken. Our waiter was very nice and attentive although it was his last night working at the hotel. Our rooms, in the older part of hotel were comfortable, however, our mattress pad didn't fit the queen size bed and kept sliding off during the night. Coffee in the room was nice in the morning as I took pictures of the grounds and the mountain. I felt that the waiter was a bit rude when we arrived at the restaurant before it was open for breakfast the next morning. I guess we surprised him. Breakfast included an assortment of fresh fruit and a choice of the American breakfast or typical Costa Rican. Both were generous portions. All in all, I would say that it was a good value and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 24 which was near the pool and surrounded by beautiful gardens. It looked like th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordyLeeCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    220
    109
    57
    41
See reviews for
203
280
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very nice hotel and room, the food was good and the staff very nice. Very nice breakfast, nice pool and fantastic view.
Good quality price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariaj123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband I stayed three nights the end of April and loved this hotel. The staff were friendly, caring and efficient. The breakfast food great. Miguel guided us on a nature hike as well as escorted us on a horseback ride. He was kind, pleasant and very knowledgable about the animals, birds, frogs, flowers, etc. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Great pool and hot tub! We had a fantastic relaxing experience. It truly is a little piece of paradise!

Room Tip: If you book there..don't let the steep driveway worry you...it's worth the drive up! We lov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marengotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was our first visit to Costa Rica and we stayed 3 nights at the Arenal Lodge. I can just imagine the wonderful views when the volcano was still active! But even though there were no eruptions, the views were stunning! It's a bit off the beaten path and 3 km off the regular road, up twisting, cobblestoned roads. It's a bit rustic and has that lodge feel, but everyone was very nice. The food was good and staff helpful. It can be challening to make a quick trip out and then come back in, so plan to spend time on the property. There's a great horseback riding tour and the butterfly house was a nice surprise.

Room Tip: If you get a chance to get one of the chalets on the hill, the views must be spectacular there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HankinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This hotel is way out of town. Try getting to the entrance of the hotel, it takes 20 minutes, as the road is terrible. Sparsely decorated rooms, few hangers, no heat or air conditioning. Windows do not open. My husband and I slept in separate beds, as they were small. It was dark going to the room with no lights to guide you. Bring a flashlight.
Service at breakfast, was chaotic. Too many people with only one person at the buffet making eggs.
We went to the bar for a drink, around 9:00pm.The person behind the bar could not even make a martini. The bar was filled with dirty dishes and glasses.It was very unpleasant.
The view however was great. But, you can get this view at other hotels, which we did. We left after two nights.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beacon Falls Ct,USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Arenal lodge is a place to go to get away from the hustle and bustle of the attractions. it's literally in the rain forest at the beginning of lake Arenal. you won't be disappointed.the food,service and hospitality are excellent.

Room Tip: there rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HowardtheD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, SC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

This place could definitely use a coat of paint and some maintenance, but if it got that, they would price ordinary people like me out of the market. Instead, you get a place that shows signs of age and is hard to get to, but once you find it, you will marvel at the views. They also offer free breakfast (very good, in fact) and free horseback riding three times daily. We stayed in one of the chalets, and my family absolutely loved it. It isn't luxurious, but if you are looking for a unique place and a great value, I would recommend it (but avoid the restaurant)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tigercruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,266 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,134 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#14 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,516 reviews
5.8 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,954 reviews
8.3 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Lodge

Property: Arenal Lodge
Address: 200 meters NW from the Arenal Lake dam, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 1250, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Lodge provides guests with the excitement of staying in an authentic rainforest lodge with breathtaking panoramic views of Costa Rica’s famous Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. Guests will enjoy a casual and relaxed rustic lodge setting with the added value of a complimentary breakfast daily. Located on 2000-acres of beautiful tropical rainforest, the lodge is situated near Arenal Volcano National Park. The lodge is surrounded by rainforest - housing hundreds of exotic birds, small animals and the beautiful tropical flowers and trees of Costa Rica. and is its own local tourist attraction due to its exclusive location with breathtaking panoramic views of Arenal Volcano and Lake Arenal. The lodge features a full service restaurant with local and international cuisine, gift shop, three heated outdoor Jacuzzis, an infinite edge swimming pool, walking trails, a butterfly garden, horseback riding, a game room and outdoor playground for children, fitness room, sauna, and free wireless high speed internet access. Guest rooms and suites feature cable TV, telephone, coffee maker, clock radio, and all have private baths. Complimentary crib and wheel chair are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Arenal Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Arenal Lodge Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing