We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good value for price”
other travelers have booked this property
the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the house
the entrance living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
38 reviews
the house
the entrance
living room
view from living room
garden and tha Arenal Volcano
the sofa corner
sofa and TV
kitchen
kitchen
main bedroom with AC
main bedroom with AC
secondary bedroom with AC
the bathroom
the bathroom
the bathroom
balcony
BBQ & hammoks area
BBQ & hammoks area
the garden
the garden
the garden
the garden
balcony view
the covered parking
the covered parking
the hotsprings
rio fortuna waterfall
rio celeste waterfall
the Arenal volcano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Ian T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Am I just a spoiled American?”
Reviewed May 21, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was my first trip to Costa Rica. It was a nightmare. This condo only had a small part in that, but it didn't really help things, either. I know that homes are different in Costa Rica than America, but there were a lot of upsetting elements.

The worst was were the bugs. There were small ant-like bugs crawling EVERYWHERE. They got in our luggage, in our bed, on the tables. We didn't eat much there, but when we did the ants were there in seconds after the food was out. Even without any food anywhere, the bugs were crawling all over the place.

The other issue was the ventilation. They had three, small fans that didn't really do much. There were screens on some of the windows, but we didn't want to open any more because there were already too many bugs. We closed some of the windows that were left open, but there were still tree frogs getting into the bedroom. Kinda crazy.

The shower had exposed electrical wires. I know that this is a common way to heat the shower in South America, but the electrical tape was coming off and it wasn't adding to the appeal. There wasn't much way we could adjust the water temperature, either. The dryer wasn't vented out the house, and just had a plastic cup on the end. Most of the drywall tape was cracked and pealing off. These things may be normal for Ticos, but not normal for Americans.

The place looked nice. The manager was very friendly. The yard was gated and it felt private and peaceful. The neighborhood seemed a little sketchy. The roads aren't paved to the house. The gate was obnoxious to open and shut all the time, and the parking stalls were tricky to get in and out of.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The charm
Liked least: The bugs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2015
Dear guest
I am sorry that your vacations in Costa Rica were a nightmare.
As we are located in a tropico, there are all kind of insects and wildlife. We do fumigate every time is need it but we cant help it all the time.
The rainy season starts in May, there are more activity for insects at this time.

The main roads in Costa Rica are pavement but some roads around neighborhoods are not.

Again I apologize for the inconvenience.

Walter Arer, Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKAdventu...
Eagle River, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value for price”
Reviewed December 28, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
3
people found this review helpful

If you're looking for the best place to stay in La Fortuna, this isn't it. But, if you're looking for a budget-friendly stay within 15-20 minutes walking distance of La Fortuna, then this is a good option. One thing that is important to know - there are two houses on this property. The property is gated but the gate is not locked. The villa does have an alarm system that is quite easy to use. Overall, the accommodations are a little tired and it would definitely be nice for the place to have some comfortable furniture like a couch or recliner. Location-wise, the property is located in the back corner of a slightly run-down neighborhood (seemed somewhat typical of neighborhoods in the area) off of some very bumpy, cobblestone style roads that take a while to drive safely down (you have to go really slow). What is nice about the location is because it's on a corner, it's not bordered by houses on all sides. Most of the property that borders the villa seems to be farm land/green space of some kind. There were a ton of birds singing in the trees and bushes in the morning. The grounds on the property around the villa were spacious and there is an outdoor patio with a hammock and hammock chair. Both were looking a little worn out but worked fine. We didn't spend a lot of time out here though because of the abundance of ants, mosquitoes, and other insects. Ants were one of my biggest complaints but they seemed to be an issue indoors and outdoors in most of the places we visited in Costa Rica. Plus, coming from Alaska, we are not used to many insects. Some other points about the inside - if you are traveling with young children, you may want to avoid this house....the wooden stairs are a little steep and I would not call them safe for little ones. All the bedrooms are upstairs and there is no couch or anything downstairs so you don't really have a way to avoid them. The whole house was pretty clean but we had lots of problems with ants - even when we tried to clean up food and dishes immediately, it seemed like there were always ants coming in. But they were a minor annoyance and seemed to be part of life in Costa Rica. The small kitchen was adequate for our needs and the bathroom was also fine. A final big plus for the property is the manager, Yessenia, who is a very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful local.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The price
Liked least: furnishings
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmbslund
Chino Hills, CA
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Least Favorite Place We Stayed”
Reviewed September 4, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
4
people found this review helpful

We spent 2 weeks in Nicaragua and Costa Rica and this was the place our family liked the least. From the picture I expected the house to be secluded. It's not. It's at the end of a very run down residential neighborhood. We didn't have any trouble with the people in the neighborhood, but there are SO MANY better places to stay in La Fortuna. The house was clean, but after two days we noticed termite droppings in the restroom. The pillows are in desperate need of replacing - felt like bags filled with socks. The best thing about the house was Yessenia, the woman who represents the owner. She was invaluable to our trip. She helped book tours, car rental, and gave me advice only a local would know.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful grounds
Liked least: Location
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anne-Mari...
Halfweg, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very well equipped house in nice garden and quiet neighbourhoud. Beautiful view on volcano.”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014 with family of 4 (2 kids, ages 6 and 11). Warm welcome by host Yessenia, who gave us lots of information about the things to do in and around La Fortuna. Very nice house, in quiet neighbourhood close to center of La Fortuna (5 min. drive, but also withing walking distance). Was very happy with the washer and dryer in the house, because we arrived with lots of dirty, damp clothes and towels, due to lots of rain in the week prior. Used the BBQ in the garden house (Yessenia kindly gave us charcoal which was left at the house). Had 10 mins to see the whole of the volcano (no clouds!), which apparantly is rare, because most of the time at least the top is covered by mist/clouds. Beautiful view on the volcano from the top floor and balcony of the house. House is very well equipped; kitchen, washer and dryer, both bedrooms with television mosquito screens in windows etc. Couldn't get the wifi up and running, but that might have been us. Living room doesn't have a couch, so there's no comfortable 'lounging', but that's a minor detail. Overall definitely recommend this house as a place to stay for a family with kids, a couple or two couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very well equipped house, great location. Beautiful view on volcano.
Traveling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flyer303...
Buffalo, New York
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Uniquely Designed Villa with a Volcanic View”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Yessenia, the rental manager, was very helpful in planning our activities in La Fortuna. She took the time to mark restaurants and attractions on our city map which made all the difference in our stay. The villa was designed to showcase the view of the volcano. So wonderful to finally have a washer and dryer too! The surrounding garden and cabana were a delight. The temperatures were moderate so use of fans instead of A/C were fine. The gated yard and security system were appreciated. Not handicapped accessible due to stairs approaching the bedrooms and bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The primitive wooden furniture. A couch would have been nice for relaxing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glee922
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT LOCATION WITH A BEAUTIFUL GARDEN”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Located in a nice, little neighborhood that is walking distance from the town, this home is perfect for a family of 4 looking to have a relaxing stay! The home is secure with an alarm system and there is covered parking located inside the gated area right next to the home. Last but not least, Yessenia was a gracious host that was very resourceful - she provided recommendations on what we could do, eat, and how to get there!

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce C
Glenboro, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and very safe with an alarm system and a very helpful property manager. However, furniture was very basic ( a few wooden chaiirs, table, reasonably comfortable beds) and there were quite a few ants especially in the kitchen. We found a small scorpion there as well. Food had to be stored away mostly in the refrigerator in order keep this issue to a minimum but there were usually ant "highways" in evidence on the kitchen walls and floors most of the time. The bathroom was clean and the shower had hot water. There were a couple of fans but no air conditioning. We spent our days exploring the area, only returning to the property in the evening. It is located on the edge of the town in a nice yard which suited us well as La Fortuna is quite touristy. Our needs when travelling are pretty basic and of all the properties we stayed at, this was the only one that we found to be somewhat disappointing.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing