We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Amazing place to eat!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novillito's Steak House

Novillito's Steak House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Latin, Central American, Costa Rican, Grill, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to eat!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is small and quant and just what we were looking for!!!! An amazing dinner!!!!! We had something off the menu- steak, sea bass, pork and chicken for 2 with beans and rice, tortillas, uka root (so good u must try it!), and a potato with garlic butter! It was a feast and only $36 for 2 people to eat all that food and 2 soft drinks!!! Tip well because they are such nice people and its a family owned business!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Costaricanchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    115
    23
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place, good portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Nice place outside of La Fortuna. The meat is very nice and the portions are just right, not too big.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoppekop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Local feel, open air steak house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Not cheap but delicious, lots of variety and very tasty, well cooked steaks. Recommend for fun feel and good food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jhahnlesser55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We decided to try Novillito's based on other reviews and we weren't disappointed at all. When we walked in there was only 1 other couple there so we decided to take a seat at the bar, which happens to be the best seat in the house. You're so close to the cooking / kitchen and it's amazing to watch the cook do her work. This is most definitely a home-cooking type of atmosphere. The mother is the cook, dad portions the meats and makes the chicharrones and the daughter helps waitress while the son helps in the kitchen. We tried the ceviche and can honestly say it's the best we've ever had. Super fresh and extra tasty! We also tried the half order of the chifrijo based on the recommendation of the chef. We weren't disappointed and this is truly an authentic dish. It's a mixture of rice, beans, chicharrones, pico de gallo and other great tasting, fresh ingredients. For dinner, we enjoyed the Novillito specialty. It's a sirloin steak seasoned and seared to perfection. The sides were extraordinary as well. If you can find any room in your stomach afterwards, you must try their pineapple dessert! It's a flambe'd pineapple with rum, caramel, orange juice and triple sec. It's sweet, but so well prepared. Don't let the outside appearance fool you, this is a great little hidden gem!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We just got a great novillito!
The steak was perfectly grilled.
All the side dishes were also amazing.
We really loved the atmosphere and kindness of the personnel. Tomorrow we're going back!!!
Thanks a lot!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcoscara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Novillito's Steak House also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Novillito's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing