We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, nice pools”

Paradise Hot Springs
Book In Advance
More Info
$28.00*
and up
Relaxing Mineral Hot Springs Full Day Pass with Optional Lunch or Dinner
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Great for relaxing without the crowds, perfect for couples and for friends looking for a special revitalizing experience. Spend a day at Paradise Hot Springs Resort and relax in natural thermal water pools and jacuzzis of different temperatures (35ºC/95ºF to 41ºC/104ºF) with focused hydromassage for back, legs, and feet. The Resort also respects a maximum capacity of visitors to provide a peaceful atmosphere. There is a parking area within the property, changing rooms and toilets, showers, massages and body treatments service, food and drink, as well as reclinable beds, sun umbrellas, and relaxing music along the pool areas. All of the necessary elements for a magnificent and relaxing experience.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value, nice pools”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is the newest and least busy of the hot springs in La Fortuna. We went at night to experience slightly cooler outside temps with our hot pool temps. Several pools with varying temps (hottest is 104 degrees) and nice locker room/bathroom/shower facilities. Lounge chairs, towels, lockers and dinner packages available. The bar service was very slow and very limited.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank YouGoGirl_115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    178
    67
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

We came here as part of a day tour booked through our hostel ($40 for hike and hot springs) and it was definitely worth every penny!

We had around 3-4 hours here which was more than enough, especially as the food prices make you want to wait until you get back to town (the food didn't look particularly special - $5-6 dollars for fries or patacones!)

The pools vary in temperature so you can go in the hottest jacuzzi then cool down in the coldest and enjoy a swim in the medium temperature one too! The water features made for a relaxing back massage and the water varied in depth so you could actually do some swimming as well as lying down to relax on the bed like features in the pool.

We really enjoyed it here and would recommend it to anyone that wants to relax after a hard day's hike! It felt even more special arriving as it got dark as it was pretty with the lights on and it made us appreciate the warm water as it was cooler outside. Not to be missed!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colite1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ahhhhh.... great day.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We ended up staying here almost a whole day, it was just so relaxing! We went to two hot springs during our stay in the area. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing atmosphere, Paradise is the place for you.
We were given a tour of the property when we arrived, and our guide explained the different pools and the qualities of the water. He pointed out the plants and the birds on the property and made sure we knew where everything on the property was.
We were given our own covered dining area where our delicious lunch was served at a time we decided when we arrived. They found us in the pools to let us know our food was ready to be served. The covered area was available to us all day.
The price includes water and juice as long as you decide to stay, so you don't need to worry about carrying around money for drinks. If you do decide you'd like a beer or cocktail (they have a full bar) you just pay for it when you leave. You are given towels for your stay as well as dry towels for when we are ready to leave. You are given lockers. All of this is no extra charge.
They really think of everything here, so you can just relax and not worry about a thing.
We were the only people here for much of the day. When we were ready to leave, they called a taxi for us, and the person who had showed us around the pools sat and chatted with us. He seemed genuinely interested in any feedback we had for him regarding the property, and he talked to us about the area.
There are lots of choices for hot springs in this area. I would say to choose Paradise if you are looking for a really quiet, low-key, relaxing kind of place.
Even if it is rainy, as long as it is warm, I think you would still enjoy coming here. It rained off and on while we were there, and it just didn't matter. The water is so warm, it was actually a neat experience to be lying and relaxing in the pool while it rained.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazinggggggg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

Me & my husband were here last night and we didn't want to leave theatmospehete was solo relaxing the pools were do clean the massage s were exceptional n the food was soooo good. All they are missing are hotel rooms so we can spend the night. I wanted to stay forever..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giselle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most Romantic Night of Our Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We discovered Paradise Hot Springs while stuck inside the hotel during a very rainy day in La Fortuna. There were not many people there when we arrived. We had the first few pools to ourselves. Each pool is surrounded by gardens and vegetation. You don't even know the other pools exist until you finish with one and wonder down the romantic pathway to the next experience. Once we got to the largest pool it wasn't long before a group of college age students joined the handful of couples that were there. They were a little loud so the romance of that pool was less than what it was at first. Luckily, the vegetation surrounding the smaller pools near the large pool, kept the romantic atmosphere alive in the small pools. We had a beautiful dinner in a private bungalow. Maui Maui, veggies and potatoes with a bottle of wine. It was the perfect end to a rainy day!! The only word of caution is do NOT take children unless they are happy to sit quietly in the pools. Every other hot spring I saw had slides and playground areas built into them. Take the kiddos to one of those hot springs. They will love you for it. Just don't torture your kids by taking them to this hot spring that is truly a wonderful couples retreat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dutchgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Paradise Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing