We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend this great Adventure around Arenal Volcano”

La Roca Canyoneering Adventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: La Roca is an canyoneering adventure where you can enjoy the best waterfall canyoning in the Central Pacific, the duration tour is arround to 3 hours, and the tour it incluid fruits, water bottles and the best ride, enjoy the best of life with us!
Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend this great Adventure around Arenal Volcano”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Dont go home without doing this! You will feel like you have been in an adventure on a movie set and you wont be able to stop talking about it!
Not only is the experience and scenery fantastic, but the tour operators are amazing too. My wife was extremely apprehensive nail biting, stomach churning terrified about this excursion but was determined to try for my sake. I honestly expected her to have to turn around at the first rappel, but Rosko (aka Roy) was so helpful and reassuring that I was amazed to see her go down with a big smile on her face. She said "i trusted them". We have to thank the whole crew for a wonderful and most memorable experience; Johnathan (aka Johnny Man), David (aka Treinta), Arturo the photographer (aka Achtur), and Ermes (aka Mop).

We rappelled down beautiful canyons, (once through a waterfall), jumped into pools, did a Tarzan Swing, even a speedy zip line. All this in the middle of a beautiful jungle. We highly recommend this excursion near situated near the Lost Iguana Resort and Spa, which can be accessed at the west end of the dam at Arenal Lake. It will be hard to beat this exciting fun adventure, yeeha !
Indiana jones!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Guy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    15
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience whatever your age”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our family whose ages range from early 70's to late 20's had a wonderful time on this tour. The first rappel was scary but what followed was so exhilarating it became the highlight of our vacation. Mario, Jonathan, Arturo and the other guides were very competent and a lot of fun. They were solicitious without being condescending to the older members of our group. They explained everything so clearly that even unathletic people like us were able rappel, zipline, etc. without any problems. We would highly recommend this professional company.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best excursion of our trip”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is definitely a must-try experience, even if you are a little afraid of heights as I was. How many people are able to say that they rappelled down a waterfall? The staff are friendly, helpful and put you at ease -- especially Mario who spoke excellent English and was so funny and personable. You will get SOAKED -- so wear better shoes than I did. Thankfully they had towels and facilities where we could dry off and get changed. The icing on the cake was that we had a great meal prepared for us when we got back to the main lodge. Excellent half-day adventure.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AshleyOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Times”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

My son (15) said this was the best thing he did on the trip. The adventure was fun and the guides were entertaining. We had a great lunch afterwards and there was washrooms with showers to change. They take great pictures of you through out the adventure and the cd is only of your family

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marilynme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“FUN!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great experience. Guides were personable and professional, we really all had a blast. The lunch prepared afterwards in the canyon house was really good. Bathrooms with showers and changing rooms were clean. Highly recommend this company for canoyneering.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank caadam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roca Canyoneering Adventure also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to La Roca Canyoneering Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing