We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dining near Arenal Volcano”

Altamira Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central American, Costa Rican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best dining near Arenal Volcano”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Altamira is a beautiful outdoor yet covered restaurant in the luxurious Nayara Hotel. We stayed at Nayara for 3 nights. Dinner was delicious and presented beautifully on each plate. There was a very good selection of Costa Rican and international dishes. Also every night there is also a rotating theme buffet to choose your appetizer, 1-entree, side, and dessert which are plated and served to you at your table. We had the sea bass, palm and avocado salad, and our teen had chosen from the Mexican buffet selection. All dishes were excellent! All were high quality!

Service was superb! They went out of their way to meet our requests. Very attentive and friendly. We enjoyed every meal while in the rain forest near Arenal Volcano but the best meals in this location were all from Nayara Hotel & Spa, especially at Altamira.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XrsPappas5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    50
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best food in La Fortuna”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great food, very clean, quiet setting with a great view, and friendly staff. Best food we have had since we've been here!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
232 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Costa Rica”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Nice menue with a mix of local and international dishes reaching a very good quality in a nice seating. Excellent service, nice choice of wines.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kr1069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Riquísimo”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our server taught us this spanish word--riquisimo!! My husband and I both said it over and over again. This restaurant at our hotel provided the best authentic Costa Rican cuisine!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just WOW!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This place is just great! We had a ton of fun here. The staff is great and the acoustic music was fantastic as well. You cannot beat the atmosphere of this place and food is awesome. My daughter is a bit of a salmon fanatic and she dubbed this as "the best salmon" she's ever had. The filet here was also fantastic! It was the same quality cut that you would expect in a high end restaurant in the states. This place was so good that our daughter chose this as her "end of vacation" dinner as well so we went twice. We also highly recommend the table side guacamole. My husband is not a fan of guac in the states, absolutely loved the guac here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jhowell007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altamira Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Altamira Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing