We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, romantic dinner in our hotel!”

Altamira Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
305 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Excellent, romantic dinner in our hotel!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We were staying at at Nayara, so this restaurant was just a short walk from our room! As you can see from the pictures, the atmosphere of the restaurant is very romantic with candles and live music and mostly couples dining. We began with a few glasses of wine and ordered the ceviche. Then, we learned about the guacamole cart that was going around where guacamole is handmade table side. It really was some of the best guacamole we've ever had, so we were glad we ordered the extra food! For dinner, we had the rib eye and the churrasco both of which were excellent. Although we were too full for dessert, we did see other tables order desserts that were made table side such as crepes and bananas foster. We would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice dinner while in Arenal!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank hfritzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    50
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great food and service but a little pricey”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I ate here with my husband mostly because it's on the property of Nayara where we're staying and we were too lazy to go elsewhere. The tamales were ok but the arroz con pollo was excellent. Both were expensive for what they were. The chocolate cake was fantastic

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda77433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best guacamole ever”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We ate here a couple of nights. Roberto made what my husband calls the best guacamole he has ever eaten. Great vegetarian options. Wonderful breakfast buffet.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kasio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The most romantic dinner”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I had our anniversary dinner here even though we stayed at another hotel nearby. They treated us like royalty. The food is top quality and the service is 5-star. Someone comes to your table and offers to make fresh guacamole in front of you, do it, it is the best. They surprised us with a free dessert for our anniversary and gave us a free ride back to our hotel. When we go back to Costa Rica we will be staying at this resort.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alohakiliki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Gem”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We did not stay at the hotel; however we went there for the dinner buffet and breakfast buffet. Each time we were greeted by this wonderful hostess Nancy, who explained to us about the foods they offer and the difference between the western food and the local food which is called typical food. And they had both. When I travel I like to enjoy and experience the local foods, so this place was a gem. They had a wide variety of both types so there’s something for everyone. Loved the breakfast with lots of fresh fruit and fruit juices.
Thank you Nancy for been so attentive and making us feel welcome.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firstsquaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altamira Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Altamira Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing