We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Above par for La Fortuna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Altamira Restaurant

Altamira Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Central American, Costa Rican, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Above par for La Fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Nayara - so we had breakfast here every day, as well as dinner for two of the evenings. One night was a "grill out" night for July 4 - which is essentially buffet style - but we ordered off the menu both nights.
I had the Mediterranean salad, arroz con pollo, and the Churrasco. The salad was nice. The churrasco was not a churrasco - more of a rib eye steak - but cooked well enough and seasoned nicely. The arroz con pollo was great.
My husband had the tuna tartare (which he loved), the gnocchi pesto (which was average) and french fries (great)!
The staff is phenomenal and very accommodating. I wanted dessert on July 4, so the waiter told me to just go to the buffet and take what I wanted (even though I hadn't ordered the buffet).
Get the guacamole - Juan Carlos makes it great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chckadee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    43
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Easily the best experience for dinner in LaFortuna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was quite shocked to find this restaurant is not listed in the top 5 of restaurants in the area on Tripadvisor. I am a former travel agent and wanted to experience Nayara on some level since I knew it was a special place and it was all booked up during our dates of travel. When I tried to make reservations through our hotel reception, she sort of tried to "discourage" us about going but I was insistent. I'm so glad I was!
This was my favorite meal in LaFortuna and definitely the best experience. (Cost less than Don Ruffino's) It has a beautiful, upscale-casual ambiance with live music playing softly in background. The service was 5 star. In general, we were very disappointed with food choices and prices in LaFortuna, but this was the shining star. This would not be a good choice in evenings for families with small noisy children, but our 11 yr old son has experienced fine dining enough that he was very much at home there. If you are in the area and only can do one special dinner, don't miss this one. I recommend it highly--wish we could have eaten here every day!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rockmama12052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfecrt Start to Finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

While staying at Nayara we dined here EVERY night! We never wanted to leave!
Service is personable and attentive. GET THE GUAC! (thanks Juan Carlos)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had only had one meal here, but it was excellent. The live music by the guitar player was excellent and provided a romantic atmosphere. They had a $25 price fix menu that included three courses. This was a great value and a wonderful meal. The service was excellent and we were sorry that we did not have more nights to try the restaurant again.
After your meal, don't neglect to try the wine bar. It is a fun experience with a great staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant at Nayara Hotel is incredible. Food was very tasty and the place is very elegant. The menu was diverse and the presentation first class. The service was very friendly and knowledgeable. Sadly, we only had one night to eat here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank btnusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altamira Restaurant also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Altamira Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing