We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!”
Review of Rancho Perla

Rancho Perla
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Best!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This was such a great pick! We had a wide variety of dishes from the Sea Bass with rosemary sauce, Filet Tips with Jalapeno sauce, to pasta and all was the most favorable. The service and atmosphere is wonderful and the prices can't be beat! Definitely make this a "to do" on your list while visiting La Fortuna!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OnJourneyAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    40
    16
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Center of town and best food in the area.”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is without a doubt the best food anywhere in the area. I travel to Costa Rica at least once each year and order fish most of the time. Their sea bass is the BEST. Nice view of the town square which gives an open feeling but a few fans to move the air would be an improvement.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rick4homes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fresh fish”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

we shared a tuna, tomato and avocado salad as starter. the tuna just melted in my mouth and the dressing was awesome. the restaurant served bread before the meal too, which was a first since we got to CR. i had a grilled sea bass with garlic which was divine. but the mahi mahi my friend ordered was quite overcooked

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Josie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
522 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“popular restaurant at the central square”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Ordered their Calamari dish and came as big chunks of hard crustacean meat. Had ordered Calamari in different parts of the world but never in big chunks. Cook came in and said this was from a very big squid.

Just could not eat it so I returned it and was not charged for it but was never offered any other dish as they were very busy with so many customer.

As they were very busy during lunch it took 45 minutes before our orders came.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Have the Fish!!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I had grilled Sea Bass in Rosemary Butter Sauce with rice and veggies. Without a doubt a winner. Just fantastic.
In fact, our entire group of 8 had various fish dishes, and we all were raving.
Recommended by a local friend, and definitely a place to go for a nice meal.
And I was pretty sure they priced it wrong, cause it cost a little over $8 CAN, but it would be a $20 dish here.
There were a lot of locals mixed in with the tourists, and I always take that as a good sign.
Great food, great staff, super prices. What else do you want in a restaurant?

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skipper36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rancho Perla also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Rancho Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing