We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best sushi in la fortuna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kappa Sushi Fortuna

Kappa Sushi Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a sushi bar, our goal is that locals and tourists have the opportunity to eat the best sushi fusion with a reasonable price and at the same time with the best quality and freshness of Costa Rica
Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best sushi in la fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

If you are from a "sushi" town, going to a sushi restaurant in the mountains is probably not the best choice. That said, this place definitely had good food. I would not order the sashimi, but the rolls were delicious, and the service fantastic. Also the view of the volcano from the outdoor tables was great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hollywood3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    35
    9
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Small place on a side street, somewhat hard to find. Very, very slow service on a weekday although we were the only customers. Limited choice of rolls -- those we tried were good, not great. Choice between the small, nondescript room and a table on the sidewalk where the smell of a nearby fuel tank was difficult to ignore. Not our most fortunate choice in La Fortuna.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lutetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kattya G, Propietario at Kappa Sushi Fortuna, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
I want to thank the great opportunity you gave us to serve you. If your food slow to get to your table you usually ask my sincere apologies if more than 4 rolls takes 20 or 30 minutes. Possibly it was due during the weekend we moved to this new place, but I repeat my apology is not common to happen.
Regarding gasoline smell might have a car parked nearby, but in any case we have other tables where you could change and feel comfortable. For the rest we try to offer the best quality at the best price fusion sushi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great sushi great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Had a boat of sushi (40 rolls) great value tasty and super service. Fancied a change from typical costa ricaN food so this was a good option. Would go back !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilipB396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great sushi! Try the ponzu roll.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great food and friendly service. It's not the cheapest but the quality is definitely there. Try it out! The ponzu roll is delicious, as are the other rolls (dynamite, salmon, etc.)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeyBlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Sushi, Service and Low Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great quality, very tasty sushi and a wide variety of choices. Prices range from various at $8 to a few at $10, $12 and $15 for extreme, varied rolls. I especially recommend the PONZU and the Rainbow. They made a Non-Rice Hand Roll for my girlfriend that doesn't eat rice. This type of specialized service is a premier example of the level of service and help that they give to each guest. They greet you with a smile and are especially courteous upon answering any questions and giving any recommendations. If you arrive in La Fortuna and appreciate great Japanese Sushi this is the best place, don't leave without trying it. They're open late, until 10pm. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EnriqueSeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kappa Sushi Fortuna also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Kappa Sushi Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing