We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“d” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kappa Sushi Fortuna

Kappa Sushi Fortuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a sushi bar, our goal is that locals and tourists have the opportunity to eat the best sushi fusion with a reasonable price and at the same time with the best quality and freshness of Costa Rica
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“d”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I am a new resident of La Fortuna from Canada and I know hand how hard it can be to find good food, let alone good prices in town. Kappa sushi is for sure the best option for a night out. It gives you the rare opportunity to eat good food that is not casado or American burgers and wings. BUT so far it seems the only things worth getting are the sunburn and dragon roll. We have tried now 5 other dishes and none are nearly as good. Have those two plus some good ol sacki to put an extra bounce in your step ;) will come to just under $20 and is definitly good for two!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    45
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

The sushi was just perfect. We really enjoyed it and we would go again and again and again.
Try the philadelphia. Even my girlfriend liked it very much, although she usually dont like sushi.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philipp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haina Kloster
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty, Clean, Friendly and the best view in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

It is the best Place to eat Sushi in La Fortuna. It was so good that I came back a day after to eat it again. The Jugos are also fantastic! Its clean and you don´t have to worrie!
Vielen Dank!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“$10 to $15 for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Rolls aer great priced from $6-10, bottled water $2.5. Tempura is delicious. Teriyaki not so great. I'd go back.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rdmjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sushi in Fortuna!! WOW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

I really had never expected to have sushi in la Fortuna, much less good sushi!! A few restaurants have come and gone... I really hope that Kappa Sushi Fortuna stays!! We tried both sushi and tempura and both were fantastic. The rice was fresh, light and tasty (it is hard to get the rice right!!) and the flavors were wonderful. The tempura was also light and delicious -and not greasy !! They did a great job. For Japanese food outside of Japan they have done a good job.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MSSCentroEspiralMana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kappa Sushi Fortuna also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Kappa Sushi Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing