We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed?” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Rolopz

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostel Rolopz
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
“Closed?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I few days ago I arrived to Hostel Rolopz to find the gates locked and no one in the building. I asked the neighbors if any one was there and they said that the hostel is closed. I did try calling a few days before I came to La Fortuna but the phone number did not work. Luckily I was able to find a cabina on the next street (Cabinas Dona Alicia) and ended up having a very pleasant stay in La Fortuna.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harrisf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    0
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

we stayed there for one night after reading the other reviews on tripadvisor. but when we arrived there, we could not believe our eyes. first, it was a little bit outside la fortuna. we were the only ones staying there and they were renewing the house. there was some dirt on the bed and soaps in the shower from i don't now how many visitors before us. we never had as many moskitos around as in that room. also a cockroach visited us during the night. in the morning it was extremely loud because of the neighbours. in the beginning wifi didn't have signal, afterwards there was signal but i couldn't download or actualize anything. we changed the hostel afterwards and had a great stay in the middle of la fortuna for the same price. we really do not recommend that hostel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holm84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

This family run family friendly hostel is our favorite place to stay when we travel to La Fortuna. My family and I travel there at least once a year and stay there for the duration of our trip. It is walking distance to the center of town, restaurants, shops, and everything necessary. We enjoy the friendly staff who is very informative about tours and all you'll need to know. The family will accomodate a full typical breakfast upon request. There is a secure gated entry, as well as a secure gated parking area. All the rooms are clean and spacious. The price is always right and you truly get an authentic Costa Rican experience...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomel8319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

This is the third time I have stayed at hostel rolopz and i love it. Makes me feel like i was at home. I wouldnt stay at any other place while visiting Costa Rica.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have stayed many times at this place for business and family trips and I've had a good experience every time. The rooms are always clean, the staff is courteous and friendly and the price is very good for those who search basic but clean accommodations like me. The location of hostel Rolopz is very convenient because is at walking distance to downtown restaurants, shops, grocery stores and some of the Arenal Volcano attractions (like La Fortuna Waterfall). Also, there is a very good view of the volcano from the front side of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vladi2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.0 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,693 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#5 of 70 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Rolopz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Rolopz

Property: Hostel Rolopz
Address: 400 mts sur y 50 este de LaEstacion de Taxis de La Fortuna | La Fortuna de San Carlos, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 506, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Rolopz is located in the heart of La Fortuna, San Carlos, Just 15 minutes from the Arenal Volcano and the famous hot springs.Rolopz was designed to give complete comfort to our guest. Since the visitors to our area continues to rise, we felt the need to build comfortable rooms for our visitors.Our Family business began in the 1990s and has grown little by little, specializing in offering excellent service to our valued guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostel Rolopz Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing