We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for lunch!”

El Novillo del Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Costa Rican
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Girlfriend and I ate here as part of our package with Athica Canopy Tours. This place make really great casado. GF had the chicken, I had the beef, and we shared. Add a couple of Imperials to the mix, and you have a really great meal I full view of Arenal Volcano. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    54
    23
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unpretentious Delicious Steak House”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is simple tasty Costa Rican food in an open air sitting. The portions are ample and include potatoes, salad, and bread. My house special steak was cooked perfectly and was delicious. Wine beer and alcoholic drinks are available in a limited selection. Service was good but not overly attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cam627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stopped here after our zip line adventure. We were starving and in need of a good meal. We came to the perfect place. This family owned and runned restaurant was amazing. We each ordered a different type of steak and they were all perfect. The portions were more than enough. The service and ambience was great. We recommend this restaurant to everyone that is in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cccristy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A local gem”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Don't judge this place by the sign...you can hardly read it, but the food is SO good. I had the steak special and the meat quality was really good. It tasted more fresh than what we get in the states.
This is a small place off the main road- it has a statue of a cow out front!
A must go for a good value and tasty meal!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Regan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Large Portions”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner here. Huge cuts of steak, and great service. Pretty resonably priced items on the menu for the amout of food they serve.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Novillo del Arenal also viewed

Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to El Novillo del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing