We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Food, A Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Novillo del Arenal

El Novillo del Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Latin, Central American, Costa Rican, Spanish, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food, A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stopped here after our zip line adventure. We were starving and in need of a good meal. We came to the perfect place. This family owned and runned restaurant was amazing. We each ordered a different type of steak and they were all perfect. The portions were more than enough. The service and ambience was great. We recommend this restaurant to everyone that is in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cccristy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    45
    21
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A local gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Don't judge this place by the sign...you can hardly read it, but the food is SO good. I had the steak special and the meat quality was really good. It tasted more fresh than what we get in the states.
This is a small place off the main road- it has a statue of a cow out front!
A must go for a good value and tasty meal!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Regan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Large Portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner here. Huge cuts of steak, and great service. Pretty resonably priced items on the menu for the amout of food they serve.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

It does not look like much from the road, but you cannot beat the value. We had a nice quiet meal, quick service, and was pretty delicious. $2 Imperials and $12 steaks, we were extremely impressed and recommend it for anyone traveling through the area that wants a good, quick meal.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank dshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stop on the way back from the Volcano”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stopped in on our way back from the Volcano Park and were pleasantly surprised. Huge portions of great beef and very reasonable prices, with a beautiful view and wonderful surrounding.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Novillo del Arenal also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to El Novillo del Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing