We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem!”

Steak House el Tobogan
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 1/4 Novillo Tenderloin Steak House el Tobogán is a family restaurant Characterized by specialty meat originating in the area offering: Tenderloin, T-bon Steak Churrasco steak and a reasonable price, having a menu for different tastes: salads, rice, chicken, seafood, burgers and sandwiches and vegetarian food as well! . why the name Tobogán ? , Because you will find a large slide = Tobogán with a large pissina restaurant that is part of !...
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

If you are staying in La Fortuna, and want some delicious (and very inexpensive food) off the property of your resort, seek out El Tobogan! It's an unassuming outdoor steakhouse sitting next to a public pool with a giant, curving "water slide" (el Tobogan). They prepare excellent, juicy steaks. A really fun local spot!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimJDolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    35
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh, great quality meat”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

the steaks we enjoyed at this restaurant were FANTASTIC! From the road, this place doesnt look like it has much to offer but the meat was so fresh and tender, something that is hard to come by in the US.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nplescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio A, Propietario at Steak House el Tobogan, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
my sincere thanks for your visit and your comment is very important !!!
Att: Steak House el Tobogan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We enjoyed our visits to this restaurant very much. The food was very delicious and authentic. The service was very friendly and helpful. Not one of the cheap places but worth every dollar. Therefore, it was not by accident that we returned to it the next night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauricio A, Propietario at Steak House el Tobogan, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
My dear gentlemen, thank you very much for your important comment , is a pleasure to do the best for you !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place, even better steak”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We just happened to stop at this place on a whim after a long day of activitys and oh my, what a great steak and the service was fast and attentive. If ypir in the area and like steak it's a must.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Longbow45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lost”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I got turned around abd accidentally ended up here! Best accident ever!!! Still eating here, had to stop to write this!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Albertm91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steak House el Tobogan also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Steak House el Tobogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing