We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and delightful hosts”
Review of Hotel Bijagua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Bijagua
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location and delightful hosts”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bijagua for 3 nights in late January 2014 and we couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. We just wish it had been longer! The price was very reasonable for a nice clean room, a beautiful pool, well maintained grounds, and a great location. There is a little kitchenette off the pool deck, where we could make coffee in the morning--a must for my boyfriend. We loved the ability to walk into town easily for meals. It's about a mile or so, which was flat and with a paved sidewalk most of the way. There are also 2 restaurants directly opposite the hotel and a grocery store next store. The only complaint (and it is minor) was the roosters and a barking dog who woke us up a few times. Hotel Bijagua provides ear plugs, but we found that putting a pillow over our heads was more effective. We had a rental car and drove to various locations in the area--La Fortuna waterfall, Arenal Observatory Lodge, and Nuevo Arenal--which were all easily accessible from Hotel Bijagua. Our hosts--David and George--were just delightful and helped us with directions, advice, and stories about the area. My boyfriend was particularly taken with the large pieces of petrified wood around the property and had a great conversation with George about where they had come from. On our last day, we were lucky enough to awaken to a clear sky and an unobstructed view (no clouds!) of Arenal. We quickly got our cameras and ran outside, where David was already taking pictures. Together we all got some great shots. In summary, we can't recommend Hotel Bijagua highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In2Nats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    55
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
134
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Right off the main road a couple of kms from town and beside a large supermarket, Hotel Bijagua is the perfect place to stay outside of the noise and bustle of La Fortuna. Large rooms, very clean, good value (70 USD tax incl) AC, tv, wifi, balcony, pool and the warmest and most helpful hosts make this an ideal spot if visiting the Mount Arenal area.

It's an easy walk to town or a 3 minute drive. David and family obviously take great pride in maintaining the property. The grounds are lush and well kept. Sitting outside, the birds, plants and sound of the small waterfall in the pool makes you feel like you're staying at a tropical oasis!

Many thanks to previous TA reviewers! We were only here for a couple of days but thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay.

BTW - right next door is a shop selling locally made jewelry and handcraft items. The owner, Roy, is in the process of adding coffee roasting to his business. He's getting prime Costa Rican coffee beans direct from the plantations and will roast them on site for sale. We wish him all the best!

Room Tip: Room # 5 - upstairs and across the little walkway. Very private and furthest from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shorty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is a bit hard to find, but is actually in a great location, next to a grocery, near the town of La Fortuna and close to restaurants. David is a warm and friendly host who is always available and knowledgeable about the area. We had a second floor room and were "fortunate" enough to get a break in the clouds the afternoon we were there, to see the volcano. Our room was modern, clean and roomy. The pool there is lovely and having a communal kitchen is very convenient. It was a bit noisy in the morning (dogs, rooster), but If you like small, well kept hotels, this is an excellent choice!

Room Tip: Second floor room had good view, with nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGCEugeneOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My mom and I recently stayed in their new villa during our trip and thoroughly enjoyed having a kitchen (YES) with a grocery store next to the hotel. Their hotel grounds are set up beautifully and the family (that live on the property) was ALWAYS willing to work with you and help you in any way. At Arenal, if you are doing it right, you should barely be in your hotel as you will be out exploring the endless activities at your fingertips, but this quiet hotel close to Fortuna is the perfect place to come home to. We had a car but walked into town every night in about 12 minutes. This hotel is perfect for adventure-minded folks who want a little comfort and quiet to come home to after an exciting day of adventure.

Room Tip: I would most definitely stay in the Villa if you can, but the other rooms looked beautiful as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmundcosette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

David is, indeed, an extraordinary host and his hotel is a great find. After a nondescript street entry, we found ourselves warmly welcomed and ushered thru lovely grounds to a good sized, nicely-furnished room with bath. As it happened, I needed to see a doctor soon after arriving and David immediately drove us to one, even explaining my symptoms in Spanish. I had bronchitis and David was warmly solicitous, even saying, "Don't hesitate to call me anytime during the night." The pool and waterfall are lovely features and the guest kitchen very helpful in keeping costs down. We recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbcharlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

After some trying experiences, it was a relief to check into Hotel Bijagua. The family-operated hotel has a communal kitchen area, a well-kept pool, hammocks, and some cool birdlife for those who enjoy parakeets and honeycreepers. Our room had a great view of the volcano, too! We felt very safe there. The owners were super-nice and exceedingly helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

David and the rest of his family made us feel like we were staying with family our entire time there. They are extremely welcoming, friendly and so amazingly helpful. They go well beyond what hotel owners usually do for their guests. We were there over nye and the family invited us to join their family celebration in one of the hotel's common areas. In addition, whenever I did some work in the lobby, David's sister would Always bring me a treat, whether it's one of her homemade scones, a glass of wine, or something else equally delicious.

Hotel Bijagua was hands down my favorite place that I stayed in during my 3 weeks in CR. The grounds are Beautiful, well maintained and the rooms are Clean, have AC. Highly recommend this spot!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,826 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,439 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,803 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bijagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijagua

Property: Hotel Bijagua
Address: 1 1/2 km La Fortuna Center Hwy 142 | Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bijagua 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy family hotel offers the perfect combination of personalized service and comfort in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica.We have 7 rooms equipped with different features to satisfy all your needs. In addition, it is perfectly located near the spring waters and Arenal Lake so you can live the most unforgettable times.You are going to enjoy the most spectacular view of Arenal volcano which amazes and thrills whoever looks at it. It is just the powerful grandness of nature.gps:10.46852,-84.66245Besides, you will have the chance to choose from our diverse list of tours in our tour office located in our lobby. Nature lovers will know that Hotel Bijagua is the best choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bijagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bijagua Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing