We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem set amongst the town”
Review of Hotel Bijagua

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bijagua
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, NH
Level Contributor
154 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A Gem set amongst the town”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

David, the owner sure knows how to satisfy his guests. He goes out of his way to accommodate you & more. It's centrally located 1 mile from La Fortuna & within other amenities. There is a soda, grocery store, & other eateries within walking distance. We didn't rent a car & David helped prearrange our transportation & help secure activities for us. There were four adults (family of 2-20 yrs) & we had an upstairs room with 3 beds & air conditioning. We felt very secure & liked the communal kitchen area for all the guests to use.
Since it was Christmas week, it was a bit noisy at times with fireworks, but that was out of control of the owner. His prices were extremely reasonable & would definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Not sure which number ours was, but we had the 2nd floor in the back corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kewpie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    55
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
133
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Everyone in our group said Hotel Bijagua was the BEST hotel of our 10-day visit to CR. We traveled with all ages from young children to our 83-year old mom. We ALL were impressed with the quality of the accommodations, as well as the warmth that David and his family showed us. It was like like staying with family. The grounds are beautiful, well-maintained, and "park like" with flowers, hammocks, BBQ grill, and everything to make your stay comfortable. Every detail has been well thought out, from the comfortable beds to the pretty throw rugs under your feet. And when we left mom at the hotel to do things she wasn't able to participate in, David made sure she was entertained - he even took her with him into town when he ran errands.
Hotel Bijagua is conveniently located with a stunning view of Arenal volcano, a grocery store next door, and shops and restaurants within walking distance. If you want a clean, quaint, convenient, and family-like hotel experience (with no guess work), you'll choose Hotel Bijagua. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are set back from "traffic" and quiet. One is not better than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I loved my stay at Hotel Bijagua. It's located in a central area in the La Fortuna region. On clear days, guests will have beautiful views of Arenal Volcano. The beds are comfortable, and the service is excellent. In the room, there were no bugs or small critters -- and they took care to clean everything on a daily basis. No breakfast was offered, but there are two sodas (small eateries) right across the street, both of which offer cheap, tasty Costa Rican dishes. There's also a grocery store right next door. Stay at this hotel for a fine, fine budget choice. Because there was no breakfast, I do need to make this a four-star review rather than five-star review.

Room Tip: Stayed on a second-floor balcony with beautiful view of Arenal Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SojournExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 5 nights and had the best stay.

The hosts: David, Jorge and Cecilia made us feel like family. They never made anything feel like a hassle and always made sure we were having a great stay. Cecilia saw that we were soaked from our white water rafting trip and offered to put our runners in the dryer and also washed our clothes. David picked coconuts and gave them to all the guests to drink (the best coconut water EVER!!) and helped us book all our trips at a discount (vs. paying the companies). Jorge drove us to the Baldi hot springs since he so happened to be free. We adore this family and miss them very much :)

The hotel:
- The hotel is very clean and the villa we stayed in was very spacious. We loved having a kitchen to make breakfast in the morning (helped save $$ as food in Arenal definitely was not particularly cheap). The beds were comfortable too.
- Lots of seating area around the pool to help you unwind. Lots of hammocks too!
- There is a grocery store right next door and two little restaurants across the way.
- The hotel is a good 20 minute walk into town and it's a bit of a trek, especially at night when there's not a lot of light. Luckily the taxi ride is only $3USD.

Tips for Arenal:
- Mostly cash based society. If you book activities with the hotel, make sure you bring USD. The activities average $70-$100USD/day per person. We especially enjoyed the white water rafting and waterfall rappelling adventures.
- A car would have been nice to get into and back from town, but given the cost of a car rental, we were pretty happy to just walk/take a taxi when needed. All the tours generally include transportation anyways so don't think a car is particularly necessary.

Thank you David, Jorge and Cecilia for a truly wonderful stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Villa" that had a kitchen. The kitchen had a great view of the beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travel_bug_jma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My 3 friends and I stayed here for our night in Arenal/La Fortuna area. David was really helpful during our trip planning process before and after we booked with him. He even made us coffee the morning we checked out at 6am. The hotel is a little outside of town so it's best for people who are renting their own car. There's two restaurants/sodas across the street and a super market right next door. Our room had an unobstructed view of the volcano, absolutely beautiful. We would have stayed a couple more nights if our trip was longer!

Thanks for everything David!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stina8991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Staying here at the moment
On our last night if 4 with our two children
Rooms are perfect - 2 double beds and a single
Fridge and TV but we have not turned that on
Small kitchen area to make breakfast - spotless
Rooms clean and beds soooooo comfortable
David and his family are lovely and helpful
Everything is 5 star but I gave the location 4 star as it is a huge + to be out of town but it is a 20minute walk which is ok but maybe not for all - you could catch a taxi but there is a path that is reasonably lit all the way - we have walked every night
Supermarket next door is fab too
The hotel is very safe and the pool is just perfect
View wonderful
We would stay again
While here defn visit Los laureles hot springs if you have kids - cheaper than the rest $10 each and it had 9 pools and 3 slides - local CR families and very nice atmosphere too

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jordanleeindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Bijagua was unlike any other during our trip throughout Costa Rica this summer. We stayed at there with our 2 boys and just loved everything about it. First and foremost, it is immaculate, gorgeous and affordable. But what makes this hotel stand heads above the rest are the people who own and operate it. David and his parents Cecilia and Jorge embody all that is good about Costa Rica. David recommended some fun activities to do while we were there, and even hung out with our two boys kayaking in the pool and playing “baby jaguar” so my husband and I could have a little rest ourselves. And what Cecilia has done to the gardens is a feast for the eyes. Each morning, I’d see her out planting a little flower here or little tree there. She’s truly created an unexpected little paradise there. Oh, and I almost forgot o mention how relaxing the sound of the waterfall was and the grand view of the volcano we had. Plus I loved having the Super next door and plenty of places to eat nearby. Hotel Bijagua is fantastic! Stay there. If you don’t love it, you’re just plain weird.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa with the kitchenette and saved lots of money by cooking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephG243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#5 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,283 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bijagua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bijagua

Property: Hotel Bijagua
Address: 1 1/2 km La Fortuna Center Hwy 142 | Costa Rica, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bijagua 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cozy family hotel offers the perfect combination of personalized service and comfort in one of the most beautiful areas in Costa Rica.We have 7 rooms equipped with different features to satisfy all your needs. In addition, it is perfectly located near the spring waters and Arenal Lake so you can live the most unforgettable times.You are going to enjoy the most spectacular view of Arenal volcano which amazes and thrills whoever looks at it. It is just the powerful grandness of nature.gps:10.46852,-84.66245Besides, you will have the chance to choose from our diverse list of tours in our tour office located in our lobby. Nature lovers will know that Hotel Bijagua is the best choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Bijagua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bijagua Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing