We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bijagua
Nearby Hotels
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$265
$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$161
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$209
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$480
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveler rating
273
67
13
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
67
13
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrocery store right next doorred frogmi casalarge supermarketearplugs providedgreat family run hotelcommunal kitchenhome from homesmall hotelarenal volcanofull kitchenlaundry roomown mealswalk into townsmall gymnice poolconvenient location
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 355 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2012

excellent value for money. Could not get a better view of the volcano! Swimming pool was great, the BBQ area and fridge facilities were fab, with the supermarket next door it was ideal to do a BBQ and salad. The family are so helpful and friendly it was a home from home. The rooms spot less. A very pretty garden feels like your own little oasis. They don't do breakfast at the hotel but give you a voucher for a restaurant down the road and as we hadn't hired a car they gave us a lift there!

Room Tip: ask for a room with the balcony facing the volcano
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2011

For the price, this place is exceptional! Very clean and comfortable. We had sucha nice view of the volcano. The owners treated us like family. Right next to it is a supermarket and some restaurants. Very convenient! Loved this place. Refer to Angela C's review. She described this place perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Con F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

My friends and I were traveling on a Budget just last week for our first visit to Costa Rica. We were impressed by the price we paid our rooms were lovely, nicely furnished, with a balcony overlooking the Arenal Volcano. It was just lovely. Since it was off season, we had the swimming pool to ourselves (the water was surprisingly warm and comfy even in the rainy cool climate we found ourselves in that day!)

And Ceclia and her hubby (the owners) were both so gracious and very kind to us. It felt like we were welcomed family members. They made us Gallo Pinto (home made Costa Rica breakfast) with fressh coffee and tea and fruit one morning when were trying to head out super early for one of our adventures. They knew we only bought cereal and milk from the local grocery the night before as her quick fix, and were so nice to us. We stayed there for 3 nights and when it was time to leave we were so sad to go. Our stay ended with lots of warm hugs and memorable pictures.

Definite recommend!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I cannot begin to explain how exceptional this place was for the price and the amenities.

*Amenities:
The outer common area has large picnic table with a full size gas grill, large fridge to store your groceries in if you go shopping at the grocery store that is literally next door. Sink to do dishes and coffee maker with complimentary costa rican coffee for the morning. Along with the price of the room you get a breakfast coupon every morning that you take to a delicious restaurant down the road about 1 1/2 km in the city of La Fortuna.
The pool is very nice, well kept, and clean.

*Rooms:
The hotel is small, maybe about 10 rooms so it is very quiet. When we were there, we only saw a couple of other people, and on the weekend it filled up a bit more. The rooms are small for 3 or more people, but who cares! you're just sleeping there and doing all other activities away from the room. I will say the bathroom was large and careful with the shower water, it gets VERY VERY HOT!

*Staff:
The staff was amazing, they don't speak a lot of English, but if you know even a little Spanish you're in good shape. They showed us where everything was, how to use it and assisted with coffee in the morning...even personally delivered incoming business phone calls to us. There are not phones in your room

*Location:
Edge of the city arriving from Liberia, close to town, slightly off the main highway and has a great view of the the volcano Arenal. and very pretty floral surroundings.

Why pay more money, when you can stay here? I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper level (2nd level) have a better view of the Volcano
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews