We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable beds, great location, friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chill Out Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chill Out Backpackers
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comfortable beds, great location, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

we enjoyed our time here. the room was big enough, the bathroom was clean, and the kitchen worked well. great location, and everyone was very friendly. internet was very fast and it worked in the room. we'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
26
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

Amazing staff! Super super helpful in terms of helping us plan activities...has connections to get great deals. Rooms clean and secure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

My two older kids & I stayed here for four nights and were very comfortable and pleased with Sleepers Sleep Cheaper. Other guests were very friendly. Proprietors were very accommodating and worked hard to make our stay comfortable. Great value.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This place IS perfect for budget travelers, and here is why:
-private room w/ bathroom $9/person
-a short walk away from the center of La Fortuna
-breakfast included (cereal, fruit, coffee, toast and eggs)
and most importantly,
-Mauricio will make your trip in La Fortuna. He knows everything going on and can put you on a tour for whatever you want to do. He can even get you private transport to Monteverde for a reasonable fee. In fact, he made us reservations to stay at the other Sleepers in Monteverde, and we were happy he did.

But keep in mind, $9 will get you a bed, but it's not guaranteed to be comfortable. Some new mattresses would be a real smart investment for this place!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vestrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

The owners of this hostel are super nice. Mauricio has several business connections in La Fortuna and can get you cheaper rates on certain activities, depending on what it is you want to do. At the time we were there, he managed to get us a cheaper rate at The Springs Resort for a day with dinner, and a taxi there and back for a bit less than the metered rate. He also knows a tour guide, Franklyn, who is amazing. Franklyn can spot sloths and tucans from 200 feet away while driving, allowing for some great photo opportunities, and he's a karaoke star so will seranade you throughout the course of the hike around the volcano. If you want an easily-arranged, rich La Fortuna experience, this is a great hostel to stay at. It was also the only one we stayed at in Costa Rica that had a private bathroom/shower. For $9/person per night that's pretty amazing. Especially when you throw in breakfast and free internet (wireless is free, too, in case you brought your laptop). On our last day there, check out time was at 10am but our bus wasn't until 2:45pm. Since the hostel wasn't very busy at the time, Mauricio allowed us to keep the room for a half day at no extra charge to leave our luggage, use the washroom before leaving, and charge our phones. We left a good tip afterward and you'll probably feel like you want to give him extra, too. Really good guy.

Room Tip: Ask for the private room. $9 a night at the time we were there. Padlock, barred windows, and the out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveKeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hostel is amazing!! The owners of the hostel, Mauricio and his wife, were extraordinarily friendly and accommodating. They helped us set up a tour of Arenal Volcano that worked around our schedule. Breakfast is included in your stay and it was delicious! I really enjoyed my stay here and would come back again.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ehetterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

I spent three nights at the Sleepers Hostel in La Fortuna and very much enjoyed my stay. Though the accommodations are modest, it's a the perfect place to affordably leave your things and have a look around the lovely area that is Arenal/Fortuna. Mauricio, the hostel owner, may be one of the nicest men on the planet! When I checked out and realized I was a few bucks short, I offered to go run to the ATM quick, but he said it was no problem and took what I had! So Sweet! The breakfast is fantastic and included in the price, the location is just off the main road in Fortuna, and the view of the volcano is stunning. This isn't what you would consider a "fun" hostel, but there are plenty of bars and restaurants within a five minute walk if you're looking to meet people around town.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nels2391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
EcoHostel
EcoHostel
#12 of 70 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Amistad Hotel
La Amistad Hotel
#32 of 70 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Choza Inn Hostel
La Choza Inn Hostel
#16 of 39 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arenal Backpackers Resort
Arenal Backpackers Resort
#9 of 70 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostel Arenal Fortuna
Hostel Arenal Fortuna
#45 of 70 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Loft
Hotel Central Loft
#15 of 39 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chill Out Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chill Out Backpackers

Property: Chill Out Backpackers
Address: 100 meters W of the bus stop | Next to Gringo Pete's II, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 119-5655, Costa Rica (Formerly Sleepers Sleep Cheaper Hostel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 70 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill Out Backpackers is under new ownership and moved location. We are the ultimate and economical place to stay in La Fortuna with rooms only 10 dollars per person. Free Breakfast, Free Internet and Kitchen use is included. Located in the center of La Fortuna, only 100 meters west from the bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chill Out Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chill Out Backpackers Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing