We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazingly beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brisas Arenal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brisas Arenal Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I can't imagine a more beautiful setting than Cabanas Brisas Arenal. Of the three places that our family stayed on our trip to Costa Rica in March, this was our favorite (and the cheapest -- it's an amazing value). It's a nice short drive out of La Fortuna, and we were very happy that were not staying right in town. This place is simply paradise. The room itself was simple, with just ok beds, thin walls (they cabins are duplexes, so you share a wall with one other room), typical Costa Rican plumbing, etc., but none of that really bothered us. The rooms do have AC, satellite TV and wi-fi and are spacious. The location, the grounds, and the views are fantastic, and are what make this place really special. The hammocks on the patios are great, the views amazing (you feel like you're almost at the base of the volcano), and the family that runs it is wonderful.

If you're looking for a fancy resort, pools, etc, this is not your place, but if you want quiet, beautiful surroundings and what I think is a more real Costa Rican experience, this is for you. We felt amazingly lucky to be staying there, especially after seeing the larger expensive resorts near the busy main road. We saw several toucans on the property (which the owner pointed out to us), enjoyed some short walks on their hiking trail into the jungle, and really enjoyed just strolling around the grounds seeing all of the plants, flowers and birds right outside our door.

The owners speak very little English, and we speak pretty much no Spanish, but we got by just fine -- just make sure you're comfortable with that, and try your best. The son who works there does speak some English. The breakfasts were very nice in the open-air dining room. They had different things for breakfast each of the two mornings we were there, including fresh fruit, pancakes, and traditional Costa Rican breakfast, all cooked fresh in the kitchen adjoining the open-air dining area. The owners are so nice that I really hope they have great success. When we visited, there were just four rooms (2 rooms each in two cabins), but they seem to be in the process of building one or two more buildings. But I think even after a few more rooms are added, it will still feel quiet, secluded and special.

Our only regret is that we didn't get to spend a few more night there.

I would not recommend staying here without a car, as it would probably be a hassle to get a taxi to come pick you up.
Tip to find the place: drive from La Fortuna to the west, and just outside of town you'll come to what feels like a smaller separate town; as you enter that area, turn left at Cristian's Super Mercado (if you look closely you'll see a Brisas Arenal sign just before the turn); stay on that windy road until it turns to gravel, and go right at the Y right after the gravel starts, and continue up the hill; you'll pass lots of local houses (and chickens and dogs), then it'll be on your left.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms would be fine, but the cabin that's nearer the dining room (toward the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    35
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
56
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Couldn't say enough nice things about this place. The setting is fantastic, cabins are set in beautiful gardens surrounded by jungle and with Arenal overlooking. Several times we saw toucans flying in the trees on the way back from breakfast. We even got a tour of the beautiful garden as well one morning.

The cabins are spacious with comfy beds, good shower and ours had a hammock porch so we could sit out and look at Arenal whilst checking emails etc..

Alan and his family are all great and they even took the time (and expense) to contact us and send my girlfriend's kindle and credit card back to us which had fallen out in the hammock.

A brilliant, peaceful and relaxing few days, we will definitely stay here again if we go back to Costa Rica.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Roddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

It is an AMAZING place to stay, the owners are very very friendly, they have a very nice service, comfy rooms, cleanness, a hidden paradise in la Fortuna, San Carlos. The Relaxing Chilling atmosphere that can be felt in this cabanas, the warmth of their owners and the nature surrounding this place, it is simply HEAVENLY.
Highly recommended, you will not regret, price, food, service, rooms, environment, people, nature is equal to a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We arrived at the property at approximately 9pm for a three night stay reserved online. We were tired after a long drive from the Caribbean coast and looking forward to getting our room and getting some sleep. Unfortunately, when we arrived we were informed that there was a mixup (partially due to language barrier) and that another couple arrived looking for a room earlier and that our room was given to them in error. They were very apologetic for the mixup and brought us to another similar property down the street to stay the night - the accommodations there were comfortable and clean, breakfast was included and they paid for our stay due to their error.
We finally came to stay at Brisas Arenal the following evening. The grounds and view of the volcano are beautiful. Our room was large and very comfortable - it was immaculately clean and stocked with towels and soap. Walls are very thin and we heard our neighbours quite clearly. There was no hot water on the first day that we arrived but this was not a problem thereafter. Breakfast is not included but was offered to us for $10/day ($5/pp) - we had an omelette with fruit on the first day and pancakes with fruit the next. All in all, we had a pretty good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights during our trip. We only had 1 day left on our rental car when we checked in but it would have been better to have kept it as town is quite far to walk. You will need a taxi to get into town and they are not always reliable to arrive on time or at all as we found out one rainy night. We walked 50min to the Cerro Chatto trail head from our room and then walked the 2 hour hike (we did it in 1hr 40 min however if you are not in shape it will take much longer as it is 2 hours straight of essentially walking upstairs). The hotel itself is on very nice grounds and the cabinas are very open with plenty of space. There was no fridge in our room but it was very clean and comfortable including with a fan. In the evening it rained and there were toads hopping around which I thought was cool. The young man who works there called a taxi for us when necessary and the breakfast that was included was very filling. English is very limited in-case that is a concern of yours. There was a barking dog every night nearby ad a crazy bird but that is really not uncommon for this country and no one on site can control that type of issue.I would deff stay here again if I had a rental car.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

After a little confusion upon our arrival (mainly caused by the fact that the owners do not speak any English), we settled into our rooms. We had a family room and a double room for the six members of our family. The grounds are simply beautiful. In addition, because we have special dietary needs, the owners let us store our food in their refrigerator and freezer and also let us use their kitchen to heat our dinners, for which they went out of their way to be helpful. They also gave us delicious fresh fruit for breakfast each day. The rooms (cabins really) are clean though simple. The family room has a small refrigerator and all rooms have free wi-fi. If you ask, they will clean your room daily. The shower was one of the best we've had while travelling. And everything for an amazingly reasonable price. If you want to stay at a resort or spa, this probably isn't for you. But if you want a clean room with warm owners in a beautiful location at a great price, then you should definitely stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rsmith90211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at Brisas Arenal for 3 nights during a recent vacation. The cabins are outside of la fortuna, so you will need to spend about $6-7 USD on a taxi each way. But really, for the views, piece and quiet, and overall beauty of the place, it's worth it.

Pros:
- The grounds are just amazingly beautiful. Very well maintained and you have a few of Arenal.
- The people who run the place (Alan, etc) are incredibly nice and helpful. When we hiked Cerro Chato, I grabbed a tree the wrong way and got over a dozen splinters in my thumb. They got us a medical tweezer and helped get all of the splinters out. Very caring.
- Close enough to a lot of things. While not much is walkable (do not walk to Arenal Waterfall. They say you can, but it's a really long, tiring walk), it is less than an affordable taxi ride to pretty much everything.

Cons:
- The walls of the cabin are thin. Very thin. If you have neighbors, you will be able to hear them very clearly.
- They don't clean your room during the day. That would be fine except that there is only one small garbage can in the room, the one for tp next to the toilet. So it would be nice for that to be emptied daily since it's the only place for any garbage of any kind.

Also:
- The breakfast is fine. Just a heads up, the eggs normally have pieces of meat in them. The first day we forgot to tell them we were vegetarian (completely our fault) so we had to pick the meat out of the eggs the first day. We told them then, and the rest of the time they prepared vegetarian breakfasts for us no problem.
- Communication can be difficult if you don't speak Spanish. The owners' English is not very good. But they do try and are learning. But if you speak Spanish, it's super easy since they are super nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jere1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,186 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,376 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
3.7 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brisas Arenal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisas Arenal Hotel

Property: Brisas Arenal Hotel
Address: | 1 km South and 600 meters west of the school of Z13, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Brisas Arenal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at Brisas Arenal hotel, nature is our passion. Surrounded by woods, gardens and serenaded by a wide variety of birds, you will discover the peace and tranquility you long for. Come and experience it for youself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Brisas Arenal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisas Arenal Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing