We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and smelly”
Review of La Amistad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Amistad Hotel
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small and smelly”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We've booked through booking.com a night at La Amistad. When we got there, we paid for the room, and only then saw it for the first time. Big mistake. The room was tiny (~9 m2) and smelly, breathing was close to impossible. The toilet and shower room was tiny as well, and uninviting (understatement). We decided not to spend the night there, and went looking for another place in town. We got back 2 hours later (at 3pm), in order to check out and see if we could get at least part of our money back. The girl at the front desk didn't speak English at all, and another guy there explained us quite aggressively that we can't get our money back. Probably not the best option for a couple..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
The customer is upset because Bookings.com cancellation policy and wrote this out of spite; Please disregard. They checked in, used the shower, left their bags and came back hours later looking for refund. The receptionist does not speak English, this is Costa Rica and not everyone speaks English, she explained best she could, when I saw the customer and her struggling to explain a very basic policy, I stepped in to resolve the matter. Anyone reading this please understand there are people out there that want nothing more than to negatively impact business doing what they can to handle all types of situations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    24
    21
    8
    6
See reviews for
5
28
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

The room is probably the cleanest I was in while I was in Costa Rica. Especially for a hostel. It was simple but very quiet and secure. This place would have been outstanding were it not for an unpleasant experience with the tour salesman at the front desk who is also the owner and manager. Bottom line: shop around for tours. He made it sound unique and special and his charisma and energy sure was appealing. He also said he was interested in our "memories" and not making money, but as soon as we found the tour somewhere else for cheaper he was very upset and loud. Just shop around. We found one tour for $50 less and the other for $20 less. La Fortuna is all about making money off of tours, they are worth doing but you can always get a cheaper price from the next guy. If you white water raft, make sure whatever tour your buy is from Costa Rican Descents

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review, happy you enjoyed you time in La Fortuna. We give tour discounts to clients on tours that have room to play and Costa Rica Descents Rafting tour is worth every dollar; being an owner operator of a tour myself I respect their service and pricing. I spent over an hour with you sharing my flirts hand travel experience and knowledge, answering all of your question, even helping you plan your trip outside of La Fortuna, You were happy about your purchase until taking a walk, upon when you returned 30 minutes after the sale was complete looking for a discount... I even gave you back money, as you told me "you would write a good review in return and that money you need to eat"...what type of tourist rents a car comes to an adventure destination in high season with no money, buys tours and ask for a discount after the purchase... Costa Rica businesses BEWARE, there are people out there that will waste your time and do not value local operation pricing and want everything for nothing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturtevant, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

If you are on a budget and aren't looking for luxury, this is a great place to stay. The rooms are small but comfortable and really if you're in La Fortuna, how much time are you spending in the room??? We will definitely choose to stay here again if we make it back to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We arrived in La Fortuna with our fingers crossed that we would be able to snag a hostel saying as we couldn't get into the neighboring hostel where our friends were staying and low and behold, Hotel La Amistad came to the rescue! For an expensive town, it was a great budget hostel for my traveling buddy and I. The rooms were cleaned every day by the sweetest ladies. We stayed two or three days and it wasn't during the weekend so the town was prettyyyyy dead.... But that's alright because we were really only there for one thing, to see the volcano! We had some INCREDIBLE views of the volcano right from the door of our room too which was awesome. The restaurant across the street is quite pricey if you're budget traveling like we were but it was a nice little treat; great service, drinks, and food though!! Johnny was absolutely incredible and a wonderful resource of info about the town. We had some great just little chats with him. However, we witnessed and personally had some not so great encounters with the other owner and staff members... But thank goodness for Johnny. You rock man! Overall, the hostel was a great place to just hangout, relax, sleep, cook meals, and best of all, it was affordable!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I stayed here for over a week in the summer. Albeit, would not have stayed that long if I didn't absolutely love it. I stayed in both the private rooms and the dorms. Both kept adequately clean. It's the guests that make them dirty!
The location is ideal as it is right in the heart of town. Close to buses and many of the local tourist attractions.
The staff was super friendly and helpful. Sophia, Juliana and her family (the owners) were ever so helpful in accommodation me. Let's not forget Johnny, always ready to provide you with information on local activities. I'm a nutshell:
Clean
Dorms and private rooms
Parking lot
Small hammocks on main floor
Kitchen
Pool table

Recommendation:
Hammocks upstairs or lounge chair
Bookcase
Signs near the kitchen urging people to clean up after themselves.



  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

PROS
Good value for money in an expensive town ($30 a night for a double)
Plenty of secure parking
Friendly staff that are very helpful for organising any tours
They had a kitchen
Good shower with plenty of hot water
Clean rooms with TV
Good location

CONS:
Although rooms had hammocks and rocking chairs outside, the view was of the car park
Not much character - very businesslike and basic

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We value your feedback and use it to make positive changes.
Hotel La Amistad has secure parking many other central locations do not.
The roof top Common Area is equipped with kitchen ,billiards table, plenty of space and a better view. More plants are being placed around the perimeter of the rooms providing more privacy and a better view as well, thanks again, see you next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seongnam
Level Contributor
1,035 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

One of the cheapest private rooms in town...the room is very basic...we got a triple, and there was barely enough space to move around...hotel staff can set up just about anything for you...location is good, but if you get anything in La Fortuna town, it's a good location...room without AC was quite uncomfortable to sleep in...I would've have paid a few bucks more for AC if I can do it again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thanks for your review, Hotel La Amistad has a common area with plenty of room to move around, which includes a fully equipped kitchen, pool table, tables and chairs and roof top patio. AC is available for those sensitive to heat or do not find a fan adequate.
See you next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#31 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
508 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chill Out Backpackers
Chill Out Backpackers
#48 of 68 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Loft
Hotel Central Loft
#16 of 41 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Fortuna Rooms
La Fortuna Rooms
#20 of 41 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada Del Arenal
Posada Del Arenal
#27 of 41 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
#19 of 41 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Amistad Hotel

Property: La Amistad Hotel
Address: Avenida Central, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 68 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Amistad, located in the heart of La Fortuna, just 100 meters from the central park, near to all shopping centers and recreational areas. We have comfortable and rooms, all of them with private bathroom, Wi-Fi, hot water, cable TV, security guard at night, private parking, recreation area and a shared kitchen. In addition, our friendly staff is always ready to help and inform you about many different activities you can do in La Fortuna area. It will be a pleasure to serve and to make moments of lodging in Hotel La Amistad be a pleasant experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing