We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel during our 15 days in Costa Rica!”
Review of La Amistad Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Amistad Hotel
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The best hotel during our 15 days in Costa Rica!

Staff is friendly and welcoming.
The rooms are really clean with a fan and a TV, private bathroom and hammocks to sit in the garden.

It is located on the main street close to all the amenities and also a park near the church very nice to sit and relax ...

Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samueleperrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you, your recommendation is very welcomed, it motivates us to continue finding ways to satisfy our guest and grow in the right direction...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 75 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

I followed the advice of another post and asked for an individual room in the back. It was much quieter. It cost $20 for the night for a room with a fan but I had my own bathroom and it was all very clean. The water takes a little bit to warm up, but considering how hot La Fortuna is you won't really want warm water. There is a small grocery store next store and the kitchen isn't too bad all things considered. The staff was great. When I got there my fan wasn't working properly and when I brought it to their attention the fan was changed out right away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room off of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brigid C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you, your review has changed a few ways we do things around here.
Guest are now escorted to their rooms so we can show them the basics and answer any question they may have. The hot water works fine, you just have to ease it on slowly until you get your desired temperature. The water is heated electronically if the water passes to quickly the coil does not have time to heat the water.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel la amistad offers decent rooms for a decent price. Nicely located near town it is private and not so noisy. Good option to consider in La Fortuna. They have rooms with ac and without ac. Beds are okay

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dscr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for your review,
We only use the room closest to the street when we are full; its mainly for staff.
No more leaky ceiling or squeaky beds and the guard is now there to keep it quiet and safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel La Amistad is a great value for $20 a night for a private bath with hot water, a fan and cable TV. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. If you stay try to get a room far away from the street. I ended up my last night in a room by the street and did not get a lot of sleep (street traffic and the guard were very loud). Otherwise you do get what you pay for.

Good:
1. Price
2. Right in town
3. Fan
4. Cable TV
5. Private bath with hot water
6. Mostly friendly staff

Not so good:
1. Not quiet
2. Squeaky beds
3. Leaky ceiling in the room by the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsamacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for your review,
We only use the room closest to the street when we are full; its mainly fort staff.
No more leaky ceiling or squeaky beds and the guard is now there to keep it quiet and safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Great value at about $20 for private room with no AC. Very good location too, right on the main street.

However, When I was sleeping, I notice mosquitoes flying in my room. I closed the bathroom door since the window has openings and then noticed that there is NO WINDOW on top of the door! About a 6"x30" opening for bugs to fly in.

Needless to stay, mosquitoes like me. I got 5 bites that one night. No bueno.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supahr_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, Screens are being added and bug repellent is available next door for those mosquito feeders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Taking into account the price of accomodation in La Fortuna, this hotel is the best option to discover the area paying the right ammount of money. The rooms are basic, but just enough to rest after a long day walking around. The've got hot water and air conditioning. The girl at reception was very kind and helpful.

To be honest, La Fortuna is a very expensive place, it's similar to Disneyland but with higher prices. If you are ready to pay $30 minimum for each activity go for it, if not, just visit another area, it will be cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLibelula_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel L, Front Office Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hello MissLibelula_83,

Thank you for spending part of your vacation with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay at our establishment. We try to keep the cost of the hotel low so that you may enjoy an extra tour or two.

We appreciate your comment to help us change those little things that can make your stay very enjoyable, we invite you to come back over here will be a pleasure to serve you.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last 7 years and have seen it go through many changes and managements. They used to have 4 little apartments upstairs but these have been replaced by dorm rooms and a communal kitchen ... and a pool table - which is an unfortunate addition because it sometimes attracts a noisy crowd of locals. However, that said, at $20 a night single, it's a good deal. The rooms are basic but clean and reasonably comfortable. In room WiFi is now available free as is cable TV. There has also been the addition of hammock chairs and rocking chairs so each room has a comfortable outside place to sit and read. The biggest plus of this hotel is location. It is easy walking distance from supermarkets, park, bus station, tourist shops, restaurants, and bank machines. There's a mini-mart right beside the hotel. The "main drag" is well lit and safe to walk in the evenings. The current manager is a great source of information about local tours as well as onward plans. I would suggest, though, that you try to get rooms 8 to 12, which are at the back and removed from the noise of the street and that of the pool table.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 to 12 at the back are well away from the noise of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowbirdincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Hello friend

Nice to meet you,

Thank you for spending your holiday with us.

For us it would be a pleasure to have you back here and to share with us in our recreation area, which is located at the top of the hotel.

Also we inform you that we now have a better entertainment area away from the rooms so when a guest wants to sleep or enjoy not having problems with sound.

We appreciate your comment to help us change those little things that can make your stay very enjoyable, we invite you to come back over here will be a pleasure to serve you.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
4.5 mi away
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa
#8 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,562 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,574 reviews
3.0 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Arenal Hostel Resort
Arenal Hostel Resort
#6 of 76 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
651 reviews
3.1 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,369 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Amistad Hotel

Address: Avenida Central, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 76 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $10 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Amistad, located in the heart of La Fortuna, just 100 meters from the central park, near to all shopping centers and recreational areas. We have comfortable and rooms, all of them with private bathroom, Wi-Fi, hot water, cable TV, security guard at night, private parking, recreation area and a shared kitchen. In addition, our friendly staff is always ready to help and inform you about many different activities you can do in La Fortuna area. It will be a pleasure to serve and to make moments of lodging in Hotel La Amistad be a pleasant experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing