We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Amistad Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Luigi's Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pura Vida Hotel & Restaurant(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Regina Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Fortuna(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
San Bosco Inn(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Rabfer Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Arenal Montechiari(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Monte Real(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Arsol(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
16
24
21
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
24
21
8
6
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 75 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Hotel la amistad offers decent rooms for a decent price. Nicely located near town it is private and not so noisy. Good option to consider in La Fortuna. They have rooms with ac and without ac. Beds are okay

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dscr9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for your review,
We only use the room closest to the street when we are full; its mainly for staff.
No more leaky ceiling or squeaky beds and the guard is now there to keep it quiet and safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Hotel La Amistad is a great value for $20 a night for a private bath with hot water, a fan and cable TV. Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful. If you stay try to get a room far away from the street. I ended up my last night in a room by the street and did not get a lot of sleep (street traffic and the guard were very loud). Otherwise you do get what you pay for.

Good:
1. Price
2. Right in town
3. Fan
4. Cable TV
5. Private bath with hot water
6. Mostly friendly staff

Not so good:
1. Not quiet
2. Squeaky beds
3. Leaky ceiling in the room by the street.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salsamacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for your review,
We only use the room closest to the street when we are full; its mainly fort staff.
No more leaky ceiling or squeaky beds and the guard is now there to keep it quiet and safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Great value at about $20 for private room with no AC. Very good location too, right on the main street.

However, When I was sleeping, I notice mosquitoes flying in my room. I closed the bathroom door since the window has openings and then noticed that there is NO WINDOW on top of the door! About a 6"x30" opening for bugs to fly in.

Needless to stay, mosquitoes like me. I got 5 bites that one night. No bueno.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supahr_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, Screens are being added and bug repellent is available next door for those mosquito feeders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Taking into account the price of accomodation in La Fortuna, this hotel is the best option to discover the area paying the right ammount of money. The rooms are basic, but just enough to rest after a long day walking around. The've got hot water and air conditioning. The girl at reception was very kind and helpful.

To be honest, La Fortuna is a very expensive place, it's similar to Disneyland but with higher prices. If you are ready to pay $30 minimum for each activity go for it, if not, just visit another area, it will be cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLibelula_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel L, Front Office Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hello MissLibelula_83,

Thank you for spending part of your vacation with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay at our establishment. We try to keep the cost of the hotel low so that you may enjoy an extra tour or two.

We appreciate your comment to help us change those little things that can make your stay very enjoyable, we invite you to come back over here will be a pleasure to serve you.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last 7 years and have seen it go through many changes and managements. They used to have 4 little apartments upstairs but these have been replaced by dorm rooms and a communal kitchen ... and a pool table - which is an unfortunate addition because it sometimes attracts a noisy crowd of locals. However, that said, at $20 a night single, it's a good deal. The rooms are basic but clean and reasonably comfortable. In room WiFi is now available free as is cable TV. There has also been the addition of hammock chairs and rocking chairs so each room has a comfortable outside place to sit and read. The biggest plus of this hotel is location. It is easy walking distance from supermarkets, park, bus station, tourist shops, restaurants, and bank machines. There's a mini-mart right beside the hotel. The "main drag" is well lit and safe to walk in the evenings. The current manager is a great source of information about local tours as well as onward plans. I would suggest, though, that you try to get rooms 8 to 12, which are at the back and removed from the noise of the street and that of the pool table.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 to 12 at the back are well away from the noise of the street
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowbirdincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Hello friend

Nice to meet you,

Thank you for spending your holiday with us.

For us it would be a pleasure to have you back here and to share with us in our recreation area, which is located at the top of the hotel.

Also we inform you that we now have a better entertainment area away from the rooms so when a guest wants to sleep or enjoy not having problems with sound.

We appreciate your comment to help us change those little things that can make your stay very enjoyable, we invite you to come back over here will be a pleasure to serve you.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews