We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Open rooms so mosquito s can fly in”
Review of La Amistad Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Amistad Hotel
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Great value at about $20 for private room with no AC. Very good location too, right on the main street.

However, When I was sleeping, I notice mosquitoes flying in my room. I closed the bathroom door since the window has openings and then noticed that there is NO WINDOW on top of the door! About a 6"x30" opening for bugs to fly in.

Needless to stay, mosquitoes like me. I got 5 bites that one night. No bueno.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Supahr_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonnyTee, Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thanks for your feedback, Screens are being added and bug repellent is available next door for those mosquito feeders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 75 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

Taking into account the price of accomodation in La Fortuna, this hotel is the best option to discover the area paying the right ammount of money. The rooms are basic, but just enough to rest after a long day walking around. The've got hot water and air conditioning. The girl at reception was very kind and helpful.

To be honest, La Fortuna is a very expensive place, it's similar to Disneyland but with higher prices. If you are ready to pay $30 minimum for each activity go for it, if not, just visit another area, it will be cheaper.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLibelula_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel L, Front Office Manager at La Amistad Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hello MissLibelula_83,

Thank you for spending part of your vacation with us. It was a pleasure to have you stay at our establishment. We try to keep the cost of the hotel low so that you may enjoy an extra tour or two.

We appreciate your comment to help us change those little things that can make your stay very enjoyable, we invite you to come back over here will be a pleasure to serve you.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times in the last 7 years and have seen it go through many changes and managements. They used to have 4 little apartments upstairs but these have been replaced by dorm rooms and a communal kitchen ... and a pool table - which is an unfortunate addition because it sometimes attracts a noisy crowd of locals. However, that said, at $20 a night single, it's a good deal. The rooms are basic but clean and reasonably comfortable. In room WiFi is now available free as is cable TV. There has also been the addition of hammock chairs and rocking chairs so each room has a comfortable outside place to sit and read. The biggest plus of this hotel is location. It is easy walking distance from supermarkets, park, bus station, tourist shops, restaurants, and bank machines. There's a mini-mart right beside the hotel. The "main drag" is well lit and safe to walk in the evenings. The current manager is a great source of information about local tours as well as onward plans. I would suggest, though, that you try to get rooms 8 to 12, which are at the back and removed from the noise of the street and that of the pool table.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 to 12 at the back are well away from the noise of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowbirdincostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Hello friend

Nice to meet you,

Thank you for spending your holiday with us.

For us it would be a pleasure to have you back here and to share with us in our recreation area, which is located at the top of the hotel.

Also we inform you that we now have a better entertainment area away from the rooms so when a guest wants to sleep or enjoy not having problems with sound.

We appreciate your comment to help us change those little things that can make your stay very enjoyable, we invite you to come back over here will be a pleasure to serve you.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We arrived in La Fortuna with no reservation over the holiday period. We tried a few places and all were fully booked. Eventually someone suggested Hotel La Amistad and thankfully they had availability. The person managing the reception desk spoke limited english, but we managed to get by ok. The room was quite basic (although it had a TV with HBO!). The bathroom could have been a bit cleaner, but it was still funtional. Overall it felt like a bit of motel, but i think considering the price and the location it was good value. They also had the cheapest prices when booking to go to the Baldi Hot Springs (trust me, we compared prices in MANY places).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

After spending a couple of luxurious nights about 20 km from La Fortuna, we decided to spend one cheap night in town before flying out. For $30 total, incl. taxes, we got a room with one double bed and one twin, air conditioning, and a private bathroom in the courtyard. The room itself and the toilet and sink were clean. It's pretty spartan but is a fine place to spend the night. Also, it's conveniently located across from Lava Lounge and just steps to the church in the center, taxi stands, and more. Considering that a private room at Gringo Pete's is $7 - $8 per night and is small, hot, and has somewhat dingy bathrooms, this is a good alternative, particularly for 2 - 3 people.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nebali67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Basic room with bed, desk with no chair, fan, or AC for $10 more, but the floors were clean enough to eat off of. Private bath, private parking, and great location downtown on Avenue Centrál within walking distance of good sodas and restaurants. You can negotiate lower prices for stays longer than a few days.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vfhoyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Anne-Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#30 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#18 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
642 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Central Loft
Hotel Central Loft
#17 of 46 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
Hostel Backpackers La Fortuna
#13 of 74 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
Hotel Arenal Bromelias
#22 of 46 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Choza Inn Hostel
La Choza Inn Hostel
#16 of 46 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Amistad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Amistad Hotel

Address: Avenida Central, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 74 Specialty Lodging in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $35 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Amistad Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Amistad, located in the heart of La Fortuna, just 100 meters from the central park, near to all shopping centers and recreational areas. We have comfortable and rooms, all of them with private bathroom, Wi-Fi, hot water, cable TV, security guard at night, private parking, recreation area and a shared kitchen. In addition, our friendly staff is always ready to help and inform you about many different activities you can do in La Fortuna area. It will be a pleasure to serve and to make moments of lodging in Hotel La Amistad be a pleasant experience for you and your family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your La Amistad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Amistad Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing